2000 323

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW 323

$1,832 - $5,464  MSRP Range
2000 BMW 323

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

58 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW 323?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 58 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car but some electrical bugs- 4.5 avg rating

by VIDs Black 323Ci from Dallas, TX on Mon Jul 26 2010

Im original owner of an aug 99 build date 323Ci coupe. After all the years its still a joy to drive. Handling is great. Sport seats are great. Looks great too - even though close to 11 yrs old! I bought mine in Germany under military sales. brought here and took it back to germany for 5 years. Drove it all over western europe. Now it sits mostly in the garage as i work from home mostly. Then comes the reliability issues. Rubber door edges came off, sunroof interiors broke, constantly has engine light on - probably due to VANOS. Watch for those and get them fixed or have them fix before you buy. Other than that the car should be great and the engine is solid!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Do not buy this year

by LC from Seattle, WA on Mon Jan 28 2008

I love BMWs and would recommend them to anyone, however this year on the 3 series there are some horrible defects. One is the Interior trim and the second the rear Sub-Frame tears out of the body of the car due to the sheet metal holding it up is not strong enough to support the weight. I believe there is a class action law suit going on right now. When I get my next BMW which will be an M3 I will but 03 and up. they re-designed the whole support system for the rear subframe.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 BMW 323 E46

by BIMMER from EL PASO TEXAS on Wed Jun 11 2014

I JUST GOT ONE BLACK ON BLACK. I BOUGHT IT WITH 105000 MILES. FROM THE SECOND OWNER. THEY EACH HAD IT FOR 6 YEARS. OWNER JUST CAME TO FORT BLISS FROM CALIFORNIA. IM A BARBER ON BASE. ITS IN EXCELLENT CONDITIONS. I GOT IT FOR 3000. CLEAN TITLE FROM CALIFORNIA. IT HAD CALIFORNIA PLATES AND A 2013 MARINE PERMIT. I SPEND 300 ON THE TITLE EXCHANGE AND TEXAS PLATES AND INSPECTION STICKER. CLEAN EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR. EVERYTHING IS STOCK. IT HAD OEM REPLACEMENT PARTS. ORIGINAL RIMS WITH GOODYEAR TIRES AND SPARE WITH TOOLS. NOTHING IS MISSING OR BROKEN. IT HAD 4 DEALIRSHIP MANUALS. I ONLY DID A TUNE UP. AUTOZONE OIL, FRAM OIL FILTER, AIR FILTER, CABIN FILTER. AUTOLITE SPARK PLUGS AND WIRESET. I DID IT BECAUSE IT HASNT BEEN MOVE FOR 6 MONTHS. THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. OWNER BOUGHT A BMW X3 6 MONTHS AGO.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not quite the ultimate driving machine

by Mark's Beemer from Washington, NJ on Fri Feb 23 2018

Many other reviews knocked the 323i, however, my experience differs. The car is performing well for having 172k miles. The ride is stiff and the handling is below average for a BMW. Pick-up is poor considering it's a 6 cylinder, 2.5 liter engine. Gas mileage is better than expected at 26 HWY, 22 CITY. Overall, for the money I paid (3000), the car has been just average and not the ultimate driving machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

another foreign car

by lboog from Gary, IN on Mon May 28 2012

i just bought my BMW 3 months ago and im already wanting to buy another one...i know where to look at now...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Dissapointed

by sports car entuhusiast from Dallas, Texas on Sun Dec 16 2012

I went and test drove this car because I wanted to purchase it. I was pleased at the inside and outside of this car. When I took it for a spin, got to the first red light I began to smell oil sitting at the light but, when driving there was no smell. When I returned to the dealer smoke was coming inside the car and from under the hood. The dealer revealed that this car was purchased at an auction and had a oil leak somewhere under the motor. If it had not smoked I would not have known it was a lemon!.....Buyer Beware

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BummerBeauty

by CarMan4537 from Missouri on Thu Jun 22 2017

So this vehicle is a nice car to own if it is in good running condition, this car has a get up & go for when u wanna put your foot in it; but be careful. You don't want to have any thing break down, cause once something breaks down it is a big pain & hassle getting it fixed... So it starts out minor and then evolves into sumthing major, do your research and make sure you know what your buying.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by boone from Michigan on Sat Sep 18 2010

Alomost 100,000 miles with almost no problems. Still handles and rides great. I plan on having this car for 20 years, just like my last BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Value...

by Curtis B from Gilbert, AZ on Wed Mar 07 2007

Bought the 323iT used in 2004 with very low mileage, now has about 60k. Very reliable; one window regulator needed replacing. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants a great handling car with great gas mileage and plenty of room!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Salesman2 from Freeport il on Fri Jun 22 2018

German ingenuity at its best . If not BMW I’d buy a Benz . Greatest cars in the world. I’ve owned many in my lifetime.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2000 BMW 323

Remember those little Beemers of the early-to-mid-’80s: They were petite boxes on wheels that became a status symbol for those just on the cusp of making it in the halcyon days of Reaganomics?

I always viewed them as BMW’s not-very-good answer to the surge of Saab and the endurance of Volvo. They weren’t really an enthusiast’s car but were more a rig built for those who wanted to at least play the enthusiast when pulling up for valet parking.

Thankfully, they evolved. Got more powerful. Got better engines. Stayed boxy until recently, but nevertheless became better cars. Cars even an enthusiast could appreciate.

So now comes the 323Ci, in a new generation that is... Read More