2018 Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

$16,366 - $24,158  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

105 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 105 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I will be saving a lot of money on gas !!!

by southern california sunshine from anaheim, ca on Mon Mar 12 2018

Stylish , reliable car with over 300 mile range . I will never have to worry about running out of electric charge and will drive around with out using the gas. I am happy with the safety features and saving the planet with less pollution !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best electric car on the market

by Kennyd from Alameda, California on Fri Jun 29 2018

I was worried about the small gas tank and only getting 50 miles on a single charge, but in using this vehicle there is no worries. We have driven over 300 miles so far and have not used a drop of gasoline. At the end of each day there is still battery charge left. We are averaging over 200 miles per gallon. And if that is not enough, the comfort of the interior is outstanding. I am a big guy, over 6ft and this car is very comfortable as both a passenger and a driver. This is my first Honda and I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stunning Agility, Comfort, and Efficiency

by DW412 from Lawrenceville, GA on Wed Jun 05 2019

Plug-in Hybrid Electrics done right have all the benefit, power, and range of gas in an electric car: 3.5 cents/(electric)mile with no range anxiety vs. an all gas sedan that gets 33mpg: 8.6 cents/(gas) mile ($2.84/gal regular). When this PEHV does use gas only, it gets 42MPG. However, it recovers most of its energy and uses electric preferentially changing the gas MPG closer to 82-99MPG in long commuter traffic conditions. I’m not a rally car driver, but driving in packs of people “jockeying” for position in traffic means lots of Atlanta traffic lane changes. This car meets Atlanta traffic needs with astonishing agility, comfort, and efficiency. It preferentially chooses electric to motor itself forward at highway speeds. Going down hill, all under the hood is silent as it rapidly recharges its impressive battery power. Much of the “range” used with the accelerator is regenerated every time this happens. When “turbo-level” acceleration is required, the “sport” mode with its thrillingly tight suspension kicks in, and the car is in the lane you want. Where paddle shifters are located on many cars, this car has something more like a Peloton Bike electromagnetic resistance control system. Left “paddle” increases resistance, and right decreases. While resistance is happening, the batteries “super charge”, and the car slows down, like “downshifting”, or braking. No wear and tear on the transmission, and no brake pad or break “brushes” rubbing. Instead of having a car, this is more like having a “transport personal assistant” and high tech energy management system. It “reads” the road and traffic conditions, chooses the most efficient use of energy source: battery, gas, kinetic, or electromagnetic resistance, and produces an arrival time that matches my little turbo VW that was smashed two and a half weeks ago. For that little car alone, gasoline was running close to $7,000/year. This car might reach $875/year. One commute I have is 103 miles. The estimated “range” remaining on the car was 193 miles. When I got to the house, the estimated “range” remaining was 164.7 miles. This is what I’m talking about with the energy management system of this car. It’s not that the range was calculated badly. It simply gives the predicted “range” at any given moment if NO recharging were to occur, or if I chose to drive in exclusively gasoline mode (ran the batteries to zero, then ran on gas alone). The car isn’t really just a car. It’s a full sized sedan that can seat a family of 5 adults comfortably (huge back seat), runs the air conditioner, radio, and heated seats (in winter), and manages to have a reported cross country range of 360 miles (on full charge, full 7 gallon tank of gas), but in real world driving, is getting far more in range than that. I’m averaging 2.2 gallons of gasoline for every 165 miles driven. This includes highway and neighborhood driving. 500+ miles. Commuting to Downtown Atlanta and back uses zero gasoline. Because it charges in 1.5 to 2 hours in the middle of the night, there is a price break on the electricity it takes to charge the batteries. I’ve read lots of reviews on this car, and almost everyone calls it their “favorite car they’ve ever driven.” Probably, because this car seems to intuitively “understand” what the driver needs and wants, and then produces it without a lot of work on the part of the driver. So you are left enjoying the road and the drive for what it is, while the car takes care of the work of managing itself in traffic and on open road without a lot of range anxiety. Why don’t you see a lot of them on the road? Most are sold in California and Oregon. The few that are available for purchase in the rest of the country work exactly like the other Honda hybrids, so the technicians are capeable of servicing these cars. The thing is, the sales people don’t completely understand what they have in their possession, so the car sits on the lot “untouched” until someone comes looking for a Clarity. The MPG on the Honda Hybrid, Insight advertises 48MPG to the Clarity 41MPG gasoline engine, but they don’t understand that the electric motor of the Clarity is the predominant choice of this car’s motion. This changes the MPG average to 82-99MPG averages depending on where you are driving it. AND it’s a full sized sedan that is so agile, it feels like you are driving something completely different than a little rattle-trap economy hybrid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Plug-in Hybrid Cruiser

