2014 ForTwo Electric Drive

Consumer Reviews
2014 smart ForTwo Electric Drive

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
2014 smart ForTwo Electric Drive
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!!

by LenS from Ocean Isle Beach, NC on September 2, 2017

Such a cool car - great performance, almost no maintenance requirements and you never have to go to a gas station.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Life Changing

by Don D. from Milford, NJ on November 11, 2017

Now that I own and drive an electric car, I will never go back. It handles like a high performance race car, it is solid on the road, extremely economical, clean and quiet. The service requirements are far less than I ever imagined. It is the most state of the art technology on the planet and it works!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Smart Car

by Smart Car from Green Bay WI on December 10, 2017

The car is my first Smart Car and first EV. I have drove 130 miles so it has been pretty good. Only complaint/observation is that running the heater really eats up the battery, but I should of guessed that. Should be a efficient in town commuter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect commuter car if under 20mi round trip

by Vadim from Glen Ellyn, IL on February 19, 2018

I'm 6'4" and still have plenty of head room. Adjustable steering wheel tilt would have been a nice addition as part of the gauge cluster is obstructed by the top of the wheel. The left foot can't be extended because of the front wheel arch. In the dead of winter (temps in the negative teens F) range is down to 35mi - a garage is a must for those cold nights. On the positive side, I love the size of the car. Compared to the gas version which takes ages to shift gears, the electric is very smooth and takes off with plenty of pep. Very fun to drive and can always find a parking space. Short wheel base means the ride is a little bumpy, but that is not a complaint for me. Regenerative breaking is great feature. And the traction control work pretty well most of the time. Disabling traction control on icy roads doesn't work well, since the regenerative breaking works like an emergency break and locks up the rear wheels. Keep traction control off unless you need to climb up an icy driveway, otherwise, keep it on. If you could disable regenerative breaking, it would have been a different story. But even in heavy snows, the car is a champ. Heater heats up the cabin quickly. Seats are comfy. The seat belt is a bit clumsy to reach, but not the end of the world. Overall, highly recommended if your commute is 20 to 30 miles round trip. Feels like you are driving an exotic with people noticing you when you are on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Product!

by EV fan from Fort Worth, TX on October 24, 2015

This car is amazing, truly the best car I have owned in terms of value. Excellent engineering and build quality is evident throughout. The range estimator(number of miles left) is accurate and I like how they also added a % state of charge analog gauge as well. This EV is much more efficient than a larger EV I once owned that did NOT have a battery cooling system(who does that)! It seems to utilize the power much slower and efficiently, probably since is it smaller and the climate control works less to condition a smaller space. This car is fun to drive, easy to drive, easy to wash, and easy on the wallet!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Blast to Drive

by Jag from Ontario, Canada on February 26, 2014

I've had one of these cars since November 2013. It's an absolute blast to drive, even in the middle of winter. With all that acceleration, it's so much fun I can't stop grinning. And, to top it off, it costs me just slightly over 1 cent per kilometer in electricity to drive it. I only used a regular 110-volt plug in and it charges overnight without difficulty. If you need a city car and don't need to drive long distances, I highly recommend it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2015 Smart EV

by Smart 4 1 from Ohio on January 26, 2015

Great car for city/suburbs or state highways, not interstate. Quick, fun, quiet, and probably the cheapest new car to own and operate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Peppy and Fun!

by Green Girl from on May 20, 2014

I love my electric smartfortwo convertible! I've had it for a month now and I've driven it all over town and on the freeway. It's so easy to drive and the inside is very roomy. I get a full load of groceries in the back compartment just fine. I recharge it overnight with a regular electric outlet in my garage...it's sooo nice to drive right past the gas station without having to stop and empty my wallet!!! :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Goodbye to Fossil Fuel!

by Dusty from Port Townsend WA on February 21, 2014

We must significantly reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. The planet is already experiencing the disastrous weather events predicted decades ago by climate scientists. Using cars that charge batteries with alternative energy has now become a practical way to sever the tie to the big oil companies. This car is a terrific way to do the right thing without sacrificing safety, comfort and convenience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

kewl

by adsf from on July 14, 2014

You will be laughed at by every one but no worry just crank up "They see me Rollin'" and drive away.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2