2017 Model S

Consumer Reviews

2017 Tesla Model S

$34,608 - $62,756  MSRP Range
2017 Tesla Model S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

36 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 36 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

OVERPRICED GARBAGE

by TotallyPissed from Philadelphia PA on Mon Jul 15 2019

Basically a $30,000 car with batteries and two fast electric motors. Interior leather is absolute crap for a $100k plus car, when compared to Audi, BMW or Mercedes. Interior options are absolutely lacking when compared to above. No place to hang dry cleaning, no rear USB ports... No seat memory for a few different drivers... The car is a joke! And way more toxic to the environment then I would have guessed!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Car for the rich, expensive to maintain

by Teslavik from Northridge, ca on Fri Apr 17 2020

Fantastic torque and acceleration , ride is too sporty if coming form and expecting Mercedes/Lexus comfort and amenities . Most definitely a car for big deep pockets.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible performance, styling and comfort.

by icetoev from Colorado Springs, CO on Sat May 25 2019

The Model S has class-leading range and in P100D form, it is unbeatable in a straight line. Routine OTA software updates from Telsa keeps improving on the cars various systems, especially the Autopilot. One of the safest cars on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most amazing car I have ever driven.

by JD from Adrian,MI on Tue Mar 31 2020

If you have not , test drive these cars. Dont be afraid of running out of charge, you just have to plan a little bit. Amazing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed test drive but ordered a Model 3

by Bruce from Boerne Texas on Wed Jan 17 2018

Liked but to pricey believe to be the car of the future, electric, but I'm going to wait for the model 3

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Never thought I would like it... But do!

by Scoobyfan from Genk, Belgium on Sun Mar 11 2018

I live in Belgium, and have driven fast vauxhalls, a few beemers, and about 5 Japanese fast icons (WRX STI, EVO 9, etc.) and was about to buy a 2018 Nissan GT-R.... Drove the tesla model S 100D for a day and 500km the week after I drove the Nissan.... I bought the Tesla! Does that say enough? No, it is not as fast, certainly not as track capable, and with a different emotional dynamic.... But in day to day traffic... It is the fastest thing on the road, overtaking is effortless... Driving in congested traffic becomes a doddle...the first car that managed to relax me dispite the traffic... And since I'm only driving between 50 and a 100 miles a day and charging at home... What was range anxiety again? once or twice a year I'll try to soothe my lust for track driving by hiring something fun like a lotus Elise and indulge in a track day... As a daily driver? The Tesla has not many equals... And none that are capable of keeping your hands and/or shoes clean (as in, no smelly unhealthy fuel on them)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just plain fun

by Carlooker5 from OH on Mon Oct 08 2018

It’s so far ahead of every other car I’ve ever driven or owned. It’s truly the future. With some small interior finish and styling tweaks, this car can be perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Engineering Excellence

by Michael from Portland, Oregon on Sat Oct 27 2018

Everything about this vehicle, is well planned and executed. Switching from my Mercedes-Benz to TESLA was like trading in my flip phone for an iPhone. Automotive Perfection!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You won't want to drive anything else!

by paulpannu from Sacramento, CA on Tue Oct 23 2018

The Tesla Model S is an amazing vehicle, pure and simple. The pick up speed is unparalleled by any gas car. This car is quiet, smooth, reliable, and virtually maintenance free. Not having to stop at a gas station is a great feeling. I couldn't say enough positive things about the Tesla... you would think I'm getting paid to say this but I'm not! :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Every drive feels like vacation time

by Rocket Woman from LAGUNA BEACH on Sat Apr 07 2018

This car is a fantastic combination of elegance, speed, and high technology. Tesla thought of everything and engineered it to perfection. Extremely comfortable it is a delight and exhilarating joy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com