McDonald Mazda South

2.4
(327 reviews)
Visit McDonald Mazda South
Sales hours:
Service hours:
View all hours
Sales Service
Monday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Tuesday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Wednesday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Thursday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Friday 8:30am–7:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Saturday 8:30am–7:00pm 8:00am–5:00pm
Sunday Closed Closed
2017 state dealer award View 2 awards
2017 state dealer award
2017 consumer dealer award

Contact seller

Contact seller

By clicking here, you authorize Cars.com and its sellers/partners to contact you by text/calls which may include marketing and be by autodialer. Calls may be prerecorded. You also agree to our Privacy Notice. Consent is not required to purchase goods/services.

We value your privacy. Cars.com Privacy Notice

New (720) 778-3435 (720) 778-3435
Used (720) 778-3500 (720) 778-3500
Service (720) 778-3473 (720) 778-3473

Inventory

See all 401 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on Cars.com since August 2022.
At McDonald Mazda South we'll work hard to show you why we are the right choice. We hope to earn your trust and establish a life-long connection with you through our transparency and ensuring that you understand every aspect of the negotiations and just how simple we can make your buying experience. We pride ourselves on doing the right thing which is why our dealership has been built around core values such as honesty community involvement and exceptional customer service. We believe it's our responsibility to restore and maintain that confidence by doing what's right.
A Premium Experience At The Price You Want

Service center

Phone number (720) 778-3473

Service hours

Monday
7:00am–6:00pm
Tuesday
7:00am–6:00pm
Wednesday
7:00am–6:00pm
Thursday
7:00am–6:00pm
Friday
7:00am–6:00pm
Saturday
8:00am–5:00pm
Sunday
Closed

Reviews

2.4
(327 reviews)

A dealership's rating is based on all of their reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.

Want to share your experience with this dealership?

Write a review
1.0

Beware of McDonald Mazda Broadway!

Beware of McDonald Mazda Broadway! Bought a CPO Mazda from McDonald. Car needed warranty work on a defective shark fin antenna so I brought it in for them to look at. I gave explicit directions for them not to try and push or pull on it. Service advisor Phoenix took over my car and had to bring it down to their collision center. He wouldn’t let me take it down. When I received the car back he said I need an appointment with collision center for them to take my headliner down to not crease it. Also noted to him that they did in fact mess with my antenna as there was now a slight dent in my roof around it. He noted this with their service manager Adam. I get home and what do I find…they in fact already creased my headliner. I called collision center to make an appointment multiple times and never received a call back to schedule. I called Phoenix and Adam and they said it’s now out of their hands and the collision centers problem to fix. No one has returned my calls as they know they screwed up and are hoping I just stop trying…. I went to Groove Mazda on Arapahoe. They were the most caring and professional service department ever. Took care of my antenna under warranty without question in under an hour. They will be my go to dealership from now on. I even asked them to replace the dealership plates to theirs as I await my new plates!!! I will be reporting McDonald to USA Mazda and the Dealership licensing board/commissioner. They have the most inexperienced and immature staff there, don’t take responsibility when they screw up and don’t care. Beware everyone! This ain’t the first I’ve heard of complaints about them. Just wish I knew before I went there. Hope I can spread some awareness amongst the Denver community here.

1.0

Beware of McDonald Mazda Broadway!

Beware of McDonald Mazda Broadway! Bought a CPO Mazda from McDonald. Car needed warranty work on a defective shark fin antenna so I brought it in for them to look at. I gave explicit directions for them not to try and push or pull on it. Service advisor Phoenix took over my car and had to bring it down to their collision center. He wouldn’t let me take it down. When I received the car back he said I need an appointment with collision center for them to take my headliner down to not crease it. Also noted to him that they did in fact mess with my antenna as there was now a slight dent in my roof around it. He noted this with their service manager Adam. I get home and what do I find…they in fact already creased my headliner. I called collision center to make an appointment multiple times and never received a call back to schedule. I called Phoenix and Adam and they said it’s now out of their hands and the collision centers problem to fix. No one has returned my calls as they know they screwed up and are hoping I just stop trying…. I went to Groove Mazda on Arapahoe. They were the most caring and professional service department ever. Took care of my antenna under warranty without question in under an hour. They will be my go to dealership from now on. I even asked them to replace the dealership plates to theirs as I await my new plates!!! I will be reporting McDonald to USA Mazda and the Dealership licensing board/commissioner. They have the most inexperienced and immature staff there, don’t take responsibility when they screw up and don’t care. Beware everyone! This ain’t the first I’ve heard of complaints about them. Just wish I knew before I went there. Hope I can spread some awareness amongst the Denver community here.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Dealer response

