2011 GTI

Consumer Reviews

2011 Volkswagen GTI

$5,163 - $16,627  MSRP Range
2011 Volkswagen GTI

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

42 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Volkswagen GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Blast to Drive

by GTI MK6 Owner from Florida on Mon Feb 07 2011

They've made some things optional that were standard in the past. I love the new look on the 2011. The car handles like it's on rails. Since VW makes the Audi as well it stands to reason they are not going to put the same horsepower in the GTI that they put in the TT. You're supposed to get something more when you trade up to the TT. For those that don't feel it's powerful enough, it's a simple matter to have the computer flashed and get more than 300 HP out of it. Since it is one of the few V.W.'s that is still entirely made in Germany, I find the fit and finish to be superb. It's my daily driver and I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance is Latent

by vdubaron from Rochester, NY on Mon Apr 11 2011

For all those people complaining about the power of this car they are really missing out. The power is there just get it chipped and put a cold air intake in. These are not expensive upgrades and make a world of difference. As far as Europe getting a better engine you are wrong. They have different software utilizing the power of the engine. VW's and Audi's have been detuned for the U.S. for a long time. I'm guessing it has to do with gas mileage. Open your eyes people this car has power don't settle for stock.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will give you everything you want!

by DJohn from Pittsburgh, PA on Thu May 26 2011

For people who think this car doesn't have enough power; here's a few simple mods that WILL compete easily with the WRX and other similar cars. Two simple mods, a K&N cold intake and a magnaflow muffler or similar performance muffler. With these you get a car that WILL do 0-60 in under 6 secs. mine did 5.5 secs with the DGS transmission. These mods should only cost you around $500-$600 and when you add that on to the price of the vehicle, it's a no brainer compared to what you would spend on so called upper model car. And for those people who think it won't drive in the snow, simply manually shift, don't slam on the gas pedal and drive it in a slower gear, I live in a hilly area and drove it in 6 inches of snow and got home fine. So basically the car is the best of both worlds, good gas milage, great performance and speed (remember simple mods if you want more) and drive it smart and it will do fine in the snow. Two last things if you want to know exactly how to use the launch control system, go on YouTube and search askaVWdealer GTI Launch control, it will educate you alot. And the race tuned front and rear suspension is second to none in it's class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Angel In My Pocket Rocket

by Silversurfer52 from Charlotte NC on Wed Aug 24 2011

Been a life long Japanese car owner, but wanted to try something different. Been reading and studying cars for a year and the clear winner based on all aspects of the driving experience was the VW GTI. So far, so great! Fun to drive, handles like a dream, accelerates with ease, and has very comfortable seats. Mine is the two-door model. Plenty of room in the front and the back with very good visabilty for the driver. Really like the way the seats are able to move up and down like a barbers chair so easily. I use to hate my commute, now I look forward to the drive to and from work. Love my hot hatch!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty fun hatchback that a blast to drive

by Otis from Florida on Fri Aug 26 2011

I enjoy driving this car better than my 1999 Camaro SS, 6 speed LS1. It has enough power in sports mode for having fun yet it's a great daily driver with good gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value. Period.

by Patrick from Cincinnati, OH on Wed May 07 2014

Absolutely the best bang for your buck car on the market, period. I have owned the 2 door base model of this vehicle for over 3 years and driven 43.5k miles with absolutely no issues. The outstanding quality of construction is evident in the sound the door makes when it closes, the materials throughout the cabin, and the smooth performance of the engine and transmission. When you don't want to compromise between interior quality and comfort, performance, fuel economy, storage space, and cost of ownership, the GTI is the go to vehicle. Such a thrill to drive! Standard features like turn signals in the side view mirrors, heated seats, turbocharged engine, automatic brake for hill starts, bluetooth and AUX audio, interior LED lighting, leather steering wheel and shifter with red stitching, twin chrome tip exhaust, bucket seats, and much more make this vehicle a step above the rest and an absolute joy to be in. Steering is smooth, turn radius is excellent, and so much power! I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car!

by 60 year old male from Fresno CA on Wed Jun 08 2011

This is the fourth VW I have owned. The GTI is a lot more fun than the old Beetles and Squareback I had earlier. I have owned this GTI for nearly 10 months and have driven it 12,000 miles. Great as a daily driver as well as for longer road trips. Sheer joy to drive on a twisty mountain road. Makes the daily commute an adventure instead of a chore. The six speed manual and eager turbocharged engine offer plenty of power. I've gotten as high as 33 mpg on road trips and regularly get in the high 20's for daily driving (mixed freeway and surface streets).The fit and finish are superb. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2011 GTI Autobahn

by Tim S on Fri Dec 22 2017

Understated look, a true wolf in sheep's clothing (which was actually a VW tag line for its Mk1 GTI U.S. ad campaign). Excellent interior. Lot of little thoughtful touches--Easter eggs almost--from felt lined safety belt buckles on the occupant-facing sides to the air conditioned glove box to the security system that automatically re-arms if one opens and then closes just the rear hatch. Fair fuel economy: low 30 mpg if hypermiling on highways, sub-30 in the city. Durable paint (not thin like, say, Subaru's paint job). Efficient size makes city parking a snap.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE this car!

by 2nd GTI YEAH! from Jersey Shore on Mon Mar 19 2012

Pound for pound this car is awesome! It's my second time around, I had a '97, now I have a 2011. My '97 rocked 190K with minimal troubles. My 2011 feels like I'm driving a performance car that gets 30MPG. It's smooth, quite, quick, and handles like a demon. There's a reason the GTI is the benchmark for hot hatches. Best of all I feel like an adult when I drive it. The finish is tight and precise. It's a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Drive

by Fun Drive from Spencer. IN on Fri Jul 27 2012

I bought this model 2011 2dr auto with nav and sunroof used with 11000 miles. I have only owned a month but have put more than 5000 miles on it. I like the car! Mileage is as expected if you don't play street racer! It is sprung tightly and handles well but you will feel the road if it is not relatively smooth. It is quick for real life situations. If you want to race get a WRX but for everyday fun this is the car. The seats are very comfortable. In my search this car delivers the most fun for the money!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2011 Volkswagen GTI

Editor's note: This review was written in January 2010 about the 2010 Volkswagen GTI. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2011, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Never the fastest or most outlandish-looking car in its class, the Volkswagen GTI has long been the civilized sport compact — like a grunge guitarist with a haircut and a Men's Wearhouse suit. Redesigned for 2010, this still holds true. The GTI looks rakish but not rowdy; it prefers balance to sheer power. The kids will prefer a Mazdaspeed3 or Subaru WRX, but the GTI will keep its fans — and were it not for Volkswagen's dual-clutch gearbox, which... Read More