2004 Freestar

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Freestar

$970 - $5,866  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Freestar

Review Score

3.3 out of 5 stars

3.3

29 Reviews
59% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Ford Freestar?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 29 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

holding my breath 70,000 and no trouble yet

by average joe from ill. on Fri Feb 29 2008

comfort,yes mileage ok, trouble with electric cargo doors most people are impressed from other reviews i'm holding my breath it has done me right still ready to unload asap

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Van

by Freestar Lover from Louisiana on Wed Nov 16 2011

I have my 2004 Ford Freestar for 3 years now and have put about 60,000 miles on it. It has 132000 miles and counting ! I have not had any problems except normal maintenane . The ride is great and it is very peppy ! Gas mileage only fault about 21 hwy 16 city.It is comfortable and stylish and I would recommend to anyone, as for the people who criticise this van the only thing I can say is probaly poor maintenance. I love mine and the safety ratings are tops !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by UsafJoe from Perkasie, PA on Fri Jun 26 2009

I have over 77,000 on my Freestar and have had no problems. I purchased new and have done the normal 3000 mile oil changes, etc. Very reliable and versatile van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

NOT one of Ford's bright spots

by Foxfire from Reading ,Pa on Thu Feb 07 2013

Owned this van from day one. Typical Ford product - everything works great until the warranty expires. This van is allergic to rain. Feels like it needs a tune up and that is after I had it tuned up ! I was always a Ford guy but I must say going forward the only Ford I will buy is the F-150 pick up truck. If you want a van go with Honda or Toyota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by JACK from CANADA on Thu Dec 10 2009

My first car was a Ford Pinto(with headers!), my second car a 1976 Ford Cougar XR7(2 door sport, red, 400, etc.)...and now a 2004 FREESTAR with 152K, well,the best! Thanks Ford for the extremelly excelent job, quality,workmanship, a trully piece of art.(not for sale) From Canada Merry Christms. Jack

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly Reliable

by Loved our Minivan from Cleveland, OH on Sun Sep 26 2010

Have put over 90k miles on this minivan and outside of normal maintenance, have had no major issues. Replaced brakes at 65K other than that, it has performed very well. Bought the SEL with the 4.2 liter and the gas mileage is not too great but we wanted something that would get up and go and the 4.2 does just that. Would definently recommend

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

THE FAMOUS FREESTAR

by Y. from spring valley on Tue Dec 05 2017

It's equipped with a third row, so it's an 8 passenger van. In addition to the big trunk for luggage, it has lot of leg space between rows. It has an CD player, plus a cassette player, and much more features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Total Rust

by not happy from wisconsin on Fri Apr 05 2013

bought a 2004 new Freestar had it rust proof and now we only have 90.000 mile always kept the oil changed onj time. Had no issues until 2011 had a rust issue on the side door, had to contact the Amour rust company and they had it fix the first time the secound time on the same door in 2012 the rust came back in the same spot and we had it fixed. Now we put another $2,500 in breaks and tires and the air condition went out this was between Dec 2012 to March 2013 .Then we pulled the back seat out and could not put it back in, the latch was rusted out, Oh good there is a recall and guess what the whole panel is rusted out the outside looks good. But the the frame is rusted and the springs are about to let go. Ford will not own up to there end and it needs to be total. My husband and I had just moved and are unemployed hoping to keep the van for two more years until we can afford a new car, Well now we are in need of a car and can not afford it Thank You Ford.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Van for the Family

by Bhawks from Lombard,IL on Tue Nov 02 2010

This minivan was a replacement to a 1996 Windstar and has not disappointed. We got the Limited edition and the family loves all the bells and whistles. I like the heated seats the best. It rides better then the Windstar and has better gas mileage. The fold down rear seat is a must and when it is positioned in the tailgate mode is fun at the drive-in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Catastrophic transmission failure at 67,000 miles.

by Sad Freestar owner from Indiana on Fri Feb 08 2008

The money I saved buying the Ford minivan instead of a Honda has now been spent on repairs. Before considering purchase of a Freestar, check the many transmission failures on the NHTSA website.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2004 Ford Freestar

Freestar feels familiar

That’s right. It’s Freestar, not Windstar. When Ford Motor Co. launched its restyled Ford Windstar minivan last fall, the company gave it a new name to better fit its alliterative list of products, which includes the Focus and F-150 pickup. The name change is about the most radical part of the 2004 Ford Freestar.

Ford did not rip up the blueprints when it came to the exterior of its minivan . and that formed the basis for much of our discussion. We tested a well-equipped SEL model priced at $31,520.

SHE: I know that you’re being a big crab about Ford’s redesigned minivan. You were hoping that they would have injected a bit of, God... Read More