2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$2,839 - $11,463  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

52 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Michigan Man from michigan on Thu Feb 09 2012

i bought this truck used about 8 months ago, and i love it. the v8 is powerful but loves to drink gas, i am averaging 15 mpg and the transmission shifts smoothly. the 4 wheel drive works good, i have not had any major problems with the truck, though i have had to replace a windshield washer fluid squirter. i have the quad cab slt version and the seats are comfortable and rear passengers have a good amount of leg room, the interior is nice and simple and the stereo system has a nice sound for a factory unit. i would recommend this truck to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Solid Truck

by JesseJJ from Colorado Springs, CO on Sun Jun 03 2018

This is almost the perfect sized truck. I do not have a need for those big monstrosities that inhibit the highways now. Wish they went back to making this size once again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2 Time Dakota Owner

by IrbyDuo from Hartsville, Trousdale County, Tennessee, United St on Thu Apr 27 2017

Best truck I have ever owned. This is my second Dakota, and it has been a reliable workhorse for me. It is comfortable for long trips and great towing capacity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not Bad

by Rusty from Denton, TX on Fri Jun 22 2012

Very minimal mechanical problems if properly taken care of; Interior is very basic but exterior looks good; good 4x4; fuel efficency is similar to larger trucks (4x4 might have something to do with that); have had more comfortable vehicles in the past

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very dependable truck

by Elmo from Dalton Georgia on Sat Feb 02 2019

I have never had any major problems with this truck. It has bee/8 a very dependable truck, and I would recommend it to anyone. I have the quad cab V/8 with a automatic transmission, and it runs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Typical Dodge

by Daylydriver from Toronto Ontario on Mon Oct 26 2009

I bought the Gold Card for the Dakota when new. I have 100,000 Km 60,000 miles. Replaced = Antisway bushings, Both front wheel bearings, Both Struts, Both lower ball joints, Both tie rod ends, The entire rack and pinion steering, Lower streering column, Upper steering column, Power steering hydraulic line, Transmission cooler lines. Differental seal, Universal joint. Yes it was under warranty. The brakes rusted out both pads and rotors. Do like the truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

should of check the reviews

by MedRock from Connecticut on Tue May 23 2017

engine and fuel consumption is not bad, but a lot of electrical issues and transfer case issues. 4x4 will go on by it self.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck for the money

by numnuts from LaCross WI on Tue Feb 07 2012

I bought this truck for my first truck at 16. I have the v6. The truck in the city gets 19.3 and and highway 24. I have had only one problem and the heater pulley went out. I have 210,000 miles and its still going. It does great pulling, and for a V6 has the power to get up and go. I do wish it had more power passing somebody. Has a very little lag. You barley notice, I love the truck. I am a ford person.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable truck that I own

by np0517 from Dallas, Texas on Sun Mar 08 2020

Its a great truck, good sound system, simple interior design, a lot of room. Great for commuting or for hauling items, the only issue that I can think of is that its a bit short.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Dakota

by jcl from Plain City Ohio on Fri Oct 21 2011

Servicable truck...affordable used. Lacks quality interior and exterior. Significant brake and suspension problems even as a gentle driver.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer... Read More