I'm truly sorry to read about your experience. It's important for us that our customers feel heard and cared for, so it's disappointing to learn you were left with a different impression. We understand how frustrating the situation must be, especially with a lack of communication, and I would like an opportunity to discuss this further with you in order to find a resolution. Please reach out at your earliest convenience. Thank you, David Paraday - Platform Manager

Show full review
1.0

We purchased a Mazda Cerified vehicle from McDonald Mazda

We purchased a Mazda Cerified vehicle from McDonald Mazda in July, 2023. The vehicle was experiencing acceleration issues, which we were told was due to the transmission adaptive learning. After 6 months, the adaptive learning failed to adjust to the new owner/driver. So, a ‘re-flash’ was required to correct the issue. Although there was still 6 months remaining with the 12 month Mazda certification. We were told that Mazda doesn’t cover software updates under the 12 mo. Mazda certification. When I pointed out that a re-flash would indicate a failure, not an update, both the service advisor and manager refused to consider the issue was due to failure. We were forced to pay to correct the issue as neither McDonald Mazda (who performed the vehicle certification) or Mazda USA would honor the repair under their warranty. Buyer beware of Mazda’s Certification warranty. In addition, when the cost to acquire new customers is great, the Service Manager (Timothy) is certainly consistent with the 2.7 DealerRater service rating he has rightfully earned.

1.0

We purchased a Mazda Cerified vehicle from McDonald Mazda

We purchased a Mazda Cerified vehicle from McDonald Mazda in July, 2023. The vehicle was experiencing acceleration issues, which we were told was due to the transmission adaptive learning. After 6 months, the adaptive learning failed to adjust to the new owner/driver. So, a ‘re-flash’ was required to correct the issue. Although there was still 6 months remaining with the 12 month Mazda certification. We were told that Mazda doesn’t cover software updates under the 12 mo. Mazda certification. When I pointed out that a re-flash would indicate a failure, not an update, both the service advisor and manager refused to consider the issue was due to failure. We were forced to pay to correct the issue as neither McDonald Mazda (who performed the vehicle certification) or Mazda USA would honor the repair under their warranty. Buyer beware of Mazda’s Certification warranty. In addition, when the cost to acquire new customers is great, the Service Manager (Timothy) is certainly consistent with the 2.7 DealerRater service rating he has rightfully earned.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Came in for service or repair
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Show full review
5.0

My sales rep was very professional and helped me get the

My sales rep was very professional and helped me get the car of my dreams. Thank you Blake for the hard work. Adam Goad, the General Sales Manager took great care of me and was incredible to work with. Will absolutely do business here again.

5.0

My sales rep was very professional and helped me get the

My sales rep was very professional and helped me get the car of my dreams. Thank you Blake for the hard work. Adam Goad, the General Sales Manager took great care of me and was incredible to work with. Will absolutely do business here again.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 5.0
  • Does recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a new car
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Dealer response

We're so glad to know that our team at McDonald Mazda South was able to help you find your dream car! Your kind words about Blake and Adam are greatly appreciated. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

Show full review
1.0

Just attempted to purchase a used vehicle that I had been

Just attempted to purchase a used vehicle that I had been assured had been mechanically inspected and fully functioning. Upon completion of the agreed upon independent inspection it was discovered that the vehicle had been in an undisclosed accident and had a number of issues that had either been overlooked during the McDonald inspection, or had been observed and undisclosed in an attempt to complete a fraudulent transaction. Upon return of the vehicle, Adam Goad the sales manager has mocked me over the phone and called me names while insisting that I am a fool for not purchasing a vehicle with a number of undisclosed issues that had been in an undisclosed accident at the previously agreed upon price. When given the opportunity to repair the vehicle, they have refused to, due to the work required to bring the vehicle up to the condition that it was presented to be in. Very disappointed in the service we have received after catching them doing something that appears to be not completely above board. Am now currently struggling to get anyone there to admit that they made a mistake and am having trouble getting my deposit and title to my trade in back. Beware...

1.0

Just attempted to purchase a used vehicle that I had been

Just attempted to purchase a used vehicle that I had been assured had been mechanically inspected and fully functioning. Upon completion of the agreed upon independent inspection it was discovered that the vehicle had been in an undisclosed accident and had a number of issues that had either been overlooked during the McDonald inspection, or had been observed and undisclosed in an attempt to complete a fraudulent transaction. Upon return of the vehicle, Adam Goad the sales manager has mocked me over the phone and called me names while insisting that I am a fool for not purchasing a vehicle with a number of undisclosed issues that had been in an undisclosed accident at the previously agreed upon price. When given the opportunity to repair the vehicle, they have refused to, due to the work required to bring the vehicle up to the condition that it was presented to be in. Very disappointed in the service we have received after catching them doing something that appears to be not completely above board. Am now currently struggling to get anyone there to admit that they made a mistake and am having trouble getting my deposit and title to my trade in back. Beware...

