2019 TLX

Consumer Reviews

2019 Acura TLX

$22,897 - $48,521  MSRP Range
2019 Acura TLX

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

51 Reviews
76% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Acura TLX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, powerful, feature rich

by Clandso from Walnut Creek, CA on Thu May 09 2019

I’ve had a few Acuras, some purchased and some leased. This one is a lease and I plan on keeping it. It is gorgeous and roomy. It has great features, but most important, it has the reliability I depend on. I love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value for your money!

by Joe Joe from Montreal, Quebec on Thu Mar 14 2019

Affordable, reliable, all wheel drive 290 hp engine is very smooth. It has as many features as the more expensive cars. Styling is subtle yet attractive. Good Value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Bad transmission and slow responding navigation.

by sunilsaxena from Schaumburg, IL on Thu Aug 29 2019

Looks are fine, but there are serious transmission issues with TLX-6 cylinder. I fell for A-spec package, but not much about that. Adaptive cruise control is not of much use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Reliable & fun to drive

by TLXOwner from Boca Raton, FL on Sun May 19 2019

Being in the automotive business I drive many cars types, sizes, etc. this car is great. Comfortable & easy to drive. Many safety & convenience attributes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOst Comfortable and Reliable Car I have ever had!

by ChicaGO from IL on Tue Mar 10 2020

This car offers a great value for the money. All the features that come standard, limited slip differential eliminates torque steering completely. Dual Clutch Transmission is super smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Value for Money, reliable car.

by joe from Montréal on Thu Jul 16 2020

I have always liked Honda products. This car meets my needs in terms of comfort/power balance. Styling is very nice but the interior is a little drab.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third Car in this line

by JLD from Rochester, NY on Wed Mar 20 2019

comfortable, roomy, zippy, love the apple play, love the lane assist, brake assist, all the new features in this car makes it feel very safe

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very nice but sometimes does not drive smooth

by Mike7118 from New Jersey on Tue Dec 04 2018

My 3.5L with SH-AWD is comfortable, looks very nice, and has a powerful engine. The 2-screen infotainment system is excellent. ELS system great. However, the ride can be very frustrating in that the transmission sometimes is slow to shift, and sometimes seems to be shifting for no reason. Not a quality ride. This mainly happens when starting from a stand still or going slow speeds, or when up and down low elevations. Car does not exhibit this awkward behavior on the highway. It's excellent and powerful on the highway. So my advice is to test drive this in traffic and under slow conditions. Otherwise, really like the car - it's really an excellent car other than these drive train issues. Overall because of drive train issues wish I did not buy the car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Acura Selling Cars With Bad Transmissions.

by Josh from Maryland from Annapolis, MD on Sat Mar 09 2019

I can't begin to tell you how disappointing my 2019 TLX V6 is. It's my 5th Acura and definitely my last as the transmission is AWFUL. It shifts really, really hard and Honda Corporate refuses to take any responsibility. Even my dealership Service Manager said the transmission was shifting hard but two software updates hasn't improved it. I remember when Acura was known for quality but they've really fallen behind Lexus, Audi, Volvo and Infiniti. Heck I'd rather buy a top trim Honda or even a Kia before I'd consider buying another Acura. My wife is right we should have purchased a Lexus. Don't be fooled thinking Acura is an entry level luxury brand. It's not and they treat their customers poorly!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Bought on Wednesday, needed new trans on Sunday...

by Punisher from NJ on Tue Feb 19 2019

Well we bought our 2019 TLX v6 tech on Wednesday and by Saturday we noticed a bad leak and the trans was behaving very weird. Called salesperson on Sunday and we had to have it towed back to dealer where on Monday they said they had to replace the trans. BRAND NEW CAR needed a new trans after 3 days on the road. The embarrassment of bringing home a nice new car then having a flatbread come take it away by the weekend is annoying. The only reason we bought new instead of a preowned was to avoid problems...funny. Should’ve stayed w Lexus...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2019 Acura TLX

The verdict:

Refreshed for 2018, the Acura TLX sedan remains a strong value choice in a large class.

 

Versus the competition:

Luxury sedan shoppers with a $40,000 budget have enough choices to fill a Cheesecake Factory menu, and though the TLX can’t go blow-for-blow against the best of them for performance or quality, it thumps most of them in value.

 

Now in the fourth model year of its current generation, the 2018 TLX gets a slew of visual updates and a reworked multimedia system. Drivetrains carry over, with a four-cylinder or V-6 engine available with front-wheel drive. All-wheel drive can also be had with the V-6, as can an A-Spec performance package — a $2,900 option that’s new for 2018. We drove a V-6 TLX AWD in regular and A-Spec form at a Kentucky media preview (Cars.com pays for its travel and lodging for such automaker-held events).

Quickish

The TLX’s engines — a 2.4-liter four-cylinder and 3.5-liter V-6 — boast direct injection but not the turbochargers that are ubiquitous among competing sports sedans. We’ve driven the... Read More