2001 Montana

Consumer Reviews

2001 Pontiac Montana

$342 - $5,094  MSRP Range
2001 Pontiac Montana

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

10 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Pontiac Montana?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable, and excellent gas mileage

by Queen of Sheba from Grand Junction, CO on Thu Mar 05 2009

I bought this car with 95,000 miles on it. It has taken me on long trips and around town. We had a family reunion and drove everyone everywhere in it. I think it is a beaut. Had a few repairs, but so with all other cars/vehicles I have owned. Must sell it now for a 4 wheel drive to get up our 45 degree slant drive in the winter, but am sorry to see it go. I got 26 to 27 miles per gallon on the road and about 22-23 mpg in town. I have enjoyed owning it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent - Can't Beat it for the Price

by GTO Guy from Madison, WI on Thu Jun 18 2009

I bought the 2001 Montana used with 30K miles on it over the 2001 Honda Odyssey because you simply can not beat the value of the Pontiac. Not only was it $5000 cheaper than the Honda (which had 50K miles to begin with) but this van ran trouble free for over 100K miles. We took it everywhere. With over 120K on it, I ran a Kelly blue book check on the Montana against the Honda and the Honda is not worth all that much more than the Montana. Honestly, I don't know how someone can justify buying a Honda and a Toyota over the Montana especially when you are paying a premium for nothing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I used for every thing

by KHA from Augusta,Ga on Thu Jun 23 2011

I bought the 2001 Montana used with 92K miles on it. This is the first time for me using Van. I like it,Montana, easy to drive,comfortable,and safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Montana

by tonjamkj from on Tue Oct 04 2011

Great vehicle for the money. Has lots of room. Comfortable. Reliable vehicle that gets great gas milage for a minivan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

old reliable

by bre from on Thu Feb 26 2009

my husband was in a car accident in my montana mini van. We believe the air bags saved his life. I would definatly recommend this van to a friend. Matter of fact im looking to purchase a new one now.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by Mother of 4 Teens from on Wed Nov 09 2016

I bought a used 01 Pontiac Montana, I still own it 15 years later. Had to replace a lot of stuff including the transmission. But it is worth it. I have four teenagers and my eldest one now drives it. It couldn't have been more of a blessing for my family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Same as Venture

by BB from Rhinelander, WI on Tue Mar 05 2013

Problems with heat/cooling, electrical, torque converter. This model year seems to have several issues with the heating system (heater core gets plugged up) very costly to repair (a lot of labor). Also, if car has traction control, look out for repairs here too.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

LAST G.M. I'LL OWN!!!!!!!!!!

by UNHAPPY from CALGARY ALBERTA CANADA on Mon Sep 01 2008

I'VE OWNED MY 2001 PONT. MONTANA FOR 4 YRS.I'VE NEVER OWENED A CAR AS BADE AS THIS FOR REPAIRS.I'VE OWENED THIS MINI VAN THIS LONG BECAUSE I GOT A EXTENDED WARRENTY BUT SINCE IT IS OVER SO IS MY OWNERSHIP OF THIS PIECE OF JUNK.DO NOT BUY THIS VAN AT ANY PRICE......I'VE HEARD THE NEW ONES ARE EVEN WOST......

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

The biggest rip off

by ticked off montana owner from new berlin wisconsin on Tue Dec 14 2010

I BOUGHT A USED 2001 PONTIAC MONTANA IN AUGUST OF 2010. I had it one month and the overdrive stopped working on the transmission. Now that is cold out i am having electrical issues. The service traction controll light comes on, and when I apply the brakes the turn signals light up. I wish I would have never bought the pontiac montana.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best

by Pomo2001 from on Mon Jan 16 2017

I bought my 01 Montana 7 years ago to remove the engine and another parts for my venture on the end I decide to use it for work and still working

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1