2000 323

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW 323

$1,832 - $5,464  MSRP Range
2000 BMW 323

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

58 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW 323?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 58 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Would still be driving it today...

by JWS from Tallahassee, FL on Sun Jul 26 2009

This car was my faithful companion for six years. I acquired it in early 2003 with very low mileage and then drove it regularly through the following six years until it was destroyed in a freak accident (tree fell on it during a storm). By the end, I was very satisfied with it for what it was, and would still be driving it today had fate not intervened. Fuel economy could be considered fairly good, even today, though power is somewhat underwhelming. Nevertheless, the engine is smooth and responsive, and I never felt as though the car truly wanted for power as a daily driver (you will have much better results with the five speed manual transmission). The sport suspension is ideal, as the standard suspension is too soft for extremely aggressive driving. The car was essentially reliable, though there were a few (typically minor) issues here and there. The manual transmission is much more durable than the automatic, particularly as the car ages. I also recommend overhauling the engine's cooling system (water pump, expansion tank, thermostat) before the car reaches 100,000 miles. The styling is conventionally handsome, inside and out - if perhaps a bit dated today. Though some might find it spartan and under-appointed, I'm one who appreciates the purposeful interior, particularly the driver-oriented ergonomics. Some of the controls are not particularly intuitive (if only because they differ so much from the norm), but make plenty of sense once you're accustomed to them. One final issue to note: early (1999-2001) base model (323/325) 3 series cars like these are not usually well appointed in terms of gadgets/features/interior amenities. Drive-centric items like four wheel disc brakes, electronic stability control and ABS are standard, as well as a few other niceties (one touch power windows). However, don't be surprised to find a car that lacks items such as map lights, seat-back storage nets, auto-dimming mirrors, auto-sensing wipers or headlights, or even cruise control. A good number don't have CD players, either. If you're willing to overlook this, you can expect to get a nice looking, fuel efficient car that's cheap to insure and a lot fun to drive. Just make sure the car you're buying has a well documented history, stay on top of maintenance, and you'll be fine. Good luck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

56 out of 57 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by 323CI-TB from Washington DC on Tue Dec 28 2010

I own a 323ci with 82000 miles. It's one of the best cars I own and driven. Even though the car is under-powered compared to other vehicles, it sure doesn't feel like it. The interior is very nice and simple. Buttons, gadgets, etc, are easily spread out and accessible. The exterior is very nice and up to date. BMWs def. hold their value in the looks department. The ride is extremely comfortable but since the car sits low, you might hear some road noise. As expected the maintenance is expensive even though it's a 10 year old car. Brakes are about $900-1100 dollars. It doesn't matter where you bring it the cost will remain the same. Thermostate replacement cost about $500 dollars because BMW always recommend to replace all the components instead of one. It hurts to go to the mechanic but I know it needs to be done at whatever price, since I electively purchased a BMW. Overall, Great car! I also have a new Mercedes C-Class (wifes) but I still prefer the BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

sweet Ride

by Jerry from Ocean City Maryland on Mon Oct 18 2010

My BMW is now a decade old and everything about it was at or above average except for the automatic transmission.Reverse went up at about 100k and believe me I am a gentle driver. I would not recommend the BMW to anyone who didn't live within 30 miles of their dealership because even though I made my dealership aware of the problem they were not close enough to follow up and as a result I wound up out of warranty and with a new transmission. These Automobiles are wonderful but I believe living close to your dealership is a must.My next car will not be a BMW.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

