NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2005 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

91 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 91 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best used pickup for the money.

by KevinsGen3 from Sanford, FL on Fri Apr 05 2019

I got a 2005 slt with the 4.7 v8 rwd for $7,800. This truck is amazing I must say, 112,500 trouble free miles other than regular matinence. My realistic cons include: parking, side seat upholstery, miles per gallon, and petal squeaks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Needed extensive repairs within 3 weeks

by Ripped off from Columbus on Tue Nov 05 2019

Haven't been able to use it long relating to major repairs. Had 5500 dollars worth of work so far... Even though we paid for warranty

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Poor car

by Ozzy2035 from Manhattan New York on Tue Feb 05 2019

Terrible pick truck many mechanical damage never under warranty problems differential noise and poor repair and dealer ridiculous charger for repair car under warranty you bring you car and no repair still charge

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty much my dream truck

by Almcdowll from Poulsbo on Sun May 26 2019

I love everything about my truck exterior interior and drivetrain are all awesome. I was a Chevy guy until I bought this and love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Do NOT buy a 4x4 quad cab 4.7

by Tyler2005 from Vilonia on Sun Jul 16 2017

I currently own a 2005 4x4 QC 4.7 very good truck, I love everything about it ...but the motor. The 4.7 is not that bad but is only enough to move the truck. It's a heavy truck, to heavy for that 4.7 if your only wanting a single cab 4x2 truck then go for it but with the 5.7 you will not be disappointed. Plus you can say you have a hemi!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Pretty good

by Jamtex from Elcampo on Sun Apr 09 2017

I was nice going out and taking a look at all the vehicles they had available.They were nice and courteous help out alot

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great smooth ride but very work ready

by johno from Barnesville ohio on Tue Jun 19 2018

going from my gmc to the dodge was defiantly i trade up in the right direction the gmc was a good around town truck but lacked the workhorse capability of the dodge and i really like the better turning radios of this dodge .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very dependable, and good on gas.

by Chuck/Nicole's Truck from Morenci, Michigan on Thu Apr 13 2017

Towed a 2013 Z-1 camper with no problem in about a 60 radius. It also has to BIG HORN EDITION. 6 CD Player/changer. Super gas_wise. Got 18 city and 21 highway.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

by DKS1121 from TX on Sun Oct 15 2017

Over all this vehicles is very reliable and will get you wherever you need to go. I highly recommend a Dodge RAM!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's been a decent truck besides a few problems

by Tyson88 from Saratoga Springs, Utah on Wed Jul 26 2017

I love the truck even though it has a few problems like the etc light that puts it in limp mode and it kinda sucks about the circuit board things in the tail lights that make it so you can't use led bulbs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Yes, the big Dodge Ram pickup still has a Hemi.

The truck that began DaimlerChrysler’s renaissance of the Hemi engine design, the current-generation Ram Heavy Duty that debuted in fall 2002, still includes the 5.7-liter Magnum Hemi V-8 as its standard engine for model year 2005, and will again this fall in the 2006 models.

Little did the Chrysler folks know when they introduced this revival of the Hemi in the Ram Heavy Duty lineup for 2003 that consumers would gobble these engines up not only in a Ram 2500 model such as our test vehicle this week, but also in an entire range of Dodge, Chrysler and Jeep vehicles — cars, trucks and SUVs — that have come onto the market since.

It was... Read More