2005 Dakota

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Dakota

$2,815 - $11,459  MSRP Range
2005 Dodge Dakota

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

52 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Dakota?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 52 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to replace with a Tacoma

by peter from nova scotia canada on Fri Feb 02 2007

Nothing but problems, 50000kms(30000mile), I replaced every sway bar bushing at least once, swaybar links 2x's, door seal once, on a vehicle Ive owned for 17 months.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far I l love the dodge Dakota.

by Weebs from Port Clinton ohio on Sun Apr 08 2018

This dodge runs very well. The only thing that bugs me is, the remote enter doesn't work and the key to open the doors doesn't disengage the alarm. So if the truck is locked the alarms goes off every time, Very annoying to me and my neighbors.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

never again

by thumper from West Virgina on Sat Feb 21 2009

I have owned 3 dodge trucks.Problems with brakes from day one.After four return trips to dealer still not fixed,finally told they would not work on any more but agreed there was a problem.Contacted factory rep.,he said dodge would do nothing and it would cost me more to sue than I could fix it myself.28000 miles now,cant afford another truck.Mileage is terrible 11 to 13 miles to gallon,no more.Interior is poor Quality.Dont make my mistake!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

poor quality

by jason r from virginia on Wed May 13 2009

Owned since new, replaces, both tie rods, all sway bar bushing,ball joints,, my atv has bigger and better suspension parts! Wonder why there bankrupt?!!!Just say No to dodges!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Front brakes have locked twice in the last five yr

by JT tuck from Whites Creek Tn. 37189 on Tue Jun 02 2020

Front brakes locked up 3 times. $500 each time. The last time I just had 5800 miles on them. The truck has 79000 miles on it now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good all-around vehicle performance is not quite

by Baron from Rockledge florida on Fri Feb 28 2020

A good all-around vehicle performance is not quite right for what you need right for what you needThe exterior is nice and the VA is not as powerful as you would think

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Recall

by Save it from Modesto, CA on Fri Nov 03 2017

This vehicle has a recall on it that is not fixable with airbags. Don't buy it unless its fixed else you pay BIG!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rear doors stucked, won’t open.

by Bless the Lord 😄 from Theodore, AL on Sun Sep 15 2019

It’s very reliable, but the rear doors stucked, can’t open!! Which has caused a problem when we has to put something or someone in the rear. Is there anyway it can be a recall to get them fixed? Never had this happen!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i bought mine a year ago had exhaust problem drove

by hatman from coansville pa on Thu Mar 14 2019

I have had my truck for a year now 2 problems with it drivers side exhaust came of from the manifold. Also my power steering pump going. But other than the gas guzzling it's a tough truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best valued truck I've ever owned!

by Sammy65 from KANSAS CITY on Fri Dec 08 2017

Great truck in the crew cab set up! 4 wheel drive. Drives extremely well and priced far below market value!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Dakota

Dodge Dakota gains a new look and a boost in size for 2005. It also loses something that no one is likely to miss.

Following the trend in pickup trucks, Dakota no longer comes with a traditional, single-seat cab. Now, there is just a variety of Club Cab and four-door Quad Cab models. Both have rear seats, though only the Quad has full-size seating in the back.

Dropping the short cab makes sense because most pickup drivers have learned to appreciate the extra space behind the front seats. That and the ability to use the pickup as a family-size vehicle, especially in the Quad mode.

The revamped Dakota is about 4 inches longer and a smidgen wider than its former self, moving up from midsize and closer... Read More