2018 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Golf

$20,910 - $23,655  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Repeat purchase for VW Golf

by DSM from Dayton, TN on Wed Mar 28 2018

After purchasing a 2015 VW Golf in 2014, I decided to replace it with the same vehicle (different color) in a 2018 model. The The 2015 was a fine car, with plenty of interior room, good performance, fun to drive on twisty roads, and overall practicality. What it didn't have are the now available active safety systems. Since automatic braking in case of an impending collision, blind spot monitoring, rear traffic alert, are now available in the Golf, we decided to purchase one having those features. It is a very nice car that I hope will be as good as the 2015.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED

by FUEGO346 on Wed May 30 2018

BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED. LOVE THE SIZE AND THE WAY IT DRIVES. The features and smart key are a nice touch. It is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. I really like the looks of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Building on previous success.

by Sparky from Atlanta, GA on Sat Jun 16 2018

My first Golf was a 2015, the year upon which the current model is based. As great as the 2015 was (and for which it won MANY awards, the 2018 is significantly improved. All the safety technology is a must have. Driveability has been upgraded by increasing the low end torque of the 1.8 liter engine. The car has plenty of power and the sure footedness of a sports car. Who needs a GTI? Not me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Back to Basics

by Lisa T from Hayesville NC on Sun Oct 21 2018

I decided to buy something basic that offers 40mpg and a spirited driving experience, along with top quality and a cockpit where everything is at hand but doesn't distract!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best and most reliable car I had.

by GolfFan from Steinbach, MB on Thu Jul 05 2018

This car exceeds all my needs. The 4 motion system is espacially good for winter time. It has a good size screen with an SD card and a USB port. Overall it's very comfortable and also good an on gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We have a Winner!

by GarfieldM from Chilliwack, BC on Sun Oct 22 2017

My son is buying a Golf. I might too! Fast, quiet, comfy and for 2018, ALL the goodies are included such as a bigger screen and leather steering wheel. An article we read said that the Golf was as close to an Audi 3 as you could ever get. Test drive it and you’ll see what I mean.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Golf SE Navigation 1.5 litre EVO TSI 130ps 5 door

by Farnell from Plymouth on Wed Jul 04 2018

In March I bought a new Golf SE Navigation 1.5 litre EVO TSI 130ps 5 door Manual. Motor way performance and fuel economy are very important to me, so I compared a lot of cars and their published figures. I also talked to at least five VW dealerships: telling them what I needed from a car and what we used it for. That being regular trips to ski areas and long drives on French and German roads. I was assured that this model gave both excellent fuel economy and good performance. The brochure promised 'Maximum speed 131mph'. On a German motorway it just about got to 98mph. No power in 4th or 5th gears. Nothing extra to get you out of trouble. When overtaking a Truck, in Germany and in France, it is quite common to find another car approaching from behind at speed. This golf has nothing there to get you out of the way!! The brochure promised ' Fuel economy Urban 44.8 mpg* Extra urban 68.9 mpg* Combined 58.9 mpg' The best urban is 30 mpg, the best on Motorways is 42 mpg. There is a vast gap between claimed fuel economy and actual economy. The seats are very uncomfortable and the side mirrors badly designed (they constantly pick up an internal reflection from the air vent edging). I have owned five VW's over many years. This golf is hopeless and very disappointing. I think they have over-engineered the 1.5 engine to get better eco-ratings, but not achieved any reasonable performance or ever fuel economy! Two dealerships have checked out the car, no faults. If you do long motorway drives - avoid this car.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love of my life

by Muccellij from Orangeville on Mon May 07 2018

This car is the most amazing car I have ever driven. This is my 6th car since the time I have started to drive and I am so very impressed. This car has power, comfort and style. Would not trade it for the world.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort in it's definition

by Anthony from Edmonton, Alberta on Wed Sep 19 2018

Really comfortable car. Pretty performant for a little 4 cylinder. Gas consumption is really good too. The only downside of Golfs is the limited space in the trunk. The backseat is comfortable too. The most impressing thing is the stability of the car on the road. You can take turns at a decent speed and you don't feel insecure. I would recommend to buy the LED headlight option, it makes all the difference. Not only on the look of the car but also on the efficiency of the headlights.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I?ve ever owned!!

by T dog from Rome, ny on Thu Apr 26 2018

I can not believe how happy and helpful the whole sales staff was! Great people, great car, there?s no doubt in my mind I?ll buy another vehicle here again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2018 Volkswagen Golf

The verdict:

I have three kids and drive a minivan, so practicality often outweighs fun in my life, but the Volkswagen Golf doesn’t make me choose. It delivers both.

Versus the competition:

The Golf costs a smidge more than other compact hatchbacks, but it’s more refined than many and more fun than most.

The Golf was refreshed for 2018, but the changes are subtle, limited to minor updates like new standard LED daytime running lights and a revised dash layout to make room for a larger multimedia screen. Compare it with last year's model.

In addition to the regular Golf, the hatchback comes in many forms, including performance-oriented GTI and R models and SportWagen and Alltrack wagons. For the eco-minded, there's also the all-electric e-Golf. I reviewed the base Golf S; it's also available in an uplevel SE model.

The Golf competes against the likes of the Honda Civic hatchback, Hyundai Elantra GT and Mazda3 hatchback. See them compared.

Minimal-Frills Cabin

Although the... Read More