by New Clarity from Central New Jersey on Fri Jun 15 2018

Really liking the Clarity so far. Like a lot of others, coming from a Prius which is so much louder. Drove the new Prius, but really liked the fact that the Clarity is a true mid-size car with lots of trunk space and a back seat for three. Have driven about 300 miles so far and haven’t used a drop of gas! Getting about 53 miles to a charge in moderate weather. Car is very quiet and handles well, although it is more tuned towards comfort. While the styling is a bit different, it grows on you. The two things that I would change are the lack of lumbar support and the windshield wipers. Also having an issue with charging at home that Honda says will be fixed with a software update.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

family car with best value

by ca tech junkie on Thu Aug 23 2018

I bought this car 4 weeks ago, already accumulated 1500 miles on it, with 4.6 GL of gas. I couldn't speak for the long term quality, overall the experience is happy so far. It's quiet ( extremely quiet in EV mode ), smooth, and sort of fun to drive. The acceleration is a bit sluggish in the eco mode, better in sport mode. My previous car was totaled, now I drive like a grandma, so this doesn't bother me at all. The screen works very well, GPS , speaker ... etc work beautifully, it comes with Apple play and Android , but I'm not eager to use them - just don't want apple or google to collect more data from my car, they already collected too much personal data. There are a couple things I think Honda can do better : 1. Once in hv or hv charge, I couldn't go back to eco mode unless I turn off the car. 2. dual climate control, my son complained the AC in the back row was not powerful enough. I feel it's good in the front. The car is priced a few thousand dollars above honda accord hybrid, but with all the tax/government incentives and saving on the gas, you end up enjoying premium experience of Acura with the cost of honda civic. And you can drive it on carpool lane, a big plus for commuters

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unlimited MPG if driven mostly in electric mode.

by Clarity Lover from St louis on Fri Jul 20 2018

I was glad to part ways with Big Oil when I bought this car! I have driven my new Honda Clarity plug-in hybrid 900 miles since I bought it new; and I have only burned two and a half gallons of gas so far... And most of that gas was used over the first weekend I owned the car, while I was learning how to best drive it in electric-only mode.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sharp Well Performing Clarity

by NP from San Jose, CA on Sat Feb 10 2018

Drives well. Comfortable. Technologically state-of-the art. Electrical drive and gas engine work together flawlessly. Spacious interior. Climate control works very effectively and keeps cabin atmosphere very suitable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have to pinch myself. A true dream car.

by Pat Fahey from Pacifica on Fri Jun 29 2018

I bought my Honda Clarity PHEV in January, 2018. To this day, 6 months later, it continues to blow my mind. An engineer's dream car, it has so many control systems that operate under the radar--beyond the routine habitual operational ones--that just contemplating them whilst driving is an intrinsic pleasure. A minimal learning curve required to take full advantage of routine control systems (speed and lane-maintenance, fuel optimization, mirrors, voice activated music, phonebook, calls, GPS) also rewards the driver with 120+ mpg while enjoying the quietest ride AND perhaps the best music audio system EVER--in any context! This vehicle causes the driver to model and think 'conservation of energy' routinely that the owner optimizes over time. Leather, wood paneling, the soft plant-based felt, the 8-way electric driver's seat, 4-way passenger seat, huge back seat room. 360 degree sensing. It's like driving an Accord Space Shuttle. Think this is all hyperbole? I have to pinch myself! I hope that Honda will provide a new generation Honda Link retrofit with updated code. My iPhone GPS is nicer and more accurate than the on-board GPS. Also, the newer system has a better background noise reduction during phone calls. I have to kvetch a little, right?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Upscale, comfortable, economical, and performs

by Nate S on Wed Jul 25 2018

I stepped into 2018 Honda Clarity PHEV after trading in my 2010 Lexus ES. The upscale interiors, space, and the comfort-level is at par or better as compared with the previous generation Lexus. The car has adequate power in Eco mode, and it begs to go in the Sport mode -- which I don't use much since I take some pride in driving in the most economical fashion. The pickup is smooth and quick -- thanks to the electric engine which is whisper quiet. Even with engine running in hybrid mode, you really can't hear much of engine noise. It is designed for a driver to just sit and drive without worrying about various modes, but more geeky drivers will have a lot of fun experimenting with the numerous bells and whistles. Overall, very happy with the purchase and plan to keep it for a while.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Clarity. Forget burning Gas.

by Robert_Birmingham from Birmingham, AL on Fri Jul 06 2018

Overall, I love the car. Not as excited about the rear fender, but it is growing on me as I love everything else about the car. The battery range is exceptional. In the summer in Alabama in city driving, I am getting essentially 60 miles per charge. Gas MPG seems to be great too, but I have only burned 3 gallons of gas in 700 miles, so it is hard to get a great estimate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11