2012 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volkswagen Passat

$4,782 - $13,374  MSRP Range
2012 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

134 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 134 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2012 VW Passat 2.5 5Cyl

by Timjim85 from Hudson, WI on Sun Feb 17 2019

This car is a great runner. Very low maintenance. I opted out of VW suggested services every 10,000 miles and have not had a problem. If I didn’t need a truck I would not be selling this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Hal from on Mon Jan 23 2012

I have driven my Pasat TDI for about a month now. Overall average mileage as displayed by the computer is in the low 40's. All driving is local in hilly country. Can't wait to take a trip. The TDI is almost as comfortable as The Enclave I traded in. I had a 99 Bettle Diesel that was not close to this car in fit and finish and thou lighter and smaller It was not as efficient and not nearly as much fun to drive. VW wlill sell as many TDIs as they can build. My wife used to make me drive most of the time. Not now: darn it.'

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, safe family car

by Gabs from Orlando, fl on Mon Jan 29 2018

Love this car. Very reliable, very nice for the price. Extremely comfortable, makes a great family car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fuel efficient car

by Penny from Louisville, KY on Tue Jul 24 2012

I am averaging 36 mpg city and 44 mpg hwy, wanted a full size car and great fuel mileage and the TDI Passat delivers just that!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I only drive a VW

by The VW Chick from Tampa, FL on Fri Nov 17 2017

The Passat is like a larger luxury Jetta. If you love the Jetta but like a bigger, roomier car with class, the Passat is the car for you! I challenge you to test drive one. You will be in love the same way I was.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by stayloose2 from philly on Mon Feb 20 2012

Very happy with choice!!Smooth ride with good feel for the road.Sticky tires wet/dry,very good!Only thing don't like is the gas pedal to close to brake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2.5 litre 5 cylinder not very powerful

by six time Volkswagen owner from Aurora, Colorado on Sun Feb 02 2020

I purchased this Passat shortly after they came out. When they put the turbo motor in about a year later it became a much better car. Other than being down on power it has been a great vehicle. In 50,000 miles I have never had to add a drop of oil other than the regular oil changes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Randy from Chicago, IL on Thu Feb 16 2012

The car is by far the best car seen very reliable and overall looks great. I would buy this car at a 30,000 price its so worth the money. Now I may sound crazy but its a very good buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like this diesel

by Like to drive from Evanston, IL, next to Chicago on Wed Mar 06 2013

We have the Passat TDI SE with a 6-speed manual. With the low-end torque of the diesel engine, a suspension that absorbs the bumps well while still providing good road feel, and the 110-inch wheelbase, I find it both nimble and comfortable to drive. The manual shift makes it even more fun to drive, especially on country and mountain roads. We average about 36 or 37 mpg overall in warm weather, a little less in winter. In steady driving without much stop and go, mpg quickly gets up to 43 or more; on a long trip we hit 50. Frankly I wish the car had better front-back weight balance like pricier German cars, but it's still far better to drive than other high-mpg cars I've driven. And for the mpg and sticker price, I'll take this over pricier cars. After a year and 16,000 miles, we've had no mechanical problems. I also like the understated classic look of the Passat; it doesn't need the flashy lines that dress up other sedans.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car for this value!

by lazizjon555 from on Sun Jan 26 2014

This car has all features that you need and the quality dost it say for itself. If you compare this car with the brands like toyota, honda, hyundai this one beats all of them. The price is great and performance and quality lasts longer than any of these!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Volkswagen Passat

For many car shoppers, price is king — so it’s no wonder the prior-generation Volkswagen Passat, a 2010 model that started at $27,195, didn’t have much of a chance against family sedans from Honda, Toyota and others that cost thousands less.

Now, however, its chances are much better.

The redesigned 2012 Passat combines the driving dynamics and interior quality that VW fans expect with the roominess, comfort and value that the wider public demands.

The 2012 Passat has been designed specifically for the American market, and it starts at $19,995 — squarely in the heart of the midsize segment. Expect it at dealerships nationwide by the fall.

Offered in three trim levels — S, SE... Read More