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Show full review
1.0

We brought our car in for a complimentary service and

We brought our car in for a complimentary service and ended up with a bill over $300. They took advantage of my son who didn't know what needed to be done and sold him on a bunch of unnecessary services. We feel like we were robbed.

1.0

We brought our car in for a complimentary service and

We brought our car in for a complimentary service and ended up with a bill over $300. They took advantage of my son who didn't know what needed to be done and sold him on a bunch of unnecessary services. We feel like we were robbed.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Came in for service or repair
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Dealer response

I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. We aim to offer fair pricing, so it's disappointing to read we've left a different impression. I assure you we do not run our business to take advantage of our customers, so I would like the chance to discuss this with you and see how I can help. Please reach out when you can. Thank you, Tim Velasquez - Service Manager - 720-513-6385

Show full review
2.0

Inconsiderate of people’s time and needs related to

Inconsiderate of people’s time and needs related to financing, registration, temporary tags, communication, appointments.

2.0

Inconsiderate of people’s time and needs related to

Inconsiderate of people’s time and needs related to financing, registration, temporary tags, communication, appointments.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 2.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Dealer response

I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We value our customers' time and needs, and it's disappointing to hear that we fell short in this regard. I would like to speak with you further about this and see what we can do to improve your rating. If you're open to it, please give me a call and we'll work on making things right. Thank you, Adam Wilson - General Sales Manager - 720-283-5108

Show full review
1.0

Worst ever

Brought my newly purchased CX9 2019 just at the end of warranty. Needed brakes checked and fix rear seat heaters. The first dealer in Aurora said brakes were fine. This dealer says need new rotors pads and fluid Chang almost 2k. Then was charged $300 to tell me this. Price twice as high as 3 reputable repair shops and none charged to see what was wrong. Refused to offer any type of discount. Total rip off!

1.0

Worst ever

Brought my newly purchased CX9 2019 just at the end of warranty. Needed brakes checked and fix rear seat heaters. The first dealer in Aurora said brakes were fine. This dealer says need new rotors pads and fluid Chang almost 2k. Then was charged $300 to tell me this. Price twice as high as 3 reputable repair shops and none charged to see what was wrong. Refused to offer any type of discount. Total rip off!

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service 1.0
  • Buying process 1.0
  • Quality of repair 1.0
  • Overall facilities 3.0
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Came in for service or repair
  • Did not make a purchase
1 person out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
Yes No
Dealer response

Laura, I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your vehicle, as I understand how frustrating this can be. We strive to deliver straightforward and communicative service and never intend to overcharge our guests. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you directly to see what more I can do to address this feedback and help clear things up. If you are willing to discuss this further, please feel free to reach out. Best, Tim Velasquez - Service Manager - 720-513-6385

Show full review
1.0

Didn't Submit My Money

DO NOT BUY FROM MCDONALD!! I just received a letter in the mail from my county CANCELLING my registration and title because these grifters took my money and didn't submit it to the county. Over 1K was paid for my county taxes and now I have to put in the legwork, threaten lawsuits, etc. due to FRAUDULENT business practices. Have purchased cars my entire life and NEVER heard of anything like this. Worse yet...my county said they have had repeated problems with McDonald not paying the taxes already paid by the customer at purchase. Sounds like a scam to me. DON'T LET IT HAPPEN TO YOU!

1.0

Didn't Submit My Money

DO NOT BUY FROM MCDONALD!! I just received a letter in the mail from my county CANCELLING my registration and title because these grifters took my money and didn't submit it to the county. Over 1K was paid for my county taxes and now I have to put in the legwork, threaten lawsuits, etc. due to FRAUDULENT business practices. Have purchased cars my entire life and NEVER heard of anything like this. Worse yet...my county said they have had repeated problems with McDonald not paying the taxes already paid by the customer at purchase. Sounds like a scam to me. DON'T LET IT HAPPEN TO YOU!

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a used car
  • Did make a purchase
1 person out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
Yes No
Dealer response

Matt - this is very concerning feedback to receive, as this is not the best-in-class service we aim to provide. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you about these concerns, as this is not how we like to run our business. Please reach out to me when you have a moment so we can discuss this. Thank you, Jacob Varshavskiy - General Manager - 720-283-5117

Show full review
1.0

If I could give zero stars I would.

