2018 Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

$16,579 - $24,295  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

105 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 105 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE WONDERFUL GAS MILEAGE

by Nashvillemannow from Nashville, Tennessee on Sat Aug 25 2018

220 miles per gallon or more. Honda quality. Very good acceleration, has heavy car road feel. Vision out of the windows is very good. Tax break makes this a very good choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE THIS CAR

by BCB from LOS ANGELES, CA on Tue Jul 10 2018

ROOMY, SLEEK, POWERFUL DRIVING, COMFORTABLE, GREAT AS GETS OVER 40 MILES ON EV, FRONT AND BACK SEATS ARE COMFORTABLE, NICE CHOICE OF COLORS FOR THE CAR

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pay taxes or buy a car

by Claire Greene from Newman, California on Tue Oct 23 2018

Why pay money to the government and get nothing in return? Use the $7500 to pay your taxes after you apply that money to the purchase of this car. If you drive 47 miles per day you could drive for a year without buying gas. Just plug into your wall outlet overnight and you're good to go the next day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks and Drives like luxury car

by Tom from Rancho Mission Viejo. Ca on Tue Oct 23 2018

Pleasantly surprised by solid ride and handling. Plenty of power on hills without a sign of engine noise. EV only range plenty for a week of errands. Have already recommended to friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Honda I have owned - no fuel and drives dream

by 4sallypat from West Covina, CA on Wed Jan 23 2019

When I started looking for a PHEV, I tried out the BMW X5e, 530e, Audi eTron A3, Mitsubishi Outlander, Chevy Volt, and Toyota Prius Prime. What set this Honda apart was the huge cabin interior, quiet ride, 47 miles per charge, and a responsive ride. Then when I found out that the $34K Clarity is more affordable than any other brand with: $7600 lease incentive + $500 employee discount + dealer discount + $1500 state + $1000 local utility rebate = $20K car. Super affordable and super low payments with zero gasoline so far. The original tank of fuel from the dealer is still full! Love having to not fill up every week - saving me $200 in gasoline costs. Electricity has only gone up $20 per month which is spectacular! The factory supplied level 1 charger is perfect as I leave the car overnight in the garage to get a full charge. Southern California is best for this type of vehicle because the range is not diminished by low temps. I usually get 45-53 miles per charge daily. Definitely a high tech car to have and makes my commute fun with the regenerative shift paddles to save on break wear! With the low residual value (RV), this lease might end up as a keeper at the end of 3 years. The buyout price is $14K so if the car does not give me issues, I will keep her!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most sedan for the money.

by JorgeH from Cape May, NJ on Thu Jan 03 2019

First, this car is a huge value. MSRP is $34,290 and after dealer discount and federal and state incentives it cost me $20,625. It is a large car with lots of trunk space, fold down rear seats, comfortable seating for 5. I am getting an equivalent of 70 mpg. This includes several 400 plus mile trips as well as city driving. It is extremely quiet inside and the features and comfort remind me of my old Lexus LS400, as amazing as that might sound.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Clarity is amaizing

by Bryon from Honolulu, HI on Thu Apr 04 2019

What a great car! Styling and overall looks turn a lot of heads. Fourth day in the car and not a day has passed without a complement. Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than Prius prime

by Honda Clarity from Fremont on Sun Jan 27 2019

Amazing acceleration. Great electric range. Super safety and reliability. Great value. Much bigger and seats higher. center of gravity lower and so much safe. Super good

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Responsive! step on the pedal and it goes

by Heming from BEACON FALLS, CT on Sun Jun 03 2018

I believe it is the electrical motor performance to make this car very responsive. The power output is just instant while the engine and transmission combination just can compete.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a very green choice that is a great car!

by De Milo from Healdsburg, Ca on Thu Jan 10 2019

This is a great car: comfortable, spacious, the lastest in safety features and gets about 50 miles on electricity before using gas. Most of our commuting is on electric and only gas on long trips! We’ve used12 gallons in 1340 miles of real world driving!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11