1996 S-10

Consumer Reviews

1996 Chevrolet S-10

$408 - $8,396  MSRP Range
1996 Chevrolet S-10

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Chevrolet S-10?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best vehicles I've owned

by S-10 #1 from Cloquet, MN on Mon Feb 22 2010

I've had two S-10 pickups in recent years (1991 & 1996) Got the 91 with 39K on it and sold it with 177K and regretted it within a week. Got the 96, can't remember the mileage, about 5 years ago and am now at 197K+. Oyer than the normal upkeep it has been a reliable vehicle until this week. It is the process of getting a 5-speed tranny in it. my first big expense in over 150K miles. I will drive thi thing until it is nothing but the perverbial pile of rusted junk. My 91 costs were a wheel bearing, water pump, taken out by a busted fan, and a new throwout bearing.All in all both of these trucks have only set me back about $8-9 hundred bucks. I don't feel that's too much for about 287K of driving. The absolutely worst thing about the S-10 pickup is that Chevrolet QUIT MAKING IT!! BTW both of mine were/are the 4 banger and 22-28 MPG. They always got me home. Love them. Looking for another one now to sock away util the current one dies. I would recommend them to anyone.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hate to get rid of her

by Me from Auburn, NY on Tue Mar 04 2008

2wd, v6, extened cab. I was rushed into buying my s-10 but I'm glad I did. For a small truck it has plenty of room, I couldn't imagine having a truck without an extended cab. The engine gave me plenty of power and even being 2wd I have never been stuck regardless of the Central NY snow. Decent on gas: best ever 29mpg, average summer 21mpg, average winter 16mpg There are some predictable problems: rust will form on the wheel wells and under the doors (assuming you live in snowy areas), the tailgait cables will snap, coolant seals will eventually leak and there will be abs computer problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by Jonny from Hampshire, Illinois on Thu Nov 08 2007

Had a 1996 S-10 short bed/cab 2wd. Truck was lowered and sway bars added made this little pickem up into a great runner. I eclpised 250,000 miles when I sold this truck in summer 2007. 4.3L V6 was absolutley amazing-ran very strong, did not burn oil, and no problems. Only thing I had to do to the truck was change fluids and put a fuel pump in at 200,000 miles, replacing the factory one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value for money

by I like cars from Illinois on Thu Oct 04 2012

2.2 L durable needs 5 speed. 30 mpg good American truck fixes easy, body solid, Find 1 buy it & keep

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Value, small headaches!

by 2nd Owner from Des Moines, IA on Sat Jun 23 2012

I am the second owner of my 2000 S10 LS and it has just over 100,000 miles.Runs great, easy to work on and maintain. It's the cheap interior items that cause the headaches. The seat recline levers are made of cheap material and are prone to breaking. The 3rd door latch is plastic, as is the assembly inside, which is prone to breaking. Chevrolet really didn't have to skimp THAT much. Outside of these things, its a sound truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Miss This Vehicle!

by Virginia Real Estate Agent from Suffolk, VA on Thu Sep 28 2017

The S-10 was an awesome truck for Chevrolet and I wish they would bring it back w/ modern touches! The vehicle was purchased only slightly used, and was one of the easiest vehicles to personalize, as there were plenty of custom parts available for this ride! This ended up being a "show" truck and received many wonderful commentaries. The ride was comfortable, engine powerful, and was desired by many. The fact that it was a show truck that could still haul heavy bulky items was just a bonus! I highly recommend!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Chevy S10

by sdime01 from Illinois on Sat Jun 26 2010

Great truck for the money. Won't find any better!! Great truck for the money. Won't find any better!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable car I've owned

by Alr2888 from NEWPORT, ky. on Tue Jun 05 2018

Great engine and transmission Daily driver Starts and runs strong Nothing wrong mechanically Great truck for outdoors or just to get around Zr2 upgraded suspension Brand new oversized tires

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1996 Chevrolet S-10

While trying out different editions of previously tested models, we again sampled the 1996 Chevy Sportside pickup truck--this time in extended-cab version (regular cab, Cartalk, May 26).

Sportside means the rear bed was tweaked to look fashionably slim for thosewho probably will never haul 4x8 sheets of plywood in their compact pickup. The Sportside is more fun than function, though there is enough cargo room to cart a bike or two.

In driving the regular-cab model our only criticism--other than Chevy's reluctance or inability to come up with a design to place the catalytic converter flat under the passenger floorboard without a bulge that spoils passenger foot room and gives off too much... Read More