2009 GTI

Consumer Reviews

2009 Volkswagen GTI

$5,286 - $11,606  MSRP Range
2009 Volkswagen GTI

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Volkswagen GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have Driven

by Armando from Plantation, FL on Thu Oct 02 2008

I bought this car new just a couple months ago. First, don't get it if you don't like hatches. The GTI has 200hp and 207 lbs of torque, it is a vehicle with tons of power at the wheel so be careful when stepping on the pedal. It contains a 2.0L turbocharged, intercooled direct fuel injected 4 cylinder engine. It is no very fuel efficient, it give me 21 MPG average according to the dashboard computer. But if the GTI is driven at a high gear and with the RPM bellow 2500 to 2000 it will do between 30 to 35 MPG. The Exterior brings back the first GTI's style. It is a vehicle that looks sport, family oriented and also it has class. Interior wise, not a lot of people enjoy the Interlago seats, but I personally think that it makes it unique. If you pick the cloth or leathers, either way you get a sort of recaro style seats. The steering wheel is very comfortable and it keeps your hands in place, it has the VW emblem in the middle and right below it a GTI badge. Stereo is amazing, good 6 cd changer right on the dash. Either one of the 3 door or 5 door GTI have great leg room and are very comfortable compared to the last model. If you are an enthusiast then you will know that this is the car of the year. If you are just looking for a car with class and sport looks this is the vehicle. Just to wrap everything up the GTI (grand touring injection) does deserve its badge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You can't ask for more

by Benny Will from Cairo, NY on Thu Jul 08 2010

Hi gas mileage, amazing practicality, huge interior space for a "small" car, incredibly fun to drive with great handling and accelration, great in all weather, including snow, I can't speak more highly of this car. The only drawback was the steepish price tag, but it's been worth the high price for all of the above! Peace.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Don't look any further

by Vdubbin from Springfield mo on Mon Nov 14 2011

I have had my gti for about 2 months now. I had a rabbit before (lowered wheels bike rack ect) and I always thought it was comparible to a gti. I was horribly mistaken. This car will out preform and bring a smile to your face everytime the turbo spools. Mine is a 6 speed and a blast to drive. Wether I'm going to work or just a Sunday drive. The feel of the car is just better. Stiffer more responsive. It's love at first drive and still is. Thank you volkswagen. Keep it up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Boxy gem

by ATM Dad from Mid Atlantic on Wed Oct 05 2016

I bought this 2009 GTI in 2016 for my college student child who faces a long commute to work every day. It is one of the rare reasonably priced safe, and practical cars that gives you a sense of the road and performs, and is available with a real manual transmission (not a "manumatic"). I had recommended a used, highly-regarded Japanese economy car for him. However, the light steering, touchy brakes, hair-trigger throttle (which masked the somewhat low power of the engine), and air bag issues on the Japanese car convinced us that the driver-friendly, high-performing VW, was actually a better choice. The greater safety and visibility were also a plus. A well-known negative was the easily-damaged big 18" VW wheels and 40-series tires which we replaced with reconditioned more-conventional 17" VW wheels and 45-series tires immediately after purchase.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power, Handling, splash of road noise

by manualfornow from Seattle, Wa on Thu Mar 08 2018

I absolutely love my VW GTI. It is the older body style which I actually prefer, it seems more curvy than sharp edges. She (the car) has power when I need it and with the manual transmission I am completely in control. It is definitely not a family car as it is difficult to get into the back seats, but comfortable once you are there. The hatchback and fold down back seats allow me to put in my bicycle easily after I take off the front wheel. There is quite a bit of road noise and if I have my headset in for a phone call the other end can hear the noise. Another downside is the door size. The 2-door model has huge doors and if you are in a tight parking spot it takes a little yoga to get in or out. Gas mileage is completely acceptable (it takes premium) and the little bit extra I use for some power maneuvering is worth it. I feel safer in this car because of the power and the ability to sneak into small spaces.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

German engineering

by Chris93306 from Bakersfield, California on Mon Oct 30 2017

Big fan of Volkswagen, and this car didn't disappoint. One of the best hot hatchbacks out there. Roomy, fast and fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW

by gti owner from nj on Tue Dec 13 2011

For the money the GTI is a economical preformance car with great mpg a Turbo boost and very easy to drive . the size is great for moving in and around traffic and parking lots. the interior has quality controls compared to suburu and hyandai .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

German Bullet

by blackmars from Exton, PA on Sun Jul 30 2017

The classic GTI story will last forever. Nimble, spacious and great styling! I had this car for a little bit over two years, bought new from Northeast Philly VW dealer. Still by far the best handling car I have ever driven. But seats are not that great. My back hurts after 1-hour continuous drive. The little car is very spacious when you have laid down the 2nd-row seats. I once put a full-size mattress into it!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun car

by European from TN on Wed Feb 22 2012

I bought 2008 GTI 9K mile ago with 27K on th clock, certified in a v good condition with basic specification. I would def add btooht; except of the lack of the above i like the car it has decent booth space, handles well. Paddle shifters are nice adds on and pretty usefull if you want to push the limit (btw on the twisty dry roads drives awesome, leave gf at home as you will hear lots of complains but than you can pump up the volumne on a suprisingly good sound system). if you don't want to have a boy car racer with fairly good fuel economy (noticable difference of about 8-10% in fuel consumption and performance if you use premium - read use premium) just go for well cared one and have fun you will not regret it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable and bad customer service ever!

by Manco from Jefferson, NJ on Sat Oct 22 2011

Let me preface this by saying that usually you'll expect some bad reviews on any car, but believe all the bad reviews. If you had a good experience with VW recently or this dealer, you are the exception. I will admit, buying our car here was a good experience. But from there out it went down hill. Our GTI is still new and have had major issues with no help from this dealer or VW. The problem we had was so common that the part was nationally on back order. We have been without our car for over a week with no offer of a courtesy car. That is terrible customer service. If we had received any effort of help we would have considered trading in for another VW. Now I will never buy another VW and I am telling everyone not to buy one. I am not a person like this. But this was exceptionally bad. Hope you take heed. Might I add that at 3 dealerships that we talked to VW mechanics about our car problem said they new it was a common problem and said they don't own VW's and one guy who did said he has to replace the same part every 10,000 miles! Mind you this part is not cheap! Also, it's not just GTI's that have the problem, everyOne of their models have the same problem.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2