Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 TLX

Consumer Reviews

2018 Acura TLX

$33,000 - $45,750  MSRP Range
2018 Acura TLX

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

64 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Acura TLX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 64 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Decently sporty family car

by ndtinker from Jackson, TN on Fri Jun 08 2018

I didn't intend to buy this car when I first saw it but my wife said we should take a look when we were looking at a newer MDX (she has a 2011) for her. As soon as I sat in it, I was in trouble. The seat felt perfect, the visibility was great, the controls are laid out in easy reach and it just felt right. It actually felt just like a lower to the ground MDX in a way; very familiar but surrounded by new car smell. On the test drive, I didn't want to stop. It has a surprisingly good engine sound and plenty of power. No real exhaust note to speak of from outside though. The AWD system I'm familiar with from the MDX and it's superb and I have had to use it in deep snow and ice and it was amazing. The dual screen setup takes some getting used to but once you know where things are, it's easy. It's nice to be able to use the nav on one screen and keep your stereo controls on the other. I would like the fan speed controls on a physical button but it works well enough on the screen. The nav so far has worked well but I do miss the current speed limit signs on my old trusty standalone GPS. The stereo is decent. It gets plenty loud without distortion but it's not as clear as I would like. It sounds of course much better with a CD or high bitrate MP3 from a flash drive than SiruisXM, but I think I can live with it without feeling like I have to go get replacement speakers right away. The red interior "love lights" my wife calls them look awesome and are not intrusive at all. Bluetooth phone pairing, calling, phone book searching and saving speed dial numbers is easy and works well. In between the tach and speedo is a little screen with lots of info. You can see your next turn from the nav, see real time usage of the AWD system, average MPG, average speed, etc. It's really handy. The headlights are excellent (and look awesome), the seat/mirror memory controls are great, the edgeless rearview mirror is beautiful. Huge, huge trunk - although the trunk light was a joke and I replaced it with an LED and I'm not sure why it isn't one to begin with since all the other lights in the car are. There's more room under the trunk floor too, some to house the air pump/goop thing but the rest is a deep pocket and a couple other shallower wells. Inside the trunk also has a nice little handle where you can close the trunk without having to get fingerprints all over the nice shiny paint. The adaptive cruise control works great with the ability to choose how close/far from the car in front of you to follow. The lane keep works way better than expected and will actually drive around corners with your hands off the wheel until it starts barking at you to take back hold of the wheel. It has a nice gentle nudge when you start drifting off. I didn't think I would like that but I really do. It can be turned off with one button though if you don't want it. The cruise is also nice as it can be adjusted up and down in 1 MPH increments digitally. It also has a proper cancel button that I always have preferred over having to tap the brakes to disengage. The transmission selector is strange and takes a little getting used to. After this first week I have it down without having to look at it every time. The different "Dynamic" modes are noticeably different. Eco really does get a few MPG better and doesn't feel like it takes too much performance away. The sport mode is nice and the best overall sporty mode, the sport + really brings out the raw power but it's pretty twitchy and the paddle shifters work..sort of. The outside mirrors need a convex mirror stuck on to help visibility but are ok otherwise and I really like the black accent color on the bottom of them. The capless gas door is an interesting addition and the door doesn't seem to want to shut 100%, it gets to 98% and the rest kinda pokes out. Not worth that design change to me, just put a normal cap and make it close right. The door unlocking is cool, just place your hand on the inside of the door handle and it will unlock. Press the button on the handle to lock it. Very intuitive and quick. The real reason for getting this car is the back seat. My kids are getting bigger and were cooking in the summer heat in my old car that didn't have rear air. These seats easily hold a full size car seat on one side and a booster seat on the other, while still offering a middle seat you can actually sit in. Good leg room behind both passenger and driver seats and I'm 6'2". Overall I'm really happy with the car so far. While the car is bigger than I had before, it's not evident while driving it, only when parking, particularly in my narrow single garage bays at home. I'm getting better at it with practice though. I really recommend people giving this car a serious look. It really caught me by surprise.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura TLX

by Tim from Charlotte, NC on Sun Oct 14 2018

Very nice ride, quiet. Excellent amenities and conveniences and also other things that I enjoyed very much. If the Homelink was easier to program I would be happier, but other than that, a good car.,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Our New 2018 ACURA TLX Advance SH-AWD

by RanchrFL from Bradenton, FL on Fri Jul 07 2017

We simply love our new redesigned TLX. It looks great and performs better than we expected. Before deciding on the New TLX, I tried the new Alpha Giulia and the Infinity Q50. The TLX is far quieter, performs comparably and more comfortable ride. If you are looking for a new vehicle in this class, be sure you try the 2018 TLX you won't be sorry.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My second TLX and won't be my last

by StacyH from Venice, FL on Sun Jul 08 2018

What more can I saw about Acura other than...AMAZING! I have the 2018 6 cylinder with Tech and adore it! Love that it has a bit of fire to it and it's red to boot :) I had a 2015 and the tech has definitely improved. The handling is so smooth and what an overall joy it is to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So fun to drive!

