2016 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2016 Hyundai Elantra

$9,292 - $16,936  MSRP Range
2016 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

113 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very impressed!

by NCElantraSport from Goldsboro, NC on Sat Aug 08 2015

I purchased a 2016 Elantra Sport with the 6 speed manual. I have enjoyed the car very much. The Elantra has a very smooth ride, and roomy interior. The transmission is easy to shift and very responsive. The exterior design of the car looks sporty. The mpg on this car makes it an even better buy. The 173 hp engine gives plenty of power when accelerating, and is very quiet. Comfort, with a touch of sport, make this car well balanced. I plan on driving the Elantra for many miles!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Continued Review 2016 Manual Red Elantra

by litesong from on Wed Nov 11 2015

Our love increases for the 2016 manual Elantra. A day trip to the Washington state Pacific ocean, with stops for views, pix & beach walks, travel over hilly country & some I-5 stop&go travel, still gave 46mpg with 100% ethanol-free gasoline(E0). Another trip to the Oregon ocean with another person, lots of luggage, bigger hills & passes, & several days town travel, turned a good 41mpg w/E0. The 2016 engine is smoother & very much quieter than our auto 2013. On the new "quiet pavements", we mistake our Elantra for a limousine. It took 5 years, but the engine is lovely now. The steering is more precise than the 2013, also. The 2011 Elantra look, much praised, but sometimes thought to be a tiring look, has become a classic look, the 2016 version still gaining admiration. Styling copied by many manufacturers, Elantra has never been matched or excelled. Probably beyond 2020, the aging Elantra will still be considered a "looker". Before the re-styled 2017 Elantra appears,& not advertised at all, the color, steering & engine improvements really increase Elantra value, making the last 2016 Elantra of its era, the best of the bunch, despite the other manufacturers passing the old Elantra in tech improvements.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice care, good value

by No name from on Sat Sep 05 2015

This car is an extremely good value. When I was car shopping I looked at other cars with similar features and they were all thousands of dollars more than the Elantra I bought.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2016 manual Elantra as excellent as our auto 2013!

by litesong from Everett, WA on Sun Jul 12 2015

Got a stripped manual RED 2016 Elantra that doesn't feel like a stripped car. Got a/c, cruise control, auto dimming review mirrow(wi/compass), & sunglasses holder. Don't need the other toys that people want.The manual 6speed tranny feels good & easily shifts for feather foot high mpg performance. Tho my wife has bad stop & go commuter traffic, she prefers the RED manual over our RED 2013 automatic Elantra. Tho the colors say they are the same, our new 2016 has a deeper, more excellent color. With equal amounts of bad traffic & clear highway travel, 2016 manual is getting 36+mpg, burning 100% ethanol-free gasoline. One problem with the manual tranny is the engine is so quiet at low rpms, first gear engagement for high mpg is hard to evaluate, but I'm getting used to it. The beautiful Elantra hit homeruns when introduced in 2011 & is still hitting homeruns in the 2016 addition. Always said if Elantra looks were changed much, it would be detrimental to sales. Glad they let the classy Elantra look continue for many years. Tho engine is quiet(with ethanol-free gasoline), tire & road noise is bothersome, altho new "quiet" pavements dramatically decrease small car noise. For a small non-diesel, non-hybrid car, Elantra has the widest rear seat shoulder room of any car getting near 40mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value

by Retired from Paradise CA on Mon Jul 20 2015

After owning Ford Focus for a few years this Elantra is a step up in both comfort and relialibilty great looking car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm still Getting to know it

by Just me from Palm Harbor, FL on Sat Oct 31 2015

Enjoying it so far. There are always a couple of things that you notice - like no change holder; The arm rest doesn't have a top opening section. It's a pretty good ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car enjoy very mch

by Littlebit TN from Manchester on Mon Jun 12 2017

What I like most is the get up and go this car offers. It is very roomy on inside, seats are comfortable, everyone in backseat are amazed at the legroom it offers. Looks rich on outside but very reasonable pricing.Love my 2016 Elantra is wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good choice

by Cape Cod driver from East Falmouth, MA on Sun Jul 12 2015

We rented one last winter. We liked that car so much we decided to replace our old car with a Hyundai Elantra. We are very pleased with the mileage too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beginning to love this car

by Latreese from Danville illinois on Fri Jun 17 2016

Use to driving a suv. But this go around i went with a car. At first i was a little ify. But now after having it a little while i am really beginning to love this car. Great on gas. Handles well. Sleek, sharp.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My newest car

by Deb from Monroe, NJ on Mon Apr 18 2016

Great handling, surprisingly quick, great mileage. Great sporty look. Excellent value. I'm a happy girl

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 12