2008 TL

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura TL

$3,322 - $12,850  MSRP Range
2008 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome. Sad but true. Needed a pick up.

by OB Won from Mattituck, NY on Sun May 07 2017

The 2008 Acura TL continues to impress me everytime I get in it. A minor issue with the bluetooth draining the battery after the car was shut off, which should have been a recall but Acura refused to address it. That's about the only problem I can recall and an easy fix. Smooth, fast, great handling, comfortable ride. At 170K this car is just getting warmed up!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Once you own one nothing else compares!!

by SNAFU from Houma, LA on Tue May 23 2017

I have owned 2, an '06 and an '08, and by far still my favorite car hands down. They changed the bodystyle in '09 which I dont care for, but the '08 model will hands down surpass all your expectations. The comfort, style, and dependability cant be beat. It holds its value and is exceptionally priced for such a great car. Buy best of all is the drive.... Fast, responsive, smooth, comfortable, great sound system, and very safe! Nothing will ever compare I promise.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car if you have to deal with weather

by Prefer RWD from CHicago, IL on Mon Jan 23 2012

I'm a big RWD sports car guy, I bought the TL-Type S because I needed a car in Chicago that would be minimal effort in the snow without having to swap tires twice a year. So far so good. the car has decent power, has enough tech to feel like I'm driving a new car, and has a timeless design. The only downside is FWD...which definately shows up in acceleration...particularly around corners. A good set of sticky tires helps with that though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

wanted one for years

by joezub from Chicago on Mon Jan 09 2012

couldn't afford new so bought used with a few miles... runs and handles like new. 30 mpg with plenty of horses. sweet styling, solid feel and its a Honda product... great combination.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Premium quality at an affordable price

by livestrong from Texas on Mon Feb 20 2012

I just purchased a 2008 Acura TL and am so happy with my purchase. I have driven a Honda Pilot for 11 years and with the kids growing up didn't need all that space any more. I planned on buying a Honda Accord but after test driving an Acura, there was no going back! It looks and drives so sporty for a sedan plus the basic package comes nicely equipped with leather interior, sun roof and a great sounding audio system. I look forward to driving it every day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Buy

by Adam from Santa Monica, California on Fri Mar 28 2008

To me, this is not near-luxury. It is luxury. The car, itself, seems to be in a funny triangular-rectangle shape. but that kind of makes it look more sportyish. another great thing is that mine has navigation inside it. along with black leather seats and trim, the interior is ok. it is not that comfortable, and could use a little bit of finishing touches. overall, i would prefer this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun, high quality, too many gadgets

by gary from rural Washington state on Sat Feb 02 2008

I spent months researching and driving the competition. Have owned 2 other Acuras of old vintage and am sold on their durability. This car is so fun to drive and extremely comfortable. The power and speed is quite deceptive as the car is so quiet. The gadgetry is too high tech and offers too much that it's operation may be too complicated. Exterior styling is modest(to my liking). I hope the reliability is up to expectations!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car i had in a while .

by Kunta befin tefley from Manchester ct on Wed Sep 13 2017

It is a very good veichle it ran for me for almost 3 years then the transmission went . But hey atleast it lasted through the winters. I would definetly buy it again if I seen one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but the best

by Dylly1 from Elizabeth, New Jersey on Mon Sep 18 2017

Excellent performance and handling.. 2008 Acura TL type s. Acura makes the best cars, I can't wait to own the 2008 Acura TL type s with gray exterior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED!

by THE MAN WHO HAS EVERYTHING from GREENWICH, CT on Sun Aug 12 2007

ACURA RULES! THIS CAR IS AWESOME. I BOUGHT IT AS MY 3RD CAR AND IT IS SO SMART. THE VOICE-RECOGNITION IS GREAT! IT IS A VERY SMART, GREAT-LOOKING VEHICLE. I COMPARED IT TO THE BMW 3-SERIES, LEXUS ES, AND INFINITY G37 AND THE ACURA TL/TL-S IS MUCH BETTER WITH FRONT/REAR ROOM, PERFORMANE, PRICE AND STANDARD EQUIPMENT. THE STANDARD EQUIPMENT ON THE ACURA IS UNBELIEVABLE. YOU GET SO MUCH THAT THESE OTHER MODELS LIST AS OPTIONAL. GREAT CAR!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2008 Acura TL


The 2008 Acura TL Type-S didn’t rock my world. I was really expecting sparks to fly, but I’m a few weeks away from giving birth and probably a bit crabby, which undoubtedly affects my worldview. While the car performed relatively well, there were too many things that disqualified it from being my perfect mommy-mobile. In short, the TL was fine, but not fabulous.

I drove the TL Type-S to Crested Butte, Colo., for the Fourth of July weekend, and my trip fell short in some respects, too. I know I sound implacable, so please don’t get me wrong – I’m not that hard to please. But I like things the way I like them, so when they’re not that way, I don’t like them... Read More