2012 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volkswagen Passat

$4,782 - $13,374  MSRP Range
2012 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

134 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 134 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Clean and well maintained

by Tom L from Des Moines, IA on Wed May 10 2017

Excellent shape. Looks new. Full detail inside and out including engine. new tires battery wiper blades. Large interior space and trunk. Carpeted floor mats brand new and never been used. Also has all weather floor mats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the $

by Timjim85 from Hudson, wi on Sun Jul 23 2017

No problems with this car. Currently 103,000 miles and I get 31.5 mpg. Would recommend this vehicle to anyone. Haven't kept up on service other than that oil change every 10,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car for the $$$

by hughrlong from Lexington on Mon Nov 27 2017

The car has great body style. Roomy sedan. Huge trunk. Classy combination of style and performance. I bought the car for my wife to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I've owned.

by qhay15 from Lansing MI on Wed Jun 06 2018

This car has met all the things I had wanted, roomy and comfy. This car drives very well and offers all the gadgets of a high-end car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good investment

by Graham Martin from on Wed May 03 2017

Worth the investment and holds value. Had one long ago and they are still great. Daughter loves the sporty look and feel of car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great on gas mileage. Very reliable car. Sporty!

by JB from Crystal lake il on Thu May 04 2017

Fun car to drive, very reliable. Great on gas mileage. Sporty sedan. No issues runs and drives perfect. Hands-free phone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car purchase and I love it.

by JackieA from Delanco, NJ on Wed Feb 21 2018

The car was a perfect fit for me and had everything I was looking for. It drive so smooth and everything was very clean. I’m very happy with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spacious interior, great exterior, and excellent .

by CD CAR from Canoga Park on Sat Apr 21 2018

You can’t go wrong with German cars. I had drove Mercedes, BMW and VW is equally great! I had this car for over 6 years .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very dependable

by Soxvikeshabs6ers from Alburgh, VT on Sun May 07 2017

I have been driving my Passat for 5+ years, 80 mi/day. The only things I have put into it are routine brakes and tires. 30-35 mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the TDI engine

by Passatguy from Short Hills on Wed Aug 16 2017

Awesome combination of value, TDI engine performance, fuel economy, Teutonic design, interior space, and a huge trunk!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Volkswagen Passat

For many car shoppers, price is king — so it’s no wonder the prior-generation Volkswagen Passat, a 2010 model that started at $27,195, didn’t have much of a chance against family sedans from Honda, Toyota and others that cost thousands less.

Now, however, its chances are much better.

The redesigned 2012 Passat combines the driving dynamics and interior quality that VW fans expect with the roominess, comfort and value that the wider public demands.

The 2012 Passat has been designed specifically for the American market, and it starts at $19,995 — squarely in the heart of the midsize segment. Expect it at dealerships nationwide by the fall.

Offered in three trim levels — S, SE... Read More