2006 Aveo

Consumer Reviews

2006 Chevrolet Aveo

$2,095 - $5,043  MSRP Range
2006 Chevrolet Aveo

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

28 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Chevrolet Aveo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by Icepick7P from Galion, Ohio on Mon Jul 27 2009

I bought my Aveo used in 2006 it had 22,000 miles on it. Had the same shaking problem but i found out that a front wheel had been bent from a possible pothole. Had a new throttle body installed but it was covered by Chevy. When you put new break pads on use ceramic type they work great on this little car. Also do not forget to change out timing belt at 60,000 miles. Have almost 80,000 on this little car and I love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Off to a great beginning

by Da Yiman from Norman, OK on Sat Aug 12 2006

I have been driving this vehicle for a few months now. I'm about to go on a very long road trip (24 hours), so I'm sure I'll have more to report after that. For now, I've taken it on several short road trips (2 hours highway driving), and I still love it. I fell in love with it at the dealership for it's aesthetic appeal. It's small, but as a sub-compact goes, it does feel QUITE roomy on the inside. I'm a nanny, and with 3 kids in the back, one in a carseat, they have never complained about room. It takes turns and exit ramps very well, even at higher speeds. It's very quiet most of the time, though at speeds over 70, it can get noisy. It does not accelerate quickly when already moving (pretty good from a dead stop), but it's a 4-cylinder subcompact. That is to be expected, however, and it's not pain-stakingly slow or anything. Sometimes if it's windy on the highway, it can feel like it's being pushed around a bit. Keep a firm hand though, and you'll be fine. What has been SO much fun though, is that it's so small, I can zip in and out of holes during rush hour to make it just a bit easier, which infuriates other drivers in their huge, and horribly fuel-inefficient SUVs. This just makes my day every time. Overall, love this car. It has only been a few months, though, so I'll report back if she gives me any surprises.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car for people on a budget

by Esmith from San Jose, CA on Sun Sep 02 2012

The 2006 Chevy Aveo is a good car for your money.No recalls on these vehicles and has more power than a lot of 4 cylinder cars. The down sides are gear shift is to wide and on all the Chevy Aveo's it is recomened to replace timing belt at 60,000 miles as there have been reports of early timing belt failure which could damage the engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by carlover from Nashville TN on Wed May 14 2008

Have put nearly 50k on my used Aveo this is my comuter car and i love to drive great fuel economy and handle pretty good for such affordable car. great reliablity. it runs smooth at 65mph. This is the type of car if you service the car regularly it will reward you with very few problem. only dislike is the radio and sound system could use an upgrade.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GOOD VALUE

by ADIRONDACKER from NEW YORK on Wed Sep 13 2006

Bought one in Tucson, drove it back to NY over 10000 ft mt passes, no problem. Surprisingly comfortable on long trips, (especially @ fillup time 33mpg@ 75-80+) drove to Fla. Ga. & back via Deals gap this august also. Using my GM card earnings & discounts made this car a great value. Cruise control, ac. remote lock& alarm standard on the hatchbackl I purchased.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love m car

by kint from keller, tx on Fri Dec 14 2012

I live my chevy.its my first car I got it used.I use it to commute to work and school and I travel roughly 12 mi one way.a gull tank last me a week and a half.very reliable, fuel efficient.I am in love with car.I have had it for 2 months now.will see how it goes

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PJ

by PJ from Panama City, FL on Sat Jun 17 2006

A fun car to drive. Automatic tranny shifts fine. I'm 6' and have no seating or height problems. Cannot be beat for the price. Mine is an LS model 5 door,yellow and I put chrome wheels on it, a great eye catcher.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Snazzy and Dapper

by Daddy O from Montgomery ,illinois on Mon Oct 30 2006

2006 AVEO LS with 20,000 miles...Commuting with economy and a bit of pizazz. Driving 78 (r/t) miles into (out of) Chicago from the west suburbs is not fun. The safety features are dynamic. Family trip with two choldren under five is awesome. The kids sit high and can view out of all windows. Leg room upfront is exceptional...unless you have a 38 inch inseam.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I just got this car, i love drive it.

by Wanda from NORTH BEND on Sun Dec 30 2018

This car is a blast to dive it's compact and has allot of room, it is really good for going on Windy roads I really love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Sporty Car Guy from Seattle on Wed Jun 21 2006

Great car. Love the way that it handles and this car surely will go. I bought it for my mom and she loves it. It is a great car for the value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3