1999 S-Class

Consumer Reviews

1999 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

$29 - $13,033  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Superior Engineering, Best Value

by Alamo Mercedes LionKing from San Antonio, Texas on Sun May 06 2007

Great Handling for a large sedan, best suspension in luxury class, agile and dependable, dealer service below sub standar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by Wish we still had it. from We live in Coachella Valley on Mon Jan 25 2016

We had a 99 500 S, after 2 prior editions. Bought it new, drove it for twelve years. It was the best car we ever had. We took good care of it and it took good care of us. At 125000 miles it still ran like new, but then it gave up it's life to take care of us. We were hit from behind in a collision that totaled the Mercedes and knocked us into another car, but my wife (who had severe spinal problems) and I sustained only minor injuries. The seats didn't break, the doors still opened, but it would've cost far more to repair than it was worth. One of our sadder memories is seeing it on the flatbed, being taken away. Far and away the strongest, most powerful, quietest and most comfortable car we ever had. We can no longer afford such a great car, but I can't say enough good things about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

99 S320 - Safe, Comfortable, Solid

by Dave likes S Class from Santa Barbara, CA on Tue Nov 04 2008

I've had this car for about 3 months now. I can say that I'm glad I bought it. It is big, solid, quiet and has adequate power. I honestly feel quite safe and will drive it knowing that my chances of surviving an accident are pretty good. It gets good gas mileage for a car this size. Very smooth. If you buy one, join some of the many enthusiast websites for common problems and fixes. Otherwise, you may regret buying this baby. Somewhat expensive to repair if you're not handy. And if you're not handy, knowledge gained from these websites will help you when you take it to a trusted mechanic. So far, the only thing that has gone wrong is the mass air flow sensor - a common problem. Dealer wanted over $400.00 just for the part. I purchased the part from an online parts place for less than half that and installed it in less than 5 minutes. Good as new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mercedes does it best in 1999 ( try no recalls)

by Me & Mercedes from on Mon May 29 2017

If it had the bells and whistles of the current year cars I would keep it, but since I travel more I just need more and don't want to put the miles on this classic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car you can ever own.

by reliability and luxury efficianoto from Brooklyn, NY. on Wed Apr 08 2015

If you are looking for an extremely safe and reliable car. Forget all others. None can compare to a Mercedes Benz. I have driven Lexus, BMW, Jaguar and even Bently. NOT EVEN CLOSE!!! In particular the W126 and more so W140. The amount of engineering and design that went into these vehicles is unparallel to anything on the road then and now. If you can find a Mercedes that has been properly taken care of - you have found a treasure that you will enjoy for years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST S500 EVER (W140)

by COUNTRY TIME AUTO SPA from on Wed Apr 02 2014

THE RIDE IS AMAZING THE GAS MILEAGE IS GOOD I GET ABOUT 25 ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ONLY THING I WOULD SAY ABOUT THIS CAR IS BUY ONE IN GOOD CONDITION OR YOU WILL ALOT ON REPAIRS

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth, beautiful, elegant, great craftsmanship

by MikeAuto4304 from Addison Texas on Wed Jul 05 2017

Beautiful one owner car that would make any owner very happy. Very well maintained and inside and outside are very clean

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest car any one will aver drive

by Ben from DENVER COLORADO on Sat Sep 19 2009

I HAVE OWNED 6 OF THESE CARS AND NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THEM. THE ONLY THING I DO IS PUT SNOW TIRES ON THEM IN THE WINTER CHANGE OIL REGULARLY AND DRIVE THEM LIKE THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE DRIVEN. I AM A SPEEDER BUT THESE CARS WILL GET YOU TO A PLACE YOU NEED TO BE WITHOUT YOUR NOTICE BECAUSE OF THEIR COMFORT. DON'T EVER GET INTO YOUR GRAVE WITHOUT DRIVING A V12 MERCEDES BENZ BECAUSE YOU WILL HAVE NOT FULFILLED LIFE'S DREAMS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best s500 you csn ever buy

by Remo55AMG from Boise Id on Sat Sep 16 2017

The last of the true hand built Mercedes.one of the best S classes ever built.the year 1994 to 1999 are the true S class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not worth it

by warrior11 from Canada on Wed Nov 14 2007

the resale price is terrible, and all this car does is drink the premium fuel like crazy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Here in the wine country of Styria, it's late September and the weather is balmy, the sky free of clouds and brilliant blue. The air is so clear, you easily can see the mountains in nearby Slovenia.

The Austrians call this pleasant autumnal weather alt weiber summer - "old woman" summer - supposedly because the gossamer spider webs spun at this time of year resemble fine strands of silver hair.

You can stop at a roadside shack and buy hot chestnuts, fresh roasted pumpkin seeds and the first pressings of young wine from the local vineyards on Wein Strasse (Wine Street).

I can think of few more picturesque places to drive the redesigned Mercedes-Benz S class, the flagship of the German automaker's line... Read More