2005 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac Grand Am

$750 - $5,610  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac Grand Am

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac Grand Am?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Why has the Grand Am come to an end.

by Just another pontiac lover from Pleasant Grove, UT on Wed Mar 07 2007

This car is overall the best car for anyone. Comfortable, stylish, great features, and plenty of HP. Why did pontiac decide to stop making Grand Am?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Hot Car

by Barbi from Millbrook, NY on Mon Sep 25 2006

I love my Pontiac Grand Am SC/T. Its red, with charcoal gray leather interior. The seats fold down for storage. I can blow by just about everything when passing. It's a beauty. One Question..what does SC/T stand for?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2005 Pontiac Grand Am GT

by 66fastback from Appleton, WI on Sat Mar 25 2017

Bought my Grand Am about a year ago as an inexpensive replacement for my former car. The car had 130K miles on the odometer at the time of purchase. It was and still is a very nice looking car for it's age as I got the two door coupe in bright red. It's styling is now a unique and refreshing change compared to new cars. It came with painted silver aluminum wheels and a trunk spoiler. Primary features include ice cold A/C, great heater, cloth seats, delay wipers, rear window defogger, power locks and windows and cruise control The steering wheel tilts but does not telescope. The drivers seat has a power up/down feature, but is manual adjustment fore and back. The front passenger seat is manual adjustment. The rear seat back is a 60/40 split and folds down with release straps located in the trunk. Trunk space is actually very good for a smaller coupe. I replaced the factory stereo head unit with an aftermarket unit as the factory display window no longer worked. This version has the 3.4L V6 and 4speed automatic trans. The car rides and drives decently for an 11 year old vehicle with well over 100K miles on it. Steering is still tight, although I find it a bit over assisted. The brakes are four-wheel anti-lock disc and were replaced by the dealership where I bought the car from prior to sale. I have never experienced brake fade. The car also came from the dealership with new 16" Uniroyal Tiger Paw tires which run well, and a new battery. Interior appearance, fit and finish are about average for a pre-bankruptcy GM car; relatively drab and dull with cheap looking and feeling plastics all over. The seats are fairly comfortable for long drives as I frequently put well over 300 miles and occasionally 10 hours per day in the car for the first 3 months I owned it. I never felt overly fatigued driving it. I love the fact that this car is just large enough, or the interior is designed well enough that my right leg doesn't constantly rest against the console, a flaw in many cars that I find to be intensely annoying. This car actually drives fairly well on NE WI winter roads with the all-season tires, although decent winter tires would probably improve winter drivability even more. Since purchase, I've had to replace on front wheel bearing and the clip that holds the driver's window in place inside the door to the tune of $450 at the shop; although this engine is apparently notorious for intake gasket failure, about 3 months later I had to replace one of the head gaskets at about 140K miles which included the intake gasket by default for about $1800. Two months after that the security module began to fail which left me stranded in the garage on two separate occasions with a car that refused to start even though it had full power. This repair was another $300. This was followed a few weeks later by a failed power brake booster which progressively locked up the brakes while driving and cost another $350 to repair. Since then there have been no further problems. I have also replaced the front headlight units with new ones as the originals had become quite cloudy, a condition that plagues most cars of this era. An item of note regarding this is that when replacing the headlight lamps, the headlight unit must be removed from the car to change them, and then the headlights need to be re-aimed upon re-installation. There is information on this readily available on YouTube for those willing to spend a few minutes working on their car, although it seems something that should not be necessary. My previous two vehicles had no need for headlight adjustment or re-aim after changing a lamp. We have also added aftermarket seat warmers and a remote starter, about $700 to have done professionally. My cost of ownership thus far has amounted to about 3/4 of what I paid for the car at purchase. Nearly all of the issues have been due simply to age and wear. I have found that the availability of repair parts is relatively good, however; the price of repai

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

decent car with some issues but a real workhorse

by Pontiac Lover from Trenton, ON on Tue Mar 31 2015

I have owned and sold 4 grand ams and they were great some flaws. Multifunction switch issue, the blown speakers and also head gasket issues if not maintained. But little car with lots of juice to 'er. Seats are comfy and handles nice too bad these are reproduced. Compared to the G6 this car is much more solid and more reliable. I love my current 2005 Grand Am SE modded to a GT!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest car for anyone

by Grand am survivor from oklahoma,tulsa on Mon Jul 29 2013

Car has a great design on the outside, and a nice interior. I own a white version with black stripes gives it a nice look. Only thing I dont care much for is the fuel pump. Had to replace 3 times in 125,000 miles time. Drove a lot so thats an iffy. Probaly will drop another engine to make it last longer. Have to drive one to understand how it does.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best car ive owned

by Erica from Fremont on Fri Jan 19 2018

Its a reliable vechile good on gas its compact so its easy to drive i can fit 2 car seats amd myself in the back

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Robert B from Detroit on Thu Jan 04 2018

A great little car. Plenty of power from the 3.4 v6. Only had to replace battery and fuel pressure regulator. Great first car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Tjcuda from Sioux Falls SD on Mon Oct 02 2017

Good car. We purchased it with 50,000 miles, not a problem 55,000 miles later. The car was used mostly for work/school.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Looked good and peformed well

by Joy on Tue Sep 19 2017

Car looked good and was reliable with good mileage. Easy to operate and maintain. Comfortable to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Much Bang for the Buck

by Avid Driver from on Sat Jun 19 2010

These cars tend to be under priced -- especially the ones with the 3.4L V6. The engine really can get the car to move, and the typical pontiac wide body design allows for incredible handling of that high performance. It's a little less organic looking than the cars that are hot today, but the styling is true to the raw power. An excellent car that I've loved.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2