1995 900

Consumer Reviews

1995 Saab 900

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

7 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1995 Saab 900?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Ryan from Lincoln, NE on Sat Aug 01 2009

I bought my Saab 900SE 3 years ago and it's been a great car. The moment you sit in the car and realize the ignition is down by the cup holder you know you've found a special car. Chances are you aren't going to see many others during your commute, exclusivity was a factor in my purchase decision. I have the V6 version which sounds pretty good, yet a little underpowered for how loud it can be at high revs, the engine being at 170hp not considering age factors. Yet the car isn't about how fast it is, it's about enjoying the ride. For a 1995, you get auto climate, heated leather, a display that tells you what the temperature is outside, what your fuel economy is and how many miles you have left in your tank, unheard of features to find while shopping for a car that old. The car comfortably fits 4 and has a trunk bigger than any four door I've ever seen by far, on top of that the rear seats fold down, accommodating at one point 3 mountain bikes. Overall I'd strongly recommend this car to someone who's looking for luxury on a budget, with that unmistakable Saab uniqueness.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Saab 900 Convertible

by Saab 900S from Atlanta, GA on Sun Jun 18 2006

This is an overall great car. It looks great and is loaded with features. The car gets great gas mileage, usually 23.5 city, 29+ highway. I have had trouble however with the complex convertible top, which on this model has six motors which are used to put the top up and down. However this has been the only problem I have had with the car which currently has 108K miles. The car is a convertible so it does not hamdle speed bumps very well. Overall this is a great, well built car which I would recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

private owner

by David from Mishawaka, IN on Fri Jun 16 2006

I owned a 1995 900 se convertiable with 126,000 miles and think its a great,safe and stylish car. just be sure to change the timing belt when you are suppose to. if you don't you will destroy the motor

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned!

by Saab Fan from Irvine, CA on Mon Jan 14 2008

bought my 1995 Saab 900SE Conv. last year, never had any problems with it..other than regular maintenance this car drives like a dream and doesn't require anything extraordinary. Would definitely buy again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A fun car to drive with the top down

by Scott K from Bridgton ME on Wed Sep 27 2017

I picked up this Saab for a paultry $300 but it had been off the road for a few years, and was parked under a pine tree. It only had 115,000 miles but was banged up pretty good and reverse was nonexistent ( manual trans). I bought a parts car for another $300 and made one pretty good one from the two. Had to replace tranny, repair tonneau cover motor, repair heater fan wiring, intermittent electrical issues are still a problem but it's great in the snow. If you can work on cars, get a Saab. Otherwise stay away, they will drain you dry.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Most expensive, unreliable car I have ever owned.

by Saab Story, the 1995 900 SE Turbo from O (my goodness) hio on Sat Apr 16 2011

I bought the car from my brother (never buy a car from a family member - an old piece of advice that is very true). Everything will break quickly on this car when you least expect it to break. Clutch, gear shift, tie rods, ball joints, anything to do with the front end will quickly break for you. Anything connected to the electrical system will break pretty quickly-including the major computer system, radio/cassette, automatic antenna, and heated seats. The only thing that has lasted and I can recommend is the 2.0 liter engine in the 900 SE Model. The engine keeps going no matter what, except when the belts and pulleys fall off. I have about 250,000 miles on the engine. Tune ups for this car run about $ 250. Brakes and rotors easily get up in the $400 range. And the car does not like mediocre tires so be prepared to spend about $600 for new tires. Once you have everything repaired with the most expensive parts and everything is aligned and balanced that car is very fun to drive, and can be quite speedy. This perfectly balanced state will last about 200 miles at the most, so expect about 4 hours of very nice driving. Hit one pot hole or bad road and everything will be out of balance requiring more alignment and balancing. Saab engineering makes the car look good from the inside and outside, but anything underneath or under the hood will drive you crazy when it breaks. Anyone want to buy my Saab?

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

V6 2.5L 5 Speed Manual Convertible

by Grif from SLC, Utah on Thu Mar 16 2017

I bought my SAAB with 84K miles on it 5 years ago. I am the second owner. I always wanted a Blue Convertible SAAB with a V6 & a 5 Speed Manual - but could not afford it. 20 years later, I bought it for #3,000. This SAAB model is based off of a European GM. In fact most parts are still in production. I put a brand new Opel V6 2.6L motor into it (use the original oil pan). I have a 1991 3 door SAAB as well, but I have found the GM SAAB's to be much better built. One beef- If your convertible top breaks, you will need to spend some money to fix it as the car does not have a manual over ride that works properly (the manual over ride leaves a gap in the rear window seal of 10 inches). I would not recommend a Turbo, but if you want one, you must know what you are getting yourself into. A Non-Turbo 4 cylinder also works great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1995 Saab 900

Saab Automobile, AB, has joined the parade of automakers getting 1995 products into the Indianapolis market.

The latest arrival from the Swedish manufacturer is the 1995 Saab 900 convertible. It may be a little tardy for the waning summer season, but that isn't regarded as a problem, since the new softtop has been designed as an all-season car.

3Coming from a land where winters make our temperatures seem like Palm Beach, Fla., the convertible has been created to provide complete comfort in any weather conditions.

The colder, the merrier. The 900's upper structure consists of a snug, weatherproof cabin with a fully lined top, a glass rear window that prevents cold-air transfer into the passenger compartment... Read More