2008 Xterra

Consumer Reviews

2008 Nissan Xterra

$4,025 - $12,313  MSRP Range
2008 Nissan Xterra

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

19 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Nissan Xterra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most satisfied

by Pharmrx from California on Mon Apr 04 2011

I traded in my 2000 model Xterra in 2008 for a new one. The 2000 model was a bit underpowered but was fairly well satisfied with it. The 2008 what a difference in power and actually get better gas mileage with the more powerful engine. I just took it in for the 60000 mile checkup and it needed zero hoses-zero belt-zero brakes-zero radiator flush-zero struts etc. Other than tires and new transmission fluid-my Xterra has needed nothing but regular oil changes. I am looking foreward to another trouble free 60000 miles. I have been more than satisfied with my 2008 Xterra

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ready for Anything

by 08XterraS from Pensacola, FL on Fri Mar 04 2011

The Nissan Xterra is for all the kids who grew up playing with tough-as-nails tonka trucks and truly understand the value of a strong and well built vehicle. The Xterra is the perfect vehicle for those who still believe their vehicle is good for having fun and not just getting around. The interior and exterior are built to allow for a myriad of options for taking your gear with you: from the durable roof rack to the fold flat or removable rear seats. Metal tie points on the interior ceiling and a tie down rail system in the cargo area floor make it easy to keep your things in place regardless of the terrain. Pros: -Size: The Xterra is big enough in all the right areas for an SUV. Ground clearance and suspension travel are excellent and the fold flat rear seats allow for enough open cargo room for any weekend adventure. It is also small enough to be easy to manage in an urban environment and the 4.0L V6 provides plenty of power. -Performance: The V6 provides plenty of power for any driving environment while still returning up to 23mpg on the highway. Acceleration is smooth and responsive and the automatic transmission manages the power throughout the power band. -Looks: Very rugged styling from the protective plastic bumpers to the aggressive lines of the body. -Seats: The driver and front passenger seats provide excellent support and are comfortable for even extended road trips. The stain resistant cloth is both durable and easy to clean. -Easy Cleaning: While the interior may lack the high quality materials found in other vehicles, it was built with the same ruggedness as the rest of vehicle and is easy to clean after an adventure leaves the passengers as dirty as the Xterra. Cons: - Rear Seats: Leg room is minimal for adults and getting in and out can be a challenge due to the large rear wheel wells. Overall it is an excellent choice for those who want a capable off-road vehicle that can take whatever abuse you can throw at it on the weekend and take you to work in comfort the rest of the week.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Joyful in Jersey

by NatG from Bergen County, NJ on Wed Nov 04 2009

I purchased the Xterra S 4x4 new in 2008. The engine is truly a powerhouse. You will pay a bit at the pump, my friend's Tahoe has about the same mileage (cylinder deactivation). I average about 19 MPG, given a mix of city and Highway. The body will lean a lot in turns with speed, but this should be expected in a Truck based SUV. The Cargo area tends to scratch easily, but it's otherwise durable. The truck never fails. It keep's going. Even in RWD, the truck can handle almost all weather. Throw it in 4WD high, and snow is a joke. You cannot be stopped. It has all the features I needed, sparring the BlueTooth (I replaced the Radio, anyway). The Passing power is intense, and the truck laughs at hills. Even with 3 people and a lot of cargo, the truck pulls hard.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Xterra Sport

by Hop from Maryland on Thu Feb 21 2008

I purschased my Xterra new. I was also looking at the Toyota 4runner sport model as well. Although the Toyota is a very nice vehicle, there appears to be very little wiggle room as far as price is concerned. I researched both vehicles extensively prior to my purchase. I also performed road tests on the Nissan Pathfinder and Toyota FJ Cruiser. The Xterra won me over hands down. I drove it off the lot (tax, tags, everything included) for $24,500. Why would I pay $32, 578 for a 4runner. Yes, the resale may be higher, but I typically keep my vehicles until they're dead, so this really didn't factor into my decision. Great vehicle for the price, but each individual is different. The ride is extremely smooth for an SUV and the 261 HP engine is more than sufficient. Gas mileage is important, but it was not tops on my list. Basically, if you own an SUV, you have to accept it unless you purchase a hybrid. I would highly recommend the side curtain airbags. My insurance also decreased by over $400 a year with this option ($700). You can't please everyone, but most folks will be very happy with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best SUV for the price

