2017 Model S

Consumer Reviews

2017 Tesla Model S

$34,608 - $62,756  MSRP Range
2017 Tesla Model S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

36 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best performing car ever!!

by Jerryapp from Palm City on Sat Dec 21 2019

The Tesla has exceeded all expectations and continues to be fun to drive after 2.5 years. The over the air updates continue to provide new and exciting features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Americas greatest Car

by S.Car.Go Tesla Bob from MI on Sun Jul 23 2017

We have owned our Tesla S for about 6 months and have loved the performance and value. With dual motors the all wheel drive makes driving in bad conditions better than any previous car we've owned. Including ourJeep Wrangler (car #2). I'm 6'5" tall and the Tesla is incredibly comfortable. On long trips using the high speed charging system means no fuel cost and quick charges at SuperChargers conveniently located at stops with restaurants and shopping available. Great styling. Amazing acceleration and autopilot to reduce stress on long rides. Seriously, just go test drive one. You will see what all the hype is about.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car!!!

by LaLa from Atlanta, GA on Fri Nov 24 2017

Best car I have owned in 30 years. Comfort, speed, “fuel” efficient. Fast, nimble and amazing auto-drive features Pricey upfront but then very low cost to drive. I had 2013 tesla s85 and Just traded in for 2017 Tesla 100D

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No guilt acceleration without the McClaren price

by TeslaZen from Asheville, NC on Sat Nov 18 2017

OK, where else can you buy a car that goes 0-60 in about 4 seconds (2.4 if you get the P100D @ around $140k), has 4 doors, ZERO emissions and hugs the ground like a $200,000+ sportscar all for around half the price of the other supercars at $100k? Audi R8 V10 , McLaren 570S, Porsche 911 Turbo S are all excellent ICE automobiles and very fun to drive. But...IF you are interested in our environment and lowering (read, not eliminating) your carbon footprint, but still LOVE some acceleration in a beautiful sportscar, this is your car. Oh yea, you can bring your family too because it has 4 doors! I took it on a road trip from Asheville, NC to College Park, MD using 2 Superchargers along the way and return trip (I didn't have to stop twice to charge as the 100D gets about 300+ per charge), but I'm a 52yo male...if you are post 50, you'll understand :). Yes, you have to plan your stops but the Superchargers are located in very convenient locations with restaurants etc along the way. The biggest joy is driving by the gas stations and smiling because I'm using renewable energy. If you are looking at a Porsche 911 Turbo S, McClaren 570, Audi R8 but would love it if those cars had 4 doors (I know Panamera does, but it doesn't have the best repair record), then you need to SERIOUSLY go and test drive a Tesla. I know that at this price, the Tesla S model isn't for everyone, but I feel that everyone should consider an electric vehicle (Model 3?) to be less dependent on foreign oil and fossil fuels in general. I realize that making the battery takes some, but it stops there. Once you are on the road= ZERO emissions. Check out Like Tesla on youtube for some more in depth information about the Tesla.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All Electric suer quiet

by MikeTesla on Sat Aug 19 2017

Great car, air suspension with all electric drive train makes it feel like you are floating on air. Autopilot 2.0 is fantastic in all aspects of driving. Unlimited supercharging with Premium seats. I get asked all types of questions, definitely a head turner! The car sits in a garage everyday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The wave of the future

by sramnbear from Westampton, NJ on Sat Aug 19 2017

This vehicle is essentially the leading edge of technology, styling, and performance without any emissions or gasoline!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Future Now

by AndyS from Florida on Sun Sep 17 2017

Carl Benz invented the automobile in the 19th Century, Ferdinand Porsche designed the VW Beetle for the masses in the 20th Century, now Tesla offers the acceleration of a race bike, the comfort of a Luxury sedan and technology of a self guided spacecraft worthy of the 21st Century

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The next generation of driving vehicle.

by JJPCars from Westmont, IL on Wed Aug 23 2017

I was impressed by the styling and functionality of the Tesla Model S P85D. I was blown away by the power and comfort of this car. The cars interior was refreshing and modern with all of the technological doodads you'd ever need. The stability and acceleration of this car was outstanding. If you haven't already, schedule a test drive of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Much Smarter Car

by Tessie from Jupiter, FL on Tue May 09 2017

Amazing. The car is much smarter than me. My IQ went up 50 points just driving this automobile. The technology is fun and drives great. Super quiet

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by SCmom from Columbia on Thu Feb 01 2018

I test drove this car and liked it, but I don't love it. Because I live in a rural state, I decided that I would not buy this car and instead am planning to purchase a plug-in hybrid. By doing this I will not be completely reliant on charging stations, and will have gasoline as a back-up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com