2008 TL

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura TL

$3,322 - $12,850  MSRP Range
2008 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Acura Man from Chicago, IL on Wed Apr 29 2009

Bought the 2008 TL a week ago. Handles well and has a great stero system! Gas milage in the city I am getting 20.56mpg. Best car for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

NEW TL

by TL DRIVER from COLULMBIA SC on Mon Aug 13 2012

I LOVE THE 08 TL THAT I GOT. ITS HAS ALL THE FEATURES ON THE BASE MODEL THAT YOU WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR EXTRA ON BMW'S OR MERCEDES. IT CAN BE DRIVEN LIKE A LUXURY CAR OR LIKE A SPORTS CAR! THE ONLY THING I WOULD SAY IS THAT THE WAY IT DOWN SHIFTS GEARS IS WEIRD BUT IT DOWN SHIFTS HARD AS IF YOU WAS DRIVEN A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. IT TAKES SOME GETTING USED TO.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Liable

by Officialg from Elmwood Park, NJ on Tue May 29 2018

Meets and exceeds expectations. Can't say enough about this car and the road trips and the way it handles in the snow. Great car, must have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second one better than the first!

by n/a from Louisville, ky on Tue Nov 22 2011

Yet another great little unit; first one was an '04. The TL is a combination of luxury and practicality. Great gas mileage, yet engine spicier than most when called upon. A fun drive and with regular maintenance has the typical Honda reliability. Yes I will buy another when this one is done......

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the TL

by BigFan from on Sun May 25 2014

Best car I have ever owned! This is my second TL...and I really have never had any problems. Comfort, style, speed, MPG, etc. Just wonderful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best Car In The World

by Sport Sedan from Needham MA on Sun Apr 08 2012

The TL is one of the best cars around. It has a very comfortable cabin with a good exterior and interior. Have had some minor dents but it is a excellent car with my years with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

They make the best cars

by Acura lover from Madison, WI on Thu Jul 08 2010

I've only owned it a few days and you have to be careful with low entrances, but you are driving a sports car. Handling, performance, and options are all beyond expectations. I plan to own this car for a very long time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

PIECE OF JUNK CAR!!! BEWARE!

by FL car driver from Orlando, FL on Tue May 29 2012

I purchased my Used 2008 Certified Acura TL with only 28,000 miles on it from an authroized dealer in Alabama with extended warranty. The car just hit 44,000 and now its having electrical problems! Its currently on its second battery. This car was the "dream car" I wanted, after school this is all I wanted to buy but its been the biggest regret of my life. The car I previouslly owned a 2003 Honda Accord same thing, same dumb techs telling me they don't know whats wrong with it because sometimes it starts and sometimes it doesn't. However this TL just want start at all once it has a new battery its drained a day or two later, the stupid techs tried to blame it on the navigation system.... that I don't have because they didn't even bother to look inside the car. I hate hate hate this car I need a car thats reliable something that starts when you get in it! I hope that someone reads this and finds this useful, its a problem that has been happening for awhile read the Acura forums that talk about the dead battery mystery. My first car was an Acura, I've only owned Acura and Honda but I will never ever pay money for one again!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by JoViDi from Woodbury, NJ on Fri Dec 14 2012

Had my 2008 Acura TL for almost 5 years and enjoyed it considerably. Fun to drive with great pick-up on the turbo charged engine. Virtually, trouble free for 5 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

stiff,not comfortable,wide turning circle

by Mike from chicago on Tue Aug 25 2009

I've had it,and sold it very soon. Reasons are: 1.Car is too stiff for sedan, 2. steering wheel kindda high,gets your shoulder painful on a highway ride, 3. smallish trunk,but no biggie,and the worst thing is 4. so,so,so wide turning circle. Got me so many times stuck,and people honking horns behind me,and that would be the main reason why i sold it. Other then that car is very reliable.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 47 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2008 Acura TL


The 2008 Acura TL Type-S didn’t rock my world. I was really expecting sparks to fly, but I’m a few weeks away from giving birth and probably a bit crabby, which undoubtedly affects my worldview. While the car performed relatively well, there were too many things that disqualified it from being my perfect mommy-mobile. In short, the TL was fine, but not fabulous.

I drove the TL Type-S to Crested Butte, Colo., for the Fourth of July weekend, and my trip fell short in some respects, too. I know I sound implacable, so please don’t get me wrong – I’m not that hard to please. But I like things the way I like them, so when they’re not that way, I don’t like them... Read More