2012 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volkswagen Passat

$4,782 - $13,374  MSRP Range
2012 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

134 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 134 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great value!

by Passat lover from Monument, CO on Fri Oct 21 2011

WE have owned several VWs through the years. Last year we got a Jetta TDI SportWagon for my wife who puts 20K + miles on in a year. Tha car is amazing. Stylish, fun to drive and great on gas. When the time came to replace my 8 year old Touareg I considered another Jetta but it was hard for my to move down to that size after years in an SUV. I saw the 2010 Passot on the lot and took it for a drive. It was noticably roomier than the Jetta and even the Touarg. The TDI model is insanely fun to drive and easy on gas. At 27,000 for a well-equipped TDI it is a huge bargain next to others in its class. Some of this economy comes from using cheaper plastics and 'leatherette' seating instead of leather. These saacrifices do not impact the overall feel of the car or its build quality. To be honest I was hesitant to buy a car assembled in the US after years of garbage rolling off the lines in Detroit. As far as I can tell the build quality and precision are very much there. I hope VW can keep it up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a lot of car

by Rocko from Portland OR on Fri Oct 14 2011

I recently had a chance to dive this car and the Toyota Camry and I could tell the difference the Toyota was just that or what I expected the VW Passat is now made in the USA and to be honest it scared me because I thought they may have lowered some standards because of the American buyer well that was not the case this car is solid not tinny like the Camry and with the right options it handles well and has more room for drive and passanger.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Car not comfortable, lousey gas milage

by Mck from Florida on Tue Nov 06 2012

Purchased the 2012, previously owned a Volvo. Passat has the most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat on. The navigation system does not work correctly sends you to the wrong place. Also not good on gas milage the Volvo was batter. I will be trading this in 2013.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It has 130,000 miles and my dash lights are lit up

by Ann vw cc I like from Osyka ms on Mon Sep 09 2019

This vehicle is for a woman the man has to stretch to get inside when inside it's okay like I said it's a woman's car she loves it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

great value for the money

by Clayzillaaa from cedar grove, wi on Sat May 30 2020

sleek styling, great gas mileage, good performance. Bought with hail damage so it had low miles but works just fine. The hail dents are barely noticeable due to the white color.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!

by Keysdude61 from Orlando Fl on Tue Jul 31 2012

Not going to go into detail. But if you are looking to buy a mid-size sedan, then this is the one for you. Car looks great and drives smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Vivian Ellis from CA on Mon Jul 03 2017

This car is amazing I love driving this car you should rent buy and borrow this car driven very smoothly and very luxurious inside and outside everyone will love this car even singles even families all your friends will like and love this car you receive many compliments

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

5 th passat

by Passat5speed from Ann Arbor MI on Sat May 13 2017

Love 5 on the floor All used cars This on 95,000 miles This one has timing chain instead of belt One red one blue one grey one black so far

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best designed car I have had love evrything.

by SaiRivera from Newton on Sat Jul 22 2017

This car has many features, from multi disk changer to Bluetooth. 2.5 liter is awesome great torque and horsepower.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car purchase and I love it.

by JackieA from Delanco, NJ on Wed Feb 21 2018

The car was a perfect fit for me and had everything I was looking for. It drive so smooth and everything was very clean. I’m very happy with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Volkswagen Passat

For many car shoppers, price is king — so it’s no wonder the prior-generation Volkswagen Passat, a 2010 model that started at $27,195, didn’t have much of a chance against family sedans from Honda, Toyota and others that cost thousands less.

Now, however, its chances are much better.

The redesigned 2012 Passat combines the driving dynamics and interior quality that VW fans expect with the roominess, comfort and value that the wider public demands.

The 2012 Passat has been designed specifically for the American market, and it starts at $19,995 — squarely in the heart of the midsize segment. Expect it at dealerships nationwide by the fall.

Offered in three trim levels — S, SE... Read More