Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 Pathfinder

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Pathfinder

$14,264 - $30,272  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Pathfinder

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

34 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Pathfinder?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for a growing family

by Nate from Yoakum,TX on Sun Sep 25 2016

We were in the market for a new grand cherokee when we found out that we were expecting our 2nd child. Since we are going to now have 2 car seats plus all the extra stuff that goes along with it we needed more room. We looked at every single car in this market segment. Test drove them all and really did our research. Hands down the Nissan Pathfinder came out on top in just about all of our criteria. It is a ton of value for the money and the fuel mileage is great. I would recommend this to anyone with a growing family. The 3rd row seat will actually fit real adults. Most of the others are only for children.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great family car for the money

by JNL family from Bristol CT on Tue Aug 09 2016

Great family car ... SV...bought almost brand new/ 3000 miles/ we jumped from rogue to pathfinder and...wow..!!nothing but roomy and comfy even if u need to use third row,still bigger than mdx! 18 miles/city- 26miles/highway

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2016 Pathfinder

by Cysco from Milwaukee, WI on Sun Nov 06 2016

Good family SUV when you don't want the typical minivan. Lots of second roll room. Can easily tow a boat or trailer with the 5,000 lb capacity. Cold weather package adds heated cloth seats and steering wheel which it's a nice option. Only owned this SUV for one month and so far very happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Pathfinder SV AWD

by cdennis from Lanham on Sun Jan 29 2017

2nd own SUV. Great comfortable ride. Nice interior/ exterior finish and roomy back seats. Like the additional 7 passenger seats for additional riders. I am very pleased with my purchase decision. Got a whole lot of car for the price. Great value!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Headlamps Crack Heat/Cold

by Former Nissan Fan from Philly, PA on Mon Nov 05 2018

Great SUV. However, two main problems to date at 48,000 and at 50,000 miles: 1) Hot/cold temperature extremes cause multiple small cracks (20) when headlights on in 20 degree temps. 48,000 and 50,000. One small became one large. No manufacturer recall. $540 each. 2) Cooling fan fails at 50,000. Known problem. No manufacturer recall. $850.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice nice car

by so cal gal from san diego on Fri May 11 2018

quality. safety. Would recommend to anyone with a family! Very smooth ride. Feel good knowing it is a solid built vehicle. Anyone would love to drive this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the look and comfortable.

by Dhair1956 from Keyesport, Il on Mon Nov 06 2017

Test drove my daughters and loved it. So I went and bought one for myself. Love the way it drives and rides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Sleeper SUV

by Wide-Eyed Wanderer from Palatine, IL on Wed Aug 31 2016

A little about me: I have owned 3 GM cars and am a two-time Explorer owner. I am a first time foreign-car buyer. This car is probably the nicest car you've never given a second glance, unless perhaps you are a Nissan/Infiniti fan. I traded in a 13' Ford Explorer limited for a 16' Pathfinder platinum. I will attempt to review this new car while also comparing to Explorer. As for looks, the Explorer runs away with the prize. Easily. However, the Pathfinder is not a bad looking car in the platinum trim. The large grill flanked by expansive chrome pieces underpinned by a chrome bar in the lower dam are all nice. The sides also get accented by the chrome along the rocker panels and then onto the lift gate. Whereas the Explorer seems like designers started with a shape of angles and molded them into a car-like design, the Nissan team seems like they started with a jelly bean and added flowing lines and soft angles to complete the design. My only real disappointment is the light housing with its extremely dated(if well executed) design. My wife's 2010' Taurus has projector beams but my 16' Pathfinder doesn't? Argh!! Still, it's a very well put together car with tight gap-tolerances and a high build quality to the body. Inside, the interior shows where all the true thought and attention went. The layout is simple and controls very intuitive. I was able to sync my phone, program stations and work the Nav system while the financing department was still working on the deal! Also, I love having actual knobs/buttons to complete functions so you don't get the infotainment screen dirty. That screen is huge btw and toggling is pretty easy to deal with as well. One really cool feature is the all-around camera system. When in reverse, the screen shows you an aerial view of everything around the car, this is perfect for ensuring you don't scratch your rims or run over something laying in your driveway. The voice recognition technology is world's better than in the Ford too. While I like the simplicity of the white-on-black numbering in the speedometer and tachometer, I think they missed an opportunity to provide more info than the scant few details that screen in between the two meters provides. The seats are very supportive, supremely comfortable and the first 2 rows are heated with the driver and passenger are also cooled. 4-wheel drive setup is exactly like Explorer. The way the 2nd row folds, you do not have to remove the car seat to access the third row. This is a huge consideration for those of us with small children and growing households. The car operates in 2 wheel drive but can be put into intelligent mode which sends power to the rear wheels if slippage occurs or locked mode which keeps all four wheels turning continuously for those treacherous snowy/heavy rain situations. Finally, the drive. I think this car drives and handles very much like a car -a good thing. It soaks up bumps well, turns and corners with little body roll and keeps most of the noise out. The engine is extremely responsive and the steering feels light but right. The brakes don't have all the solidity that I would hope for though and that wonderful heated steering feels a wee bit small in my average-sized hands. This is my first experience with the CVT transmission and I found so many bad professional reviews that I was nervous at first. However after 3 months of ownership I can say I am a fan. The car almost always feels 'punchy' and I say that to mean it always feels like you could press down a bit more and get even more power than you need. As well, I have not heard any whining or groaning noises which many complained of. I understand it's been tuned to mimic the shift points of a traditional transmission and it feels very near to that in many respects. Car enthusiasts may be displeased but for average folks like myself it is more than adequate and is velvety-smooth when driven in most situations. Final word: When comparing with the Explorer there are

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It

by DaysMom from Floyd VA on Sun Sep 18 2016

Best purchase I've ever made! Love the comfort and room. The price was the best for this 3rd row suv. I drove different ones but this was by far the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

An alright family vehicle

by JazzRom from on Fri Mar 17 2017

The comfort of this vehicle is great. The interior seats conform to your body, making it a much smoother ride. The pure size of the vehicle make the gas mileage not that great. Majority of the interior is cheaply made and there are no extras at all in the base model. For the payment a month, you'd think there would be a USB port. I would not get 4WD again. A vehicle with AWD is much better. Overall, would probably not purchase this vehicle nor recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4