If I could give zero stars I would. Took my vehicle in for a brake check. Was told it would be 2 hours max. 4 hours later with no update on my vehicle, I tried texting the service number I was given and even walked back to the service department to talk to someone face to face. I was ignored face to face and through text message. Until about 5 pm when I received a text saying “we’ll get you an update soon.” After waiting in the lobby for a total of 10 hours for the day, a service member came up to me as they’re closing saying “this is unacceptable, we’ll put you in a loaner for the night and get your car looked at first thing in the morning.” Next day rolls around I still hadn’t received an update on my vehicle until I texted them around 1 pm asking for an update. Radio silence until 3 pm when I received a text saying my vehicle was ready. When I went to pickup my vehicle they wanted to charge me $400 to get it, with no repairs or changes made to the vehicle. When I said I wouldn’t pay that for nothing done and will be writing a review about my experience. They (Tim and Dave) threatened to not release the vehicle to me if I write a review. Instead of trying to fix the situation after admitting it was their fault for me waiting around for 10 hours without any updates, they were more worried about losing money. They didn’t want to give a discount of any kind with the reason being “we’ll lose money if we give a discount.” Instead of keeping a customer they let their greed get in the way. DO NOT take your vehicle here for service. You’re better off giving your business to a local business than these greedy xxxxxxxx.

1.0

If I could give zero stars I would.

If I could give zero stars I would. Took my vehicle in for a brake check. Was told it would be 2 hours max. 4 hours later with no update on my vehicle, I tried texting the service number I was given and even walked back to the service department to talk to someone face to face. I was ignored face to face and through text message. Until about 5 pm when I received a text saying “we’ll get you an update soon.” After waiting in the lobby for a total of 10 hours for the day, a service member came up to me as they’re closing saying “this is unacceptable, we’ll put you in a loaner for the night and get your car looked at first thing in the morning.” Next day rolls around I still hadn’t received an update on my vehicle until I texted them around 1 pm asking for an update. Radio silence until 3 pm when I received a text saying my vehicle was ready. When I went to pickup my vehicle they wanted to charge me $400 to get it, with no repairs or changes made to the vehicle. When I said I wouldn’t pay that for nothing done and will be writing a review about my experience. They (Tim and Dave) threatened to not release the vehicle to me if I write a review. Instead of trying to fix the situation after admitting it was their fault for me waiting around for 10 hours without any updates, they were more worried about losing money. They didn’t want to give a discount of any kind with the reason being “we’ll lose money if we give a discount.” Instead of keeping a customer they let their greed get in the way. DO NOT take your vehicle here for service. You’re better off giving your business to a local business than these greedy xxxxxxxx.

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service 1.0
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair 1.0
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Came in for service or repair
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Dealer response

Hello, and thanks for sharing. We did make some mistakes here and we're not denying this. In fact, several members of our staff admitted to you that we made errors. What you're omitting from your review, however, is the half-hour of cursing and verbal assault our staff received from you when you arrived to retrieve your vehicle and return our loaner. We don't tolerate this kind of behavior. When we were able to have a calm conversation about the final bill, you agreed to the significantly discounted price. We never threatened to hold your car. I understand your concerns but sharing our perspective here is only fair. Thanks, and please let us know if we can do anything else to assist you. David Paraday - Service Director

Consumer response

Just cause there was cursing doesn’t mean it was directed at your staff. You definitely did threaten to hold my car. Don’t sit and say you never threatened to keep my car. It was said “we’ll hold your car for as long as we need to.”

Show full review
1.0

They are nice up until you purchase the car!

They are nice up until you purchase the car! The quations changes afterwards. I purchased a car in 2019 and added an extended warranty. A few months ago, I canceled the warranty and had to get a refund for the remaining. It's been FOUR MONTHS that I have been waiting to receive the check. So many email communications and no luck. "Valentin Chairez" is creative in coming up with excuses. Once everyone in the dealership is sick with covid. another time he receives my emails in junks folder (which is impossible). This is not a rocket science! I would strongly recommend consider another dealership!

1.0

They are nice up until you purchase the car!

They are nice up until you purchase the car! The quations changes afterwards. I purchased a car in 2019 and added an extended warranty. A few months ago, I canceled the warranty and had to get a refund for the remaining. It's been FOUR MONTHS that I have been waiting to receive the check. So many email communications and no luck. "Valentin Chairez" is creative in coming up with excuses. Once everyone in the dealership is sick with covid. another time he receives my emails in junks folder (which is impossible). This is not a rocket science! I would strongly recommend consider another dealership!

Rating breakdown (out of 5):
  • Customer service 1.0
  • Buying process
  • Quality of repair
  • Overall facilities
  • Overall experience 1.0
  • Does not recommend this dealer
  • Shopped for a new car
0 people out of 0 found this review helpful.
Show full review
See all 327 reviews