Thompson's Toyota

(18 reviews)
Sales hours: 9:00am to 7:00pm
Service hours: 8:00am to 6:00pm
View all hours
Sales Service
Monday 9:00am–7:00pm 8:00am–6:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am–7:00pm 8:00am–6:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am–7:00pm 8:00am–6:00pm
Thursday 9:00am–7:00pm 8:00am–6:00pm
Friday 9:00am–7:00pm 8:00am–6:00pm
Saturday 9:00am–6:00pm Closed
Sunday 10:00am–5:00pm Closed
(530) 622-6232 (530) 622-6232


See all 15 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on since August 2020.
Thompsons Toyota is your source for Toyota sales, parts, service and more in the Placerville area. Our goal is to provide the best possible service to our customers and make sure your car buying experience is second to none. We even have Red Carpet Delivery, if you want us to deliver your new vehicle in our enclosed trailer. Come in and get a great deal, be treated the way your want to be treated, and join our family.
"One Price - Our Best Value" Dare to Compare

Service center

Phone number (530) 622-6232

Service hours



(18 reviews)

A dealership’s rating is calculated by averaging its lifetime reviews. Includes reviews from DealerRater



we were looking for a used hybrid highlander and we found one at Placerville Toyota. it was a 2019 model with 18K miles - sounded like a great deal ! I called to ask if there was anything wrong with it, and the sales person assured me it's perfect saying 'hay, it's a 2019 model, right?', well ... We drove all the way from the east bay, about an hour and forty minutes, and when we saw the vehicle, immediately you could see some visible scratches and the dashboard had some damage... we asked if there is anything else, and they said 'no' ... but we spent the whole day driving there so we decided that we will bite the bullet and buy the vehicle... after we paid for the car, and they washed it, suddenly we realized the vehicle has multiple scratches, that weren't visible when it was dusty ... also, when we got home we saw that the back seat leather is torn ... When buying a car from Toyota dealership, i was expecting total honesty, and not hiding, or at list not sharing, the wear and tear that the car has. Btw, the person that showed us the car was very nice, but when i asked him how come you didn't mention all the wear and tear, he said that he didn't got a chance to look/inspect the car before he showed it to us... so it's totally not his fault, but who ever is inspecting vehicles before they are put out for sale - should have reported the damage (exactly how they do before/after you rent a vehicle)... Totally disappointed !! Be sure to inspect the vehicle thoroughly yourself if you plan to buy there a used vehicle !!!


Thompsons toyota in placerville

Jon Riseman and Phil Didlot sold me a car they both were great. It was a lot of fun. I would send all my friends to see them. Thank you both Donna D.


Toyota camry

Thanks john for all your help with buying our car it was very easy and everyone was great and i love my car.


Infiniti Q50 Hybrid

Found car online and negotiated price discount over the phone. Went to pick it up next day. Dealership looks like ski lodge. Absolutely beautiful. Plenty of free refreshment and free Starbucks coffe. Buying proces was very fast. I'm happy with my purchase and can recommend this guys to everybody.


Overall good, but terms did change from initial

Overall the experience was good. My only complaint is that the amount offered for my trade-in adjusted down once I was there and my interest rate adjusted up. I hate being nickeled and dimed, and I hate when terms discussed change.


5 Star Top Rate Service

I give top marks to Thompsons Toyota of Placerville. This rating is due to Mike Coppola who provided "over the top" service as the salesman by shopping the requested features ahead of time and streamlining the process when I bought my new car. I was impressed with his professionalism and expertise. I felt as though I was treated to a five star overall experience akin to shopping at a Mercedes dealership. Highly recommend anyone shopping for a Toyota ask for Mike.


