2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$3,279 - $12,003  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

52 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, mid-size truck!

by Itsaday from Belmont NH on Sun Sep 29 2019

Bought with low miles, have owned it for many years without any problems. Used it for camping & kayaking for fun adventures. Great for carrying furniture, gardening products and home maintenance materials. Four wheel drive reliability in bad weather and snowy conditions. Club cab provides extra space. Solid performer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Now we are a 2 Dodge p/u truck family

by Terri from Spring Hill on Wed Jul 10 2019

This truck meets all my needs ...all the comforts of a high class car and the versatility of a pick up truck...the best of both worlds

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck

by Jpdaemt914 from Philadelphia on Fri Dec 20 2019

I first owned a 98 Dakota and fell in love with it when it was time for a new vehicle i chose a newer Dakota because your getting a lot of truck for the money. Theres space for your family amd friends to sit comfortable and plenty of space and power to haul large items and tow small to medium trailers. Interior is straight forward with a nice sounding radio all displays nice and clear. The only thong i wiah was dofferent about MY particular truck is I wish it was a v8 with a stick. However with that being said this lottle v6 gets the job. I do everything i ised to do with my old truck in this newer one and this one does come with a v8 6 speed option which ill be sure to 'pick up' in the future so yeah i recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge has been my whole family's pick since 1978

by SuperDave from Taylors,SC on Fri Aug 25 2017

Dodge never has always met my expectations! !! This truck is no exception!!$ After driving this truck I made my mind up. I got to have it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice truck

by Brian Matzen from Manitowoc Wi on Wed Apr 26 2017

Quite clean and power descent ride and options good mpg room in the back for secure storage. I really like my 05 Dodge Dakota quad cab

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have ever owned.

by Green Valley from Laredo, TX on Wed Jan 15 2020

Very reliable truck. Have never had major problems. I am giving it to my brother. He needs a reliable vehicle. I am going to miss this truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bet truck I have owned in Years

by Albert C from Coventry Twp, OH on Wed Apr 04 2018

Very reliable, Drive it on long trips...comfortable interior for a truck, everything is in reach. Like everything about it except for the slow to warm up transmission, But that's a Dodge and if you like Dodge trucks you are used to it and accept it for what it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never owned a Dakota had a Ram 1500, but same make

by Geo from Lakewood,Co on Sat Oct 27 2018

Styling is great, looks aren't everything dependability is #1 and a Dodge is all that and more. Keep it maintained and it will last forever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still Running Strong

by Dave from St. Regis Falls, NY on Wed May 08 2019

I have had my '05 Dakota Crew Cab 4x4 V-6 for a bit over a year. I do construction and bought it from another contractor. What can I say? The truck has 265,000 miles on it and runs, hauls, and pulls like a full size truck. I have had to replace the serpentine belt, alternator, and a brake caliper on the truck. The pick-up isn't the quickest, but it isn't much slower with a piece of machinery behind it than it is empty. The truck drives and handles great. We had a mishap with a backhoe slamming into the truck and it did no damage. I can't figure out why they are not still making them. It is a great truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Dodge Dakota

by Sportsfan from Milford, ct on Sat Apr 01 2017

Just purchased a 2005 Dodge Dakota 4x4 and I am very happy with the ride and feel of my new truck. We loved our salesmen George C. Scott at Road Ready Used cars in Ansonia, Ct. We would highly recommend this dealership and George if you are looking for a truck/car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer... Read More