by chustohol from Texarkana, AR on Mon Sep 11 2017

I love my car! I was worried about trading a SUV for a car, but I am enjoying it so much. It has a very spacious trunk, and a spacious interior. The features are very impressive and I love the interior and exterior styling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

TLX A-Spec -- A Bargain Luxury Sport Sedan

by Daniel from AZ on Sun Jul 16 2017

Acura has made significant improvements to the TLX for 2018. The A-Spec package in particular adds styling and handling improvements that really make the sedan standout from a appearance and driving perspective. The interior has a really cool red led piping, the alcantara suede is luxurious, gripping, and doesnt burn you after sitting in the summer heat. The driver assistance tech will steer in the lane, brake when it detects a car or in front of you, and even hold the brakes at a red light. And when you want to be in control, turn it off, put the dynamic mode in sport plus... and you'll own the road. The only criticism I have is that quality control from the factory is lacking. The door on the passenger line is significantly misaligned and ruins the clean lines of the car. I hope to get to the dealer for an adjustment soon.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

everything electronics is poorly thought out

by Camplou from NH on Tue Jun 19 2018

I came out of the last 10 years in BMWs and find this car to be a miss mosh of electronics that are poorly executed. No knob to manually tune the radio, a radio and climate control screen that is washed out in all daytime conditions, A GPS system that is off by about 200 feet when announcing locations, and always late, so you drive past your turn only to hear the turn directions a few seconds later. My iPhone has the location pegged within 5 feet. If you did not choose to raise the window or fold the mirrors in before you shut down, you have to restart the car to do that. But I save the worst for last. This car has an engine start stop mode that is mandatory in all but the Sport + mode, and that mode is a horrible mismatch of engine revs and shift points, making it all but unusable. In order to override this function, you must press a button located near the center armrest every time you start the car. If you don't, even if you come to a stop for a brief second, such as at a stop sign, or perhaps when inching your way into tight parking spaces, the engine stops. Acura defends this by saying it is to save fuel. They also equip this car with a remote engine starter so you can run the car to heat it up or cool it off while going nowhere. Saving fuel my xxx! Its a lousy design and they say they will not change it, so this is my first and last Acura.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2018 TLX nice new look from a great brand

by Acura Fan from North Carolina on Mon Aug 28 2017

This is my third Acura...Just upgraded from a 2008 TL for a new 2018 TLX and wow what an uplift. The ride is much smoother, quieter, the look is a nice change with no ugly looking grin the 2009 had. I like the roominess with ease getting in and out. Acceleration is fast and responsive. I have the 3.5 with Technology package. Lots of new gadgets to get used to, but I like the suite so far. Pairing to my phone was very easy and is automatic. When closing the doors they have a nice feel of a more upscale car. The rear view camera and blind spot sensors are handy. The new push button transmission is easy once you've driven a few times. I have the Crystal Black with Tan interior which to me has a richer look compared to the Pearl White one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2018 Test Drive.

by D.W. from Vernon, CT on Thu Sep 07 2017

I test drove the 2018 TLX V6 SH-AWD Advance. The car was quite comfortable, quiet, had plenty of power. Lots of safety features and telematics. The 9-speed automatic shifted smoothly and the car handled quite well. I drove in normal mode, then switched to sport mode, then later to Sport + mode and the differences were noticeable. I like the new front end and the rear tail dual exhaust tips. The interior is nice, and I would advise getting Leather seats instead of fake leather. I didn't get a chance to check out the ELS Audio system but I will on my return visit. A car has to have Premium Audio Sound in order to perk my interests. My Biggest dislikes were the dashboard and the Aluminum trim. I felt the dash should have had more luxurious materials that would have accentuated a style of Class, and something other than the aluminum trim around the console as it makes the car look cheap.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2018 Acura TLX Technology Package

by Kentjax from Florida on Sun Oct 01 2017

An adult sandbox of fun and excitement. Fun to drive and extremely safe thanks to the engineering. A little road noise, great creature comforts and its a techies heaven. Great bang for the buck. No complaints.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Acura TLX

The verdict:

Refreshed for 2018, the Acura TLX sedan remains a strong value choice in a large class.

Versus the competition:

Luxury sedan shoppers with a $40,000 budget have enough choices to fill a Cheesecake Factory menu, and though the TLX can’t go blow-for-blow against the best of them for performance or quality, it thumps most of them in value.

Now in the fourth model year of its current generation, the 2018 TLX gets a slew of visual updates and a reworked multimedia system. Drivetrains carry over, with a four-cylinder or V-6 engine available with front-wheel drive. All-wheel drive can also be had with the V-6, as can an A-Spec performance package — a $2,900 option that's new for 2018. We drove a V-6 TLX AWD in regular and A-Spec form at a Kentucky media preview (Cars.com pays for its travel and lodging for such automaker-held events).

Quickish

The TLX's engines — a 2.4-liter four-cylinder and 3.5-liter V-6 — boast direct injection but not the turbochargers that are ubiquitous among competing sports sedans... Read More