2005 Escape Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid

$2,210 - $7,750  MSRP Range
2005 Ford Escape Hybrid

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Ford Escape Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Alaska driver from Anchorage, AK on Wed Jun 30 2010

I bought this vehicle used. It is a wonderful vehicle. I live in Anchorage and with the proper tires, it is perfect in winter. Mileage is lower (22-24 mpg) in the arctic cold (the fan/heater needs to run). The spring/summer/fall it gets about 35 mpg. Great acceleration, maneuvers well for a SUV. Long road trips across Alaska are great and safe. You can sleep in the back if needed. It has fairly low miles (58,000) with no maintenance issues in the past nor evident on the horizon. I think it may be one of the most reliable vehicles I have ever owned.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Low Maintenance Costs

by Escape Hybrid Driver from Durham, NC on Thu Aug 23 2007

This vehicle is great. The recommended mileage between oil changes is 10,000 miles. This really cuts down in the service cost for the vehicle. Great gas mileage for an SUV too. Who knew you could get 30+ mpg in an SUV in the city? Good job Ford.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Escaped to an SUV

by SUV Bound from Louisville, KY on Sun Aug 26 2012

Was leasing a Toyota Prius (which I thought was also a great car) and wanted an SUV. Did research on Escape Hybrids and found all of the reviews to be true-this is a great little SUV! I am getting 28-31 mpg. Nice ride, fairly quiet. Really enjoying it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice ride

by Bo from Raleigh, NC on Mon Oct 03 2011

Does all I could exspect Nice ride Low maintenance for a SUV It is simple to maintain, brake last long time due to regenerative braking Engine has the punch on the highway Goes good with four wheel disk brakes Heard good thing about the four wheel drive Can not wait for a little snow Best car I own

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

pretty decent

by Hybrid Buyer from fayetteville nc on Fri Jan 18 2013

well im a first time car buyer and used. ive always loved the escape, mainly from '05 to '07. so i figured id buy the hybrid model, it is pretty decent. being fords first hybrid and the first hybrid suv. very reliable, had it for about two months now, close to 108,500 miles, no problems yet. its rated at 28 city, 26 hwy, 27 combined. it is the awd model. i average about 25, so the mpg is some what poor in my book. ive replaced the fuel filter, maintain the right tire psi and cant seem to improve. but ive read alot of reviews of people have about the same mpg. other than that soild vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very economical AWD ... great run-about!

by Preston from Colborne, Ontario on Mon Jul 09 2018

I bought our low KM 2005 Hybrid AWD Escape in 2016, 2 years ago , for $4500. It's summer 2018 now and it runs like a champ. With all-season radials it averages 8.2litres per 100 km, and increases to 9.2 with snows in winter driving. We were lucky it had no rust, just a few scratches' n such, and keep it undercoated now. Total kms at present about 165,000. We do mostly country driving, on secondary highways and in town, but it runs just fine on 4 lane highways into Toronto etc., at 120km/hr, and has decent acceleration for passing when the hybrid kicks in, almost like a 'turbo'. Very pleased.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not worth the extra money

by kk1711 from Upstate New York on Wed Aug 08 2007

The salesperson talked me into a hybrid over a standard Escape because of the gas milage. I have the Hybrid and get approx 27-28 mpg. My brother-in-law has a regular Escape, same year, and gets 21-24 mpg. For the extra $5000 for the hybrid, it is not worth it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Overpriced SUV

by Sport Utility Lover from Gainesville, GA on Tue Aug 07 2012

My car was really nice when I baught it. Within a month my sunroof shorted out, the seals on my sunroof went bad, and I have had to put it in the shop three times in the first two months. When I purchased my car it came with a 2 year 24,000 mile warranty and the dealer voided my warranty when I came to them about my sunroof four days after I purchased my car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this car.

by Stephen G from Altamonte Springs on Wed Aug 22 2018

Ford created an interesting fuel efficient system. Great mileage and good pick up in speed. I enjoyed this car and would recommend it to anyone considering a purchase..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1