LIES = Worst New Car Experience Ever

I purchased a 2014 Prius Plug-in at Thompson's because they aren't available in Colorado. I was told over the phone that I could drive it off the lot and not pay CA sales tax. When I arrived at Thompson's, I signed all the paperwork and was prepared to spend a long weekend enjoying the Sierra Nevadas. Unfortunately, as soon as the sale was over, I was told I could not take possession of the car in California and that I would have to ride (in my new car) while someone else drove it to Nevada. At that point I felt entrapped in the sale (and stranded in California). I asked if I could drive the car, but was declined due to the chauffeur not feeling comfortable. Instead, I was able to feel uncomfortable by the reckless, aggressive driving up the mountains to Lake Tahoe that ultimately left me feeling sick.. I was concerned about breaking in the car properly and when I expressed my concern on multiple occasions, I was told "There isn't a break in period on new cars". After all of this, the driver took a personal call on their cell without bluetooth for over 5 minutes. Sick, frustrated and concerned all within the first 70 miles of the new car experience. Once I returned home, I was surprised to see there IS a break in procedure explicitly detailed in the manual. All of the recommended procedures were broken in the first drive up to Tahoe by the Thompson's employee even after I had asked for them to drive the car gently. I called Thompson's immediately and they said all I needed to do was get an oil change. I then escalated this issue to Toyota Corp. who told me that someone from Thompson's would reach out to me with 48 hours. It has been a week now and I have not been contacted. This dealership will promise you the world.. until the sale is completed. Pay the extra 100-500 dollars at a reputable dealer. I would not advise anyone to do business with Thompson's.


Horrible Service

Last month I went into Thompson's Toyota to look at a new SUV. I was told that Sunday when I went in, that I was approved, but to come back on Monday so that they could call Toyota Financial Services to see if they could get me a better rate (since I have a Corolla through TFS). When I went back on Monday morning, the sales people and finance manager I had worked with the day before were not in. I ended up dealing with the finance manager, Shannon, who didn't bother calling TFS, and told me that I didn't qualify and that it would be a waste of everyone's time for him to call. Shannon didn't bother running anything for me because I "flat out couldn't qualify" for what I wanted. So I went straight down to Folsom Lake Toyota, who all were very friendly and guess what? I was qualified no problem, got a better interest rate than Thompson's had said they were going to "try" and get me, and I ended up with a more loaded version of the same model for a better price than Thompson's. When I went back to Thompson's to get my paperwork back (pay stubs, proof of residence, etc.), I showed up in my new SUV from Folsom Lake and I told them how they qualified me no problem and how big of a jerk (in more or less of terms) that Shannon was, and they're only response was that "there's a 10 day right of rescission" and that "I'll end up having to take the car back". Well it's been over a month now, made payments already, spoke to the lender and there's no rescission and we're extremely happy with our new car and the service and price we were able to get at Folsom Lake Toyota over the horrible experience from Thompson's.

Dealer response

We are sorry that we were unable to help you with your new vehicle purchase. We try to find a solution for all credit situations, but sometimes we don't have the exact resources available for a particular vehicle and a particular customer. We are happy that you were able to get what you wanted. We have spoken to our finance manager about his interaction with you, and will try to ensure that type of misunderstanding doesn't happen in the future.


Great Service

We purchased our first Prius from Thompsons in 2007 and we are on our second one at the moment and have had every scheduled service done at Thompsons even though we have to drive 50 mi each way to get it done. Attentive to every detail, prompt, courteous and knowledgeable defines their Service dept. AND, they provide all the comfort food necessary to make your wait even more enjoyable. We are a customer for life.


No More Dread

My wife and I usually dread buying cars for all the usual reasons. Not only was this experience not dreadful it was actually enjoyable. Our salesman, Ajita Sherer, was very helpful to us in the process of making our selection without all of the usual high pressure sales tactics I associate with car sales. Ajita was assisted by Kyle Sherer who was also a pleasure to work with. When the Sales Manager, Ryan Turner, introduced himself I thought, "Here it comes, it's time for the whole sit and wait game." but it didn't happen. He was genuinely friendly, honest and to the point. When the time came to sign the papers, the Finance Manager, Shannon Burke, was likewise a pleasure to work with and explained the paperwork in a way that made it clear and easy to understand. While we were waiting for the truck to be washed, we were invited to meet with the Jim Batten, the Service Advisor, and again he was very friendly and explained clearly what the service package that came with our new truck included. This was, without a doubt, the most pleasant and enjoyable car buying experience my wife and I have ever had and we would both happily recommend Thompson Toyota to anyone.

Read all 18 reviews