2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$2,839 - $11,463  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

52 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 52 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck with Club Cab and full 6ft Bed

by MarkS from Walpole, MA on Sat Apr 27 2019

Mostly used this truck for trips to Home Depot and trips around town. Plenty of room in the extended cab and 6ft bed. Great utility truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

dodge dakota

by tim2347 from chicago,il on Mon Nov 03 2014

I have 3 dakotas and wish they still made these,now its time for a new truck again and there is really nothing out there I like as much as this truck. except for normal maint. this truck has been trouble free. I bought dakotas because they gave you the most truck for the money. everything else was 1000s more amd not as good looking as this truck. (cmon dodge bring dakota back)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking and fastest truck ever!

by Fratzogs Rule! from Jacksonville, FL on Fri Jan 11 2013

My 05 Dakota is the 4.7 v8 and when I mash down on the gas it feels like I am driving a NASCAR. Chicks really dig all the space in the backseat. Gotta say without a doubt this truck is a part of my best memories. Grab life by the horns!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Aside from the gas mileage, great truck!

by auburn tiger from Waycross, GA on Fri Apr 30 2010

Love the truck. Never had a repair in 4-years. Love the look and performance has been exceptional. Just not too keen on 12 MPG in city. :(

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

HAVE OWNED IT FOR THE LAST 10 YEARS!

by RETIRED SGM on Thu Nov 02 2017

Runs like a Champ, NEVER had any problems. The interior cloth upholstery is cheap and gets dirty/ stained easily, but that's why they make seat covers. 12 years and vehicle still has original battery, belts and parts with no loss of performance. Itching to buy a new truck but can't justify it since this one has been 100% dependable and still running strong.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it !!

by BB from Baltimore,MD on Mon Mar 07 2011

Got 122k on it now. Bought it new in 05. No problem. Driven every day. Used for my business. I am a general contractor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

worth the money

by great pickup! from on Tue Mar 10 2009

I bought my 2005 Dakota brand new. It now has 65,000 miles on it. I had not one problem with it. just regular maintance and that was it. I have the slt quad cab and it's very good. The gas milage is not the best on the V8 engine, but with such great pickup. The truck was definetly worth what i paid

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

will take a hard hit

by parent from wv on Sun Jan 09 2011

my kid hit a patch of black ice and weny into the wrong lane and hit a ford explorer head on she was doing about 25 mph he was doing 55 mph it bent everthing on the truck and cracked the motor the tire was 75 ft away with 4 wheeldrive still on it the truck was completely gone she was trapped for 10 min in it but walked away with bruises on both knees and 1 on her side from the seat belt it was a 05 thats what i am going to buy her back the truck saved her life thanks dodge

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice truck

by Fishingnut from Minnesota on Tue Nov 02 2010

So far so good. A nice compromise when getting a full size truck in the garage is a problem. Bigger then the Ford or Chevy alternative with a 6' box

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The right-sized pickup

by ptschett from Fargo, ND on Wed Dec 08 2010

One of my favorite things about the Dakota is the relationship between its size and its abilities. It can do most of what a full-size can do, but in a smaller package that's easier to fit into a garage or into those downtown parking ramps; however it's not quite as small as the rest of its compact/midsize competitors and has a little more people room and box space. My pickup has the 4.7L and automatic, which work well together. I have a lead foot but still manage to get 15 MPG or better most of the time, and sometimes I get 20 on the highway. The 0-50 acceleration is more than enough but passes at 65+ MPH do take a little planning if there's a headwind. The ride is firm but better controlled and more comfortable than most pickups I've driven. While the Dakota is no sports car, it has surprising aplomb on a winding road and doesn't punish you for taking a path that isn't straight and level. While the Chrysler interiors of the later years of the Daimler era have been widely criticized for their obvious cost-cutting, I really can't complain about my pickup in this department. I find the seats comfortable for 500-mile days, the controls functional and usable even with heavy winter gloves on, and the surfaces that need to be soft-touch are soft. The A/C and heater have the classic Mopar over-capacity, with quick cooldown in summer and fast warmup in winter. At 73,000 miles I have had a few issues. My truck has needed an EGR valve, a cam position sensor and a transmission cooler line; also I've had both outer tie rod ends replaced, but those are something of a wear item.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer... Read More