NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Golf R

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volkswagen Golf R

#9 Most Popular Wagon/Hatchback
$40,395 - $40,395  MSRP Range
2019 Volkswagen Golf R

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volkswagen Golf R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

SANO VW...

by GEZWIND from ESCALON, CA. on Sat Apr 27 2019

Fast, usable, classic subtle styling, unbelievable build quality, and a blast to drive. This is our tenth VW in 3 decades and they just keep getting better and better. Highly recommend a Golf R to anyone that enjoys driving rather than a day to day appliance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Treat yourself

by Ozarker from Missouri Ozarks on Sat Jul 13 2019

For my money, the Golf R is the best car being made. Right sized, utilitarian, all-wheel drive, highly evolved, and beautifully designed, with every detail thoughtfully executed. And it goes like stink. It should be cheaper, but then they'd be everywhere, and exclusivity has a value. The car makes me smile every time I consider it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Golf R is PERFECT

by cedup from hamilton sq,nj on Thu Oct 24 2019

Comfortable, super QUICK, handles fantastically, feels like you are connected, and in total control, in all conditions. it replaced my GTI which was GREAT, but the Golf R, is indeed a step up, very noticeable. Lots of usable room, and everything is where it belongs, ergonomics is FANTASTIC. got it in Sept 2019, have close to 4000 miles now, so I have a good feel, for what it can do, pretty much everything feels RIGHT...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW for life!

by Bradenlee91R from Utah on Wed Aug 07 2019

Truly a German car fan. I have owned an MK1 golf, and two MK6 GTIs. I just had to have a Golf R. I’m impressed with the performance. Handing is what you’d expect, nice and tight. Doesn’t have quite the turning radius the MK6 had. I have ~2500 miles now and have already had a spring come out of one of the “oh xxxx” handles. Disappointing. There is also a bit of a creak coming from the passenger rear which sounds structural. Interesting for a brand new car. All that being said, I would still recommend buying one. Impressive performance. Fuel economy isn’t bad. Has all the new tech. Can’t wait to get some snow on the ground and try her out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's fun, fun & more fun.

by juspassinthru from Nashville, Tennesse on Wed Sep 18 2019

Perfect "UAV" (urban assault vehicle). Small in stature but roomy on the inside. Easily carries 4 adults. Great gas mileage, very quick & did I mention fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleeper fun

by Jman from Seattle Washington on Wed Oct 16 2019

After looking at many vehicles, the golf r checked all the boxes and gave me a fun, premium spec, car that puts a smile on my face, gets good gas milage and has awd for snowy days. Try one out. You'll like it. Even my wife loves it and she's stopped driving the kids around in the SUV just to drive the golf once in awhile. My reliability rating is actually unknown. I've had no problems 1500 miles in, but I'm assuming the 72000 mile warranty will give me peace of mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not just more money than a GTI

by SupperMario3 from Chicago, IL on Sun Nov 03 2019

Had a Gen 6 GTI and it performed flawlessly for 6 years for my daughter. Upgraded to the newest Golf R Gen 7.5 and I have to say there is a significant difference between the two cars, not just in terms of price. Better in all these segments - seating, technology, brakes, power, power, and more power (nice!), handling (yes even better), tuning of suspension, engagement with the transmission (much more direct, but the GTI was pretty good) and all wheel drive for the upper mid-west winters. We loved our GTI but we are amazed with the latest Golf R from VW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort Performance

by Carlo from Tupelo MS on Fri May 03 2019

I have always liked hot hatches. They are fun to drive, practical and good daily drivers. I had a 2017 Civic Type R. The current king of hatchbacks. It is a very exiting car to drive. Besides the looks of the car which is the turning point for most people, the car was great. As much as I liked it, I never felt connected with it. The seats were great but hard to get in and out. The dash was pretty nice but the interface was really laggy. Being the first batch of Type Rs, the transmission did made strange noises while going fast. Pieces of trim rattle on the inside. The attention the car gets can get quite annoying when people want to race you all the time. So it was a car that didnt fit my lifestyle anymore. I test drove a GTI before and the connection was instant. The interior felt so much nicer with higher quality all arround. The comfort was quite superior. It was a car I was determined to get to replace my Type R. Determined to trade my car for a GTI, there was a Golf R on the lot that day. I decided to test drive it and it is all I said about the GTI but better. The power and all wheel deive system are amazing. The digital dash, the infotainment system and stereo are extremely nice. The understated look of it it’s brilliant. The Golf R is not as fast and agile as the Type R or a Focus RS. Everybody that is into cars will know that. I know that. But it is the best hot hatch all around. Hot hatchbacks started with VW, and it seems like it will stay that way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All-wheel drive turbo 4-cylinder 30mpg!

by BengolfR from Fort Worth, Texas on Wed Nov 28 2018

This car met all my expectations and more. very comfortable and reliable. AWD, you can really feel the car control its self in rain and in corners.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2019 Volkswagen Golf R

The verdict:

The 2017 Volkswagen Golf R takes the sportiness and usefulness of the Golf GTI and turns it up a notch — but not quite enough to justify its higher price.

 

Versus the competition:

The Golf R isn’t as powerful as the Ford Focus RS or Subaru WRX STi, but it’s available with an automatic as well as a manual transmission and boasts overall refinement that makes it more pleasant to use on a daily basis.

 

You have to admire what Volkswagen has done with the Golf compact car. It’s had the same basic shape and mission since its inception in the mid-1970s, when it was created by VW as a more modern successor to the Beetle. It’s always been an upright hatchback design meant to maximize utility and comfort, but the Golf has also always brought a certain level of driving engagement that most compact cars can’t come close to touching.

The fact that VW makes two sport-minded variants of the Golf is even better. I’ve called the front-wheel-drive Golf GTI the world’s perfect all-around enthusiast car; it’s that good. So does it make sense to spend more money for a more powerful... Read More