2018 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Golf

$14,997 - $19,449  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Repeat purchase for VW Golf

by DSM from Dayton, TN on Wed Mar 28 2018

After purchasing a 2015 VW Golf in 2014, I decided to replace it with the same vehicle (different color) in a 2018 model. The The 2015 was a fine car, with plenty of interior room, good performance, fun to drive on twisty roads, and overall practicality. What it didn't have are the now available active safety systems. Since automatic braking in case of an impending collision, blind spot monitoring, rear traffic alert, are now available in the Golf, we decided to purchase one having those features. It is a very nice car that I hope will be as good as the 2015.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not my first car, but it’s the best I’ve owned.

by HappyGolfOwner from Fort Worth, TX on Wed Oct 24 2018

I’m undoubtedly still in the honeymoon period because I just purchased it less than a month ago. I did a lot of research before I bought and it came down to a choice between a Civic EX-L and a Golf TSI SE. I liked the Golf because it was a hatchback and had seats with lumbar support. I guess I could have bought a Civic Touring hatchback but they were pricey (and no lumbar support in any trim level, even with 8-way power seats). I also considered a Mazda 3, but no CarPlay in the U.S. Dealers said it might be made available as a retrofit, but I’m not going to wait around for something that may or may not happen. Golf has a very smooth ride with very little road noise. It’s no speed demon but it has more than ample power and handles great. Interior is comfy with plenty of room in the back. It’s was impossible to find an SE trim with a 5 speed in my area, but so far I’m happy with the automatic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Cag0803 from Saint louis, mo on Thu Jun 06 2019

Love it! Went from an Audi Q7 to this and this car is sooo damn good! I think that the inside is super nice, not flashy but not bland- it’s just subtle and mature. Everything you touch is high quality, cheap plastics on a lot of cheaper cars are left out of this car. I LOVE that I get all the benefits of a small SUV but I get the gas mileage and the ability to zip in and out if traffic with ease. This car may look like a boring hatchback but the diving experience is super fun! Just push it a little and you'll see the pep this thing packs!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED

by FUEGO346 on Wed May 30 2018

BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED. LOVE THE SIZE AND THE WAY IT DRIVES. The features and smart key are a nice touch. It is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. I really like the looks of this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Building on previous success.

by Sparky from Atlanta, GA on Sat Jun 16 2018

My first Golf was a 2015, the year upon which the current model is based. As great as the 2015 was (and for which it won MANY awards, the 2018 is significantly improved. All the safety technology is a must have. Driveability has been upgraded by increasing the low end torque of the 1.8 liter engine. The car has plenty of power and the sure footedness of a sports car. Who needs a GTI? Not me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small car, great package at the right price.

by OM from Tampa, Florida on Mon Jan 21 2019

Whao, it drives beautifully.., good looking little car, great price for what you get, and interior materials are as good as the high end class cars. Gas saver ... My 4th VW after 2 Jettas and a Tiguan over the past several years..., the best in overall so far....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for the city

by VW fan from Vineland on Mon Jan 27 2020

I needed a car that would fit my lifestyle, which means traveling in Philadelphia most days. This car is so compact, yet fits groceries in the trunk and two people in the back seat. The apple car play is terrific!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Back to Basics

by Lisa T from Hayesville NC on Sun Oct 21 2018

I decided to buy something basic that offers 40mpg and a spirited driving experience, along with top quality and a cockpit where everything is at hand but doesn't distract!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best and most reliable car I had.

by GolfFan from Steinbach, MB on Thu Jul 05 2018

This car exceeds all my needs. The 4 motion system is espacially good for winter time. It has a good size screen with an SD card and a USB port. Overall it's very comfortable and also good an on gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and fun to drive

by Sofiarosesaid from Savannah, Ga on Sun Nov 25 2018

This car is a dream to drive. It has so much room for how compact it is, and has all the bells and whistles I didnt even know I couldnt live without. Volkswagen knows how to make a driver comfortable and happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2018 Volkswagen Golf

The verdict:

I have three kids and drive a minivan, so practicality often outweighs fun in my life, but the Volkswagen Golf doesn’t make me choose. It delivers both.

 

Versus the competition:

The Golf costs a smidge more than other compact hatchbacks, but it’s more refined than many and more fun than most.

 

The Golf was refreshed for 2018, but the changes are subtle, limited to minor updates like new standard LED daytime running lights and a revised dash layout to make room for a larger multimedia screen. Compare it with last year’s model.

In addition to the regular Golf, the hatchback comes in many forms, including performance-oriented GTI and R models and SportWagen and Alltrack wagons. For the eco-minded, there’s also the all-electric e-Golf. I reviewed the base Golf S; it’s also available in an uplevel SE model.

The Golf competes against the likes of the Honda Civic hatchback, Hyundai Elantra GT and Mazda3 hatchback. See them compared.

Minimal-Frills Cabin

Although the Golf was... Read More