323 Conv

by luv my bmw! from Atlanta, GA on Mon Sep 10 2012

E46 conv. BMW's most reliable series IS the 3 series. I've had mine since ordering it in 2000 and still love it! Top still works and looks great. Exterior is awesome, especially if you keep waxed. Interior is fine, just a bit tight in the rear if you are over 6'. I just replaced it with a 3 series b/c my kids want this one! Minimal problems if you maintain them. Oil changes every 5-7k really helps, don't rely on claims of 15k; not worth taking the chance. Still runs like a top! Best recommendation is that I would do it all over again and wouldn't think twice!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best value for the money

by test driver w/o fear from Rocky Mts on Sat Aug 24 2013

Equipped with the right options (i.e. black interior, dark wood grain, leather, steptronic trans, ect.) It is a very classy machine. Not light on the luxury at all. Split folding rear seats. Very smooth accelerating, Excellent turning radius. And even bone stock, the steering wheel is rock solid all the way up at 140mph. To me, that alone speaks volumes for build quality. A few simple upgrades (i.e. polyurethane LCA bushings, wider wheels, lower profile performance tires and they handle so beautifully (rwd!). In my opinion this is where the car really shines and I dont see how it could really be matched for the money. Especially for those who choose to stay with the soft factory suspension. Somewhat pricey to maintain though, so get one from a good home. And don't trust a dealership further than you can throw them! Support your local independent mechanics or you will pay.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car

by 2000 BMW Lover from New Jersey on Thu Feb 14 2008

This 2000 BMW is the best car I have owned. It has over 105,000 miles on it. The engine is so powerful and rides like a dream. I never had a problem with it. I just had an overall check on this BMW and it is in perfect condition. For an 8 year old car it is fantastic. I am not going to sell it as it still looks new and drives new. If you have a chance to buy one, you must!! You will almost always when you go to sell it get a very good price for it. You won't be sorry. Test drive it and you will see.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great overall car

by Lad181 from Ganado, Texas on Fri Jun 28 2013

This car was purchased for our daughter. It offered great handling, great MPG ( around 28) in a small size. The car offered leather, power windows, locks and sunroof. These are things important to kids. At the same time it offered things mom and dad want too. Great handling, fuel efficient, and a great reputation for a quality car. Our daughter is very pleased with it and so are we. We highly recommend this car for first timers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car. Expensive to maintain.

by Beemowner from San Diego on Sun Apr 29 2007

This is my second BMW and even though my car has low mileage and is under warranty, I've had a couple of unscheduled repairs and pricey scdeduled maintenance issues that have made me think twice about replacing this car with another BMW. For instance: a battery replacement cost me $500 through the dealer. There are more items like this that are not covered under warranty but still catch you a little off gaurd if you're prepared for the experience of owning a premium performance automobile. Overall this car is the best handling wagon I've ever driven, and is very easy to maneuver around town with a nice balance of power and fuel economy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great second car to own!

by Dre from Bristol, CT on Mon Sep 29 2014

Older automobile upholding stylish look, great performance, and reliability. If well maintained, this car upholds it's value and it's a true classic design before the 03' light modifications. And of course, it will always be a BMW!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved the Car

by Former BMW Owner from Michigan on Tue Nov 01 2011

Loved the car. 180,000 troublefree miles over 12 years. Fun to drive, responsive with quick steering. Base 6 cylander stick shift was all I needed. Car was totalled in a hail storm so I had to go looking. Over the 12 years I'd put on weight and gone on Social Security. Not being as spry as I once was getting in and out became an issue. Looked at the new 535 but why buy a BMW if you need an automatic transmission. It's like putting a race horse in front of a plow. Plus the price was simply too high. I could afford it but couldn't bring myself to do it. Wound up with a year old 2011 certified in warranty M37 that was $14,000 off list. It's not my little beemer but it's powerful, throaty and a pleasure to drive. Harder than a Lexus but softer than a 535.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2000 BMW 323

Remember those little Beemers of the early-to-mid-’80s: They were petite boxes on wheels that became a status symbol for those just on the cusp of making it in the halcyon days of Reaganomics?

I always viewed them as BMW’s not-very-good answer to the surge of Saab and the endurance of Volvo. They weren’t really an enthusiast’s car but were more a rig built for those who wanted to at least play the enthusiast when pulling up for valet parking.

Thankfully, they evolved. Got more powerful. Got better engines. Stayed boxy until recently, but nevertheless became better cars. Cars even an enthusiast could appreciate.

So now comes the 323Ci, in a new generation that is... Read More