by Stingy with my money from Springdale, SC on Wed Aug 20 2008

If you want roominess, reliability, performance and are not worried about having to get 20 mpg you can not find more vehicle for the money. We have a 2007 Xterra with almost 20k miles and have not experienced one problem so far. You can get an Xterra without a lot of bells and whistles for under $23k. I love that it is built on a truck platform and the 5 speed automatic transmission is flawless. This is a truck for someone who appreciates the characteristics of a truck. This vehicle is rock solid and a screaming bargain. If you don't have more than four in a family you would be insane not to look at this vehicle if you want an SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

another great product from nissan

by Nissan Junkie from Colorado Springs, CO on Thu Aug 21 2008

This is my 2nd nissan vehicle, first one was a 2001 pathfinder and was very pleased. The Xterra so far has been GREAT! Have no problems except the plastic for the cargo area tend to scratch real easy. Other than that I'm very pleased with the styling and the comfort of the Xterra. Way to go Nissan!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan keeps getting it right!

by Rockcrawlin' fool from Wichita, Kansas on Sun Aug 17 2008

This is my 2nd Xterra, have a 2002 that I love, and will keep till I die. Just got the 2008, all I can say is that Nissan has once again listened to feedback from owners, and delivered the goods!! Have been all over the Colorado rockies in my 2002, never had such a competent stock vehicle. Will rock crawl with a heavily modified Jeep any day, and I have NEVER seen one broke down on the trail,(try and say that about a Jeep!!). Haven't had the 2008 Offroad model in the rocks yet, but will give it the test over the Labor Day week-end. Pavement manners are impeccable, have never had a vehicle ride as smoothly, or so quiet. Rockford Fosgate stereo sounds great, everything works as advertised. Gas mileage is a steady 20 mpg, with less than 500 miles on the truck, expect better after break in. So far could not be happier with this truck, and expect nothing but excellence off-road. Way to go Nissan!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tough Truck

by GAP from Boylston, MA on Thu Nov 11 2010

If your looking for a real truck in an SUV Xterra is for you. The engine has a low growl and delivers excellent acceleration out of those rear wheels. Off road in 4WD its almost unstoppable. Great handling and visability for this style of vehicle. The only drawback is the ride, some of those highway bumps give you a kick. It's definitely a truck. If you are looking for a crossover type vehicle with a car like ride, Xterra is not for you. For people considering an FJ Cruiser, you definitely owe it to yourself to try out the Xterra. Its a comproble vehicle, but beats the FJ in most areas, especially visability, and you can probably buy one, new or used, for $5K less

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Everyday Vehicle

by Car Cono Sur from Lynedborough, NH on Tue Jul 22 2008

I have never owned a better SUV! The Xterra is a great all around vehicle. I live on a windy, narrow, bumpy dirt road and with the Xterra I have total confidence. I have the off road package and it drives great no matter what the conditions are. I've had the vehicle for 5 months now and it's been great every minute of it. However it is a chore getting into the back seat and their isn't great leg room back their. The plastics are durable and a good quality. An outside tempature gauge would make the vehicle complete. The Nissan Xterra has everything you need and nothing you don't need. All and all I am very satisfied with my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

191,000 miles and never needed anything major

by JoshZ from Denver, CO on Fri Oct 13 2017

I loved my 2008 Nissan Xterra 4x4. Just basic maintenance and I sold it at almost 200k miles. Very peppy engine and decent fuel economy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Nissan Xterra

The Nissan Xterra is a throwback to an earlier era, when ruggedness and offroad capability were essential qualities in an SUV, even if most owners never put them to the test. If you are someone who pushes an SUV hard, the Xterra offers equipment that's useful for backcountry adventures at a price that won't have you looking for a second job. However, if this doesn't describe your situation, there are better SUVs available, including the Nissan Rogue and Ford Edge, that offer a more enjoyable driving experience and get better gas mileage.

Exterior & Styling
If you like your SUV to look tough, the Xterra has toughness in spades. From its large grille, with its angular slats, to the flared fenders and... Read More