2020 Bolt EV

Consumer Reviews

2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV

$18,994 - $42,054  MSRP Range
2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

25 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great road visibility. Awesome acceleration.

by NealR from North Babylon, BY on Tue Jan 28 2020

The performance is exhilarating and it's perfectly quiet at all times since it's electric. It has extra large windows and great visibility. It has the fast charge option and long range per charge. Although it's a small vehicle they made very intelligent use of space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid commuting car - all electric

by Hockeydad900 from La Canada, CA on Thu Aug 06 2020

This is my second Chevy Bolt. I leased the first one for 3 years then bought a new one. The model has not changed significantly since it was introduced. It is all electric and very solid. The battery has held up well and the electric motor is maintenance free. The body and accessories have all held up well. Interior is quite roomy (i am tall and have trouble fitting in many cars).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best and most affordable EV made.

by Kevin from Albertville, MN on Fri Feb 14 2020

This is the car I've dreamed of. The fun electric driving experience, all manner of great gadgets. Looks good, nice colors. Works great with apple car play. The seat could be a little softer I guess, adaptive cruise control would be a plus, but those are just tiny complaints. It has a powerful heater, heated seats, and fully heated steering wheel. Running all of them still gives you 200 miles of range to play with. This is a great EV for a cold climate. Not everyone lives in California. Really could not be happier with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You should check it out... love our Bolt!

by Tmsimmons56 from Woodland, Ca on Thu Jan 23 2020

Awesome car... EV, no gas, no oil changes... I have solar, charge at home. Comfortable, small on the outside, roomie on the inside.?heated seats, leather, heated steering wheel. Great get up and go, handles great. Check them out!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The EV experience is better than I expected

by A Happy Camper from southampton, ny on Mon Feb 10 2020

Instant pickup... has a european handing -- you feel the road, easy to recharge... great mileage when using the "low" gear to recharge the battery with the "gas" pedal... the hatchback feels bigger than it is... viewing the road is fantastic... the price is substantially discounted... more than $12,000 off the retail price... was a "no brainer" decision to buy...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for money but only for lease.

by RVArya from Gaithersburg MD on Wed Feb 05 2020

Good performance. Lots of road and wind noise. Poor sound insulation. Jittery ride. You will every bumps on the road. Seat is 1-2 inches small in every dimension.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best EV for the price

by CMCD from San Antonio TX on Fri Apr 17 2020

So far so good. We just got the car at the start of Covid-19 so haven’t done any real distance. But we really like the handling and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm finally plugged in!

by Goannie from Bloomfield Hills on Sun Sep 27 2020

I went electric with the Bolt! I love it! Top three features of the Bolt (1) It is electric (2) Fun to drive (3) The one-pedal drive feature. The interior and exterior are sporty and beautifully done!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

From the Volt to the Bolt!

by David V from Omaha, NE on Fri Oct 16 2020

After 5 happy years with our Gen 1 Volt and glowing reviews from a friend who bought the first Bolt in our state (an early '17 with 95k trouble-free miles), we couldn't resist the incentives to buy a new '20 Bolt LT-drove the $40,150-stickered car off the lot for under 28k with no trade. My wife chose it to replace her Civic - we're keeping the Volt. I'm 6' 3" and 190 pounds and find the seats comfortable, but if I were any broader of beam the seatbacks might be too tight. My petite, slim wife loves it, and prefers the driving position to the Volt. Great visibility all around, the bright, airy cabin seems huge given the car's exterior dimensions. Back seat room is impressive, I have plenty of leg and headroom. Drop the back seat and the hatch offers impressive cargo space. We love the way it drives. Comes with a charge cord for L1 charging at home, you don't need to install an L2 charger right away, or ever if you don't drive longer distances frequently. (You can charge at 8 or 12 amps L1, 12 amps adds about 5 miles charge per hour.) Note that DC Fast Charging capability is an option, if you plan to take road trips or need faster charging times make sure the Bolt you choose has it. The Driver Confidence packages (there are 2) are awesome, and work very well. I have collision avoidance on the Volt and one dark, rainy evening it saved a pedestrian's life. So far we are averaging over 4 miles per kWh, which is about the best our Volt can do. If you are considering an EV, go to your Chevy dealer and test-drive one. Prepare to be impressed. (Note that most dealers don't care much for them, they require almost zero maintenance - just tire rotations and cabin filter change. Lots of money saved over the life of the car. The Chevy Bolt is proof that EVs are now mainstream. We couldn't imagine going back to a conventional gas car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around EV

by #1EVFAN from Perkasie, PA on Sun Feb 09 2020

This is my 2nd three year lease of the Bolt I love it overall. Great performance. Low to no maintenance. Some features I would like to see added would be semi-autonomous options and all wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3