2014 ForTwo Electric Drive

Consumer Reviews

2014 smart ForTwo Electric Drive

$5,770 - $8,006  MSRP Range
2014 smart ForTwo Electric Drive

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 smart ForTwo Electric Drive?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!!

by LenS from Ocean Isle Beach, NC on Sat Sep 02 2017

Such a cool car - great performance, almost no maintenance requirements and you never have to go to a gas station.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like it so much I now have two!

by LenS from Ocean Isle Beach, NC on Mon Aug 19 2019

We absolutely love our two Smart electrics. Virtually maintenance free, charge it up in the garage overnight. Bet we do 98% of our driving in them. Range is only 75 miles or so on a full charge, so that makes it tough for long trips, but around town they are perfect.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve owned

by Tworstell from MO on Tue Nov 05 2019

Fast fun reliable car that run on electricity! I call it the poor mans Tesla Nugget. You will love driving this car. This car was my replacement golf cart but turned into a daily driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really Cute Car!

by GoBoSox from Quincy, MA on Thu Oct 11 2018

So far it is the best car for commuting that I have ever owned. I love the green color and the design. It is nimble in traffic and fits in even the tightest parking spots.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Product!

by EV fan from Fort Worth, TX on Sat Oct 24 2015

This car is amazing, truly the best car I have owned in terms of value. Excellent engineering and build quality is evident throughout. The range estimator(number of miles left) is accurate and I like how they also added a % state of charge analog gauge as well. This EV is much more efficient than a larger EV I once owned that did NOT have a battery cooling system(who does that)! It seems to utilize the power much slower and efficiently, probably since is it smaller and the climate control works less to condition a smaller space. This car is fun to drive, easy to drive, easy to wash, and easy on the wallet!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Blast to Drive

by Jag from Ontario, Canada on Wed Feb 26 2014

I've had one of these cars since November 2013. It's an absolute blast to drive, even in the middle of winter. With all that acceleration, it's so much fun I can't stop grinning. And, to top it off, it costs me just slightly over 1 cent per kilometer in electricity to drive it. I only used a regular 110-volt plug in and it charges overnight without difficulty. If you need a city car and don't need to drive long distances, I highly recommend it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2015 Smart EV

by Smart 4 1 from Ohio on Mon Jan 26 2015

Great car for city/suburbs or state highways, not interstate. Quick, fun, quiet, and probably the cheapest new car to own and operate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Life Changing

by Don D. from Milford, NJ on Sat Nov 11 2017

Now that I own and drive an electric car, I will never go back. It handles like a high performance race car, it is solid on the road, extremely economical, clean and quiet. The service requirements are far less than I ever imagined. It is the most state of the art technology on the planet and it works!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect commuter car if under 20mi round trip

by Vadim from Glen Ellyn, IL on Mon Feb 19 2018

I'm 6'4" and still have plenty of head room. Adjustable steering wheel tilt would have been a nice addition as part of the gauge cluster is obstructed by the top of the wheel. The left foot can't be extended because of the front wheel arch. In the dead of winter (temps in the negative teens F) range is down to 35mi - a garage is a must for those cold nights. On the positive side, I love the size of the car. Compared to the gas version which takes ages to shift gears, the electric is very smooth and takes off with plenty of pep. Very fun to drive and can always find a parking space. Short wheel base means the ride is a little bumpy, but that is not a complaint for me. Regenerative breaking is great feature. And the traction control work pretty well most of the time. Disabling traction control on icy roads doesn't work well, since the regenerative breaking works like an emergency break and locks up the rear wheels. Keep traction control off unless you need to climb up an icy driveway, otherwise, keep it on. If you could disable regenerative breaking, it would have been a different story. But even in heavy snows, the car is a champ. Heater heats up the cabin quickly. Seats are comfy. The seat belt is a bit clumsy to reach, but not the end of the world. Overall, highly recommended if your commute is 20 to 30 miles round trip. Feels like you are driving an exotic with people noticing you when you are on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Peppy and Fun!

by Green Girl from on Tue May 20 2014

I love my electric smartfortwo convertible! I've had it for a month now and I've driven it all over town and on the freeway. It's so easy to drive and the inside is very roomy. I get a full load of groceries in the back compartment just fine. I recharge it overnight with a regular electric outlet in my garage...it's sooo nice to drive right past the gas station without having to stop and empty my wallet!!! :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2