2000 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$2,762 - $9,346  MSRP Range
2000 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car coil problem

by James from Colorado on Wed Aug 23 2006

Third Miata I have owned. Good overall car. It appears the 2000 had some ignition coil problems. Mine went out around 60,000, quoted by dealer to replace for $500. Burned out cat. Picked up 2 used coils at junk yard for $50. Runs OK now but I need to replace the Cat before next inspection. Terrible cut holders unless you are double jointed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Badger Sports Car Lover from Washington, DC on Sun Jan 22 2012

The MX-5 is a sports car in the tradition of the old British sports cars. It handles a lot like my former MGB and MG Midget. It is not the fastest car on the road, but may be the most fun to drive because of its excellent handling. Don't get the version with an automatic transmission because it isn't as much fun to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best sports car ever

by hammer from blairsville ga on Mon Jan 02 2012

this car is like owning all the great sports cars of the past with the reliability of a toyota, honda, mazda and more. the handling is superb, it eats the mountain roads where i live for breakfast. My car is 12 years old and it still feels new and young. It has 76000 miles on it and you would not know it. It's maybe the last of a dying breed of car that you actually have to drive and not just sit in. It has a clutch, sensiitive steering, a ragtop that is noisey, its a real car, not one of the new do anything for me places for my computerr.....buy an older one and enjoy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Bob from houston tx on Mon Jan 12 2009

I've owned a miata special edition for almost two years and its been a great car. I would recomend the manual trans.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love the Miata

by Amber from on Tue Apr 10 2012

I purchased this Miata as a replacement for a newer car and feel it was one of the best decisions I have ever made in terms of a vehicle purchase. It is fun, reliable and easy to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Saaweet!!

by dlcmiata from Stanton, Tx. on Tue Sep 27 2011

My Miata SE is now almost 12 years old with 170000 miles on it. 6 speed manual. Mahogany in color. And I still drive it everyday. Fun car to drive. Handles great. Put a set of Bridgestone RE11's on it.. OMG !! Handles like its on rails..lol..The balance is darn near 50/50.. Great Bose sound system. Here is the only issue I have..It does run very hot with A/C on. My last 1990 miata did the same thing. Ran hot..I dont care for that at all. But that is the only thing I dont like about the two miatas I have owned. Bottom line, drive the car first with A/C on to see if it runs hot. If it does'nt, buy it ! You'll love it..

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

miata

by write4you329 from delaware on Mon Jun 11 2012

loving this car! my 1st 2-seater and convertible, lots of "zoom zoom"...lots of fun, handles and rides like a bigger car than I expected....definitly sold on this as a 2nd fun car (may end up becoming my primary car)...a real head turner as well...great fun to drive and handles perfectly

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT car.

by Ethan Carter from Sulphur, LA on Sat May 20 2017

Comfort- Im 5 11' and fit fine. The leather seats equipped in my car are pretty comfortable for the car and what they are and hold me in decently during spirited driving. Of course its a rough ride but you get used to it! Performance- Straight line speed is average but it can keep up with other cars (V6 Mustangs of its year, minivans), but you don't end up caring because it is so fun to row through the short gears. 140HP in a 2300lbs car is adequete. Real Performance (around turns)- I haven't had the chance to do an autocross or track day, but from what I feel on on/off ramps and twisty roads, it would be an absolute blast. My car is equipped with the suspension package so it has the LSD (limited slip differential, billstein shocks), and even with 175,000 miles this car handles amazingly with the exception of some body roll (presumably from the aged shocks) and will put a smile on your face or make you feel like a racecar driver every time and definitely put either a smile or look of terror on your friend's faces :) There is nothing you can buy for the price that comes close. Exterior Styling- My car is white and it used to have a tan top, but as it sits it has a silver hard top. The car looks great either way. I think the NB Miata (99-05) is the best looking Miata with the exception of the ND (the new body style). From the front and back, it looks like a Miata, but from the side and side/back angle, the smooth and rolling body lines make it look sleek while aggressive at the same time. My car also has the alloy/polished aluminum wheels which I believe are a MUST when compared to base wheels. When clean the shine really well and add a lot to the car. Interior Design- This is a Miata review. Is this even necessary? Plastic. Stereo sucks. I have the bose and my driver side speaker is blown out and the passenger side sucks, although this is more likely due to the fact that it is a convertible. Everything is functional and placed in a reasonable place. Don't expect anything special. Value for the money-Absolute best. You can get this car for under 5,000 with or without a hardtop with good mileage easily. Other cars in this segment include MR2, S2000, Porsche Boxter, etc. The miata is cheaper and reliable than all of these cars. Reliability- (knock on wood) The reliability on this car is excellent as well. The drivetrain is bulletproof. Take care of it and it will take care of you. I imagine it is easier to work on when compared to a lot of cars as well, and parts are easy and cheap to source. Be prepared to spend maybe $200-$300 on new parts per year if you have as many miles as me and you will be prepared for most things that will happen. This car is one of the most popular sports cars, therefore the community is huge. Aside from forums and general Miata facebook pages, it is likely that you can find a Miata club/facebook page in your area or at least your state. These are excellent resources to source parts, sell/buy mods, buy/sell cars, ask for help, and just talk Miatas! Overall- For the price you can't go wrong. Why wouldn't you buy one?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice second car

by born to enjoy cars from Texas on Mon Jun 11 2012

Nice vehicle, only thing, if ya have bad back or weak/afflicted legs...its not easy to get in & out of. Its peppy & good gas.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great basic car with little creature comforts!

by Carlover88! on Wed Aug 23 2017

This is a cozy car with great handling and it's very easy to maintain. At interstate speeds it drones a lot and is kind of obnoxious. They rev to about 4,000 rpm around 70 or 75 mph. Gas mileage is good, but not great.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2