2017 Touareg

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Touareg

$49,495 - $60,195  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Touareg

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 Volkswagen Touareg?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great SUV

by whitey from 14120 on Wed Jul 12 2017

Super road trip vehicle, had a ML350 prior this one is quieter than the MB, have the Wolfsburg edition lots of stuff. A head turner not many on the road , not your typical soccer team mover, rugged looking but rides like luxury-sport Suv. Just wish it had 20 more horses but I say that about most vehicles I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great "poor mans" Porsche

by Ex-Audi owner from Arlington on Sun Jun 18 2017

Great ride, great features unique in a lot of ways. Not a zillion of these in the road. I would recommend this car to anyone who knows German engoneering

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An excellent SUV

by BamaJoe from Atlanta Ga. on Wed Jan 24 2018

My wife had a 9 year old BMW X5 Diesel and the car was fine but the insides of the car (interior) was falling apart around her so we went car shopping. We looked at all the usual stuff. New Audi Q5, Mercedes GLE, BMW X5. Her only requirements were white and it had to have AC seats. We drove all the cars and we thought the Toureg drove the best. It had the tightest steering as its the only one of the 3 that is still hydraulic vs. electronic therefore it was tighter. Not as tight as her old BMW but the best of the 3. The car drives great, handles fine for a SUV, is a good size and has all the technology on it. We got the Executive edition therefore it has AC and heated seats, heated steering wheel, and all the new technology such as blind spot, camera's, etc. If I had to have one beef it would be the gas mileage. Just okay, and not very good. 17 in town and 23 on the highway. None of them get great mileage but the VW might be the worst of the 3. All the other cars equally equipped where $60-$70K. This car is $62K but they are selling new one's for $50K and slightly used ones (still 2017) for $40K. You just can't beat this car for the price. Now will it last 9 years like the BMW, who know, we will see, but so far so good. By buying a 2017 with a few miles on it, its just a lot of car for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Practical yet Sporty

by CorinneRooster from CA on Mon Apr 30 2018

I am downsizing from a larger SUV but the Tourareg wolfburg will still perform similarly for lesser price yet not compromising style and quality of performance if at all. And is sporty looking~

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Understated luxury w BIG towing capacity

by Tekehouse from Palm Harbor on Sat Aug 12 2017

I enjoy driving the Touareg. It is comfortable, has plenty of power (6 cylinder) and it is very fast/responsive. It has 7200 lb.s of towing & STOPPING capacity (compared to 5,500 lb.s for most pickups. This is the second Touareg I have owned over the last 14 years and the 2017 model has been MUCH refined. I will probably own a 3rd one in the coming years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Touareg

by Mr. Gray from San Francisco on Mon Oct 09 2017

A great car for the money. I've owned the Cayenne and V8 Touareg. This is the perfect car for me. The tech is very functional, but not a lot of bells like my fully loaded A6, but that's great. I had a ton of issues on the A6. This is just a well build car this is understated and under appreciated. Some said the power is lacking, but i haven't had any issues with power - it's plenty for me. Great car guys.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VW Touareg

by Joe from King George, Va on Wed May 17 2017

I've had the car 2 weeks. On a trip to Shenandoah through hills it got 20mpg. Seems reasonable to me for a car with ~1K miles. I find it comfortable with enough leg and shoulder room. I live on a dirt road so it's easy to try 4wd it goes in easily while moving. It's my first car with an automatic transmission so I still miss the clutch, but I use the 8 speed auto to slow down on steep hills.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Safe and nice exterior

by VW_J from NY on Wed Oct 11 2017

Pros: This car has really safe characteristics, multiple airbags and a large curb weight. It has a large panorama roof, which is really amazing. Cons: Not a fast acceleration car; no remote start system; relative low MPG

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car!

by Martha J from Columbia, SC on Tue Jan 09 2018

Wonderful safety features, as well as perks. Rides beautifully, easy handling....did I say gorgeous car?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really liked the car

by Txdesigner from Austin on Tue Mar 13 2018

I really considered buying this car but pricing was too high for a car that was being discontinued It had everything that I was looking for size safety equipment interior space

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2