2018 Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

$16,221 - $24,033  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

105 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 105 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

So smooth and confortable, specialy in EV mode

by Alan from Baltimore on Tue Oct 16 2018

Very economical car, if you drive less than 60 miles between charges, no need to buy gas. Very confortable, plenty of space, in the front and in the back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Update to Previous Review

by Desert Driver from Tucson, Arizona on Mon Nov 26 2018

I did my first review of this car on Oct 2, 2018, after owning it for 6 weeks. We have now driven it for 3 months. We still love everything about it, but wanted to update one thing. In previous review I said it was costing us about $1.00 to do a full overnight charge. Actually, it is only costing about $.40 with the Kwh discount that our electric company gives us for owning a EV car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall very satisfying

by Annieboo from Southern CA on Mon Jul 02 2018

Would like a sunroof option? Otherwise great car! Proud to own it! I also would have liked MORE colors, and possibly a few other interior options, but this is a great car and I was anxious to own it! Electric and HYBRID cars ARE THE FUTURE!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First hybrid I have owned

by Harold Clarity owner from Buffalo NY on Mon Oct 28 2019

Truly a vehicle of the future. Built well and performs well including in winter snow conditions such as deep snow and icy roads and easy to handle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We wanted economy...we GOT economy!

by JBBDVM from Albuquerque, NM on Mon Jan 28 2019

We test-drove several Honda models, and were intrigued by the Clarity, a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV). Reviews said it lacked performance. Not sure how the reviewers like to drive, but for us, the car drives and handles wonderfully. Good handling and steering, plenty of pep, very quiet and comfortable...and the economy!! We are averaging 90+ mpg. We currently use 110v charging...costs about $1.25 to charge overnight. It is almost unbelievable. We are paying about 1/4 (gas+ electricity) what we were paying to drive our 2010 Ridgeline.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressed with Honda quality

by ColonelRHS from Germantown, TN on Fri Apr 19 2019

The quality of this car is impressive. Honda put a lot of thought in design and function. I have owned several new cars from different brands in the past and consider the Honda a good value for the money. The plug in hybrid developed by Honda is light years away from the other manufacturers. In the four weeks we have owned the car, we have not used a drop of gasoline. All our travel is within the 50 mile range of where we live. I can't wait to take a long trip to see the mpg from the combination of electric and gas engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Smartest and most Luxurious Car I've owned

by BCNative from Battle Creek, MI on Sat Jan 19 2019

Stupid... it's just stupid how cool this car is. 40-50 miles of EV cruising before you need to switch to hybrid mode. Even if you just run Hybrid, you're still getting 80-90 MPG's. That's stupefying and Pious, er um, Prius smashing. I can even schedule the Clarity to warm up before we drive in the morning, or connect via the app and start a warm up whenever. I guess, if I had to, I could even use the remote to do that. :) The interior design is well thought out and easy to use. I know many people complain about the knoblessness (I may have invented that word) of the radio, but seriously, does your smartphone have a knob? Plenty of power ports and places to hide carry ons AND a phone pocket in the back seat. The woodgrain trims are convincing. I still don't know if it's wood or plastic. Features like brake hold, adaptive cruise, lane keeping, and slow speed follow are incredible. Let's talk about those paddles on the steering wheel. Many reviewers dislike them because, honestly, I don't think the understand their purpose. If used correctly, you can bring the car to near stop and continue on without touching the brake peddle. Each tap of the left paddle increases your generator induced slowing effect, and if you misjudge you can squeeze the right paddle to let off the regen braking to coast a little farther. Whenever you can stop without using the physical brakes, you're increasing your range and MPG's. Ok, I'm winded. Get a Clarity, it is Accord money but with so much more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finally I found my car. Bought it...liked it

by Alexander from Richboro on Tue Nov 13 2018

After a year long search and several test drives, I bought clarity. I have to drive 100 miles per day and this is the car for that....assembled in Japan and feels that finish in each area. Very fuel efficient and spacious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pay taxes or buy a car

by Claire Greene from Newman, California on Tue Oct 23 2018

Why pay money to the government and get nothing in return? Use the $7500 to pay your taxes after you apply that money to the purchase of this car. If you drive 47 miles per day you could drive for a year without buying gas. Just plug into your wall outlet overnight and you're good to go the next day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE WONDERFUL GAS MILEAGE

by Nashvillemannow from Nashville, Tennessee on Sat Aug 25 2018

220 miles per gallon or more. Honda quality. Very good acceleration, has heavy car road feel. Vision out of the windows is very good. Tax break makes this a very good choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11