2019 Jetta

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volkswagen Jetta

#1 Most Popular Sedan
$18,545 - $26,945  MSRP Range
2019 Volkswagen Jetta

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

42 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volkswagen Jetta?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Packed With Features

by Omar_HTX from Houston, Texas on Fri Aug 17 2018

I have had this car for a little over 1,500 miles now, and I am still in love with it. I purchased the SEL trim model because of all the features it had. Coming from a 2012 Jetta, I think Volkswagen did everything right for this model year's update. The fuel economy I get is excellent. On my commute to work, I average about 42 mpg. I can wholeheartedly recommend this car with no regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I?ve owned.

by TarynLS from Midvale, UT on Mon Jul 23 2018

I love my car, the ride is smooth and it works great for my little family!!! The experience so far is the best one I?ve had yet in a vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned

by melissa213x from Charlotte,NC on Mon Aug 13 2018

This car is so amazing! It is a totally different look and feel to the old Jetta. It is the biggest change since 2008 in the Jetta's! I think VW did a great job. I have the SEL line which is more premium, and the inside is incredible. SO many great features and comfy leather seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car I?ve owned.

by Eva from GA on Wed Aug 22 2018

I have this car in white with a black interior. Let me start off by saying .. this car is amazing. I was sold when all the safety features that were presented to me. Interior looks clean and simple. It has car play which was definitely a plus for me. Easy to learn all the gadgets inside. Has a good sound system too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car yet

by ALVW from Downers Grove, IL on Mon Jul 16 2018

This car is amazing! I absolutely love it! Roomy and spacious. Sleek, stylish and sporty. Has all the bells and whistles. Smooth steady quick pick up ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just drove it home from lot. WE LOVE IT! ???

by Jim Murdock Family from Petal, MS on Tue Jun 05 2018

Our daughter was BLOWN AWAY by all the car has to offer! She is on cloud 9 over her new Jetta!! She is now a proud VW owner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new jetta

by Senergy01 from Jeff olson on Mon Jul 23 2018

This car is the best vehicle for its money that I have ever purchased.i would recommend this car to anyone looking for a new car.the fuel mileage and over all power and control is awesome

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Transmission Problems!

by carlasos from orlando on Tue Aug 28 2018

Have owned 2019 Jetta for 5 weeks. First week was fine.. 2nd week I noticed an audible noise coming from the transmission. (Like a grinding noise) when driving in standard mode. It has gotten worse in the past 2 weeks. I took the car in to local vw dealer. We took it for a test drive and technician said he does hear and feel it. I waited 2 more hours for service mgr to come tell me its normal??? xxx? Im sorry, but a brand new car does NOT make strange noises in the 20-30mph range). I come to find out a week later, others are now experiencing this same issue and VW continues to "blow it off" as Normal? I think vw has a major issue going on and they dont want to admit it at this point. 6 year warranty or not, driving aound and when your family asks you what they strange noise is I just shrug it off... Embarassed to have purchased this car. I will be going thru VW channels to return this car and get Refunded... AVOID the 2019 VW's w/ 8 speed transmissions. Check out vwvortex web site.. Many folks on there now voicing their concerns over this future recall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Car falling apart with only 300 miles on it

by Maxster from New York, NY on Thu Jul 19 2018

Crap! Barely had the car for a week when issues arise with the manual transmission . After a another week I took it into the dealership, and it was there they confirmed that they had another new 2019 (manual transmission also) that is experiencing the same issue, so I suspect that it might be a wide spread factory defect, but too little data and too soon to tell.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

300miles and 2019 Jetta making drivers side noise

by Unsatifiedjettabuyer2019 from Missouri on Mon Jul 23 2018

I was excited to get a new 2019 Jetta. Sadly at only 275miles it started making a noise on the drivers side of the vehicle, at 350miles I took it to the dealership, they looked at it, told me they couldn?t get to it and I would have to bring it back, but safety wise it is safe to drive. At 425 miles I took the car back to them, they?ve had it for a week and haven?t even touched it, they are suppose to start today on it. I haven?t even made a first payment and it?s been sitting at the dealership for a week and who knows how long after they find the problem to fix it. I?m not happy with my purchase at all. I actually don?t even want the car anymore, I can?t even drive it. There?s a video I found online posted yesterday 7/22 of the same noise my car is making. I don?t know when I will get my car back or if it?s actually fixable but I know I can?t drive it because the noise is annoying and I feel unsafe in the vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5