2019 Veloster

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Veloster

$9,656 - $30,859  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Veloster

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

39 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Veloster?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car so much I bought my 3rd Veloster

by LuvVeloTurbo from Santa Monica on Wed Jun 27 2018

I really do love this car. It meets all my needs in a car; fun to drive, sporty and fast, 3rd door for allowing passengers in and out with ease, Hatch back trunk space allows for me to place large items in the back like a bike or ski gear. The new 2019 has some nice features like the new touch screen with apple play. Great on Gas! The aggressive look and the way the car handles has been definitely redone. Definitely recommend the Turbo

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

0-60 in 6 seconds AND 30mpg city. Gotta love it!

by Boneman from Cape Coral on Sun Jan 20 2019

Car is everything I could want in a small, economical, yet SPORTY machine. The R spec version that I own is sport tuned for handling, is only available with manual transmission and is equipped with an amazingly precise B&M Sport Shifter. Although the ride is firm, the car is VERY comfortable. Interior layout is attractive and functional and with many controls at your fingertips on the steering wheel, it is truly a "Driver's Car". Two driving modes, "Normal" and "Sport" adjust things such as steering feel, throttle response and boost engagement rpm appropriately. In "Sport" mode the car is amazingly responsive and downright quick. Tech such as Bluetooth, Carplay and Android Auto as well as an 8" screen make for quite the "Command Center" on the dash. The Infinity sound system is downright KILLER as well! With THREE doors and a hatch, entry for rear seat passengers is easier than your normal "Coupe" style hatchback, though admittedly, as with most small cars, the room in the back is somewhat limited, albeit much better than most!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car for 2019!

by Dmanveloster from Albuquerque NM on Sun Nov 04 2018

The veloster exceeded expectations in value, safety, comfort, and performance. Technology in safety features makes this the car to purchase. Sound system outstanding. Above all the safety features and warranty is one of the best car buys for 2019! Once one drives this car, you will want it! Thank you Hyundai!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking hatchback under 25k

by ch3vy1969 from Corona, ca. on Tue Nov 13 2018

Compact size, sporty, good gas mileage, technology and excellent looks, the ride is sporty but not uncomfortable and extremely easy to park in city streets.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Veloster N

by Johnny Smooth from Bloomington, IN on Sat Feb 16 2019

Bought mine with the Performance Package. "Holy Mother Of God", this car is so much fun! I am 6'1" 210lbs, the drivers seat is one of the most comfortable I have ever sat in. From the moment you sit in the car you know it was designed for the Driver. Hyundai has come a long way from their initial roots. I don't know about reliability, because I have only had it about a week however it appears to be a solid quality piece of work! The best thing Hyundai did without a doubt, was hire Albert Beirmann from BMW's performance division!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car!

by Kelsie from Raleigh, NC on Mon Dec 17 2018

My Veloster is everything I wanted it to be! It is small (very small - I am 5' 2"), has an excellent electronics package, and has a quick engine. I like having the manual option and different driving modes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Sporty car for value.

by Diane B from Gastonia, NC on Tue Mar 12 2019

Driver seat has many adjustments, seat warmers are a + along with front leg room. Could use more back leg room & trunk room. Overall it's a nice car with a lot of perks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck, smiles per gallon!

by JillianP from Mt.Dora, Florida on Sun Aug 25 2019

Owned many cars over the last 24 years. The Veloster N was my 15th new car purchase over the past year and a half alone. Almost 1 new car a month. Out of those 15 cars I have kept 2... a Genesis 5.0 sedan and this Veloster N. I bought a Dodge SRT 392 Charger about a year ago, but jumped on the hype train of all the car review articles and traded it in on a Kia Stinger GT2...what a mistake. Out of all the cars I've owned it's about my only regret next to getting rid of my 2014 Mustang GT 500. The stinger looked premium, but felt cheap especially for its $52k sticker. A lot of the things I loved about my 392 charger I found again in the Veloster N. Sure the Veloster N is a compact car so it's not as roomy or comfortable as the 392 was, sure it doesnt have a big V8 and 500hp, but it shines for what it is intended to be. The Veloster N does have hard plastics almost everywhere in the interior, but when I'm driving an engaging and exciting car, I'm not reaching everywhere to touch things like the dash or door cards. I'm grabbing the steering wheel and gear shifter, while my feet are playing with the 3 pedals beneath. All these items are perfect, absolutely perfect. The infotainment and the Infiniti sound system are great, as are the steering wheel controls. So what, boo hoo, no soft touch material on the dash or door panels...it doesnt mean it's cheap, it is plastic, but its not cheap quality plastic. Fit and finish are good and the plastics save weight, have a nice layout, and a nice design. You can customize so much to your preference in the way the chassis and performance of the car by going through the infotainment; 3 modes for the e-LSD, 3 modes for the ESC, 3 modes for the steering heaviness, 3 modes for dampening the suspension, 3 modes for the valved exhaust note, and 3 modes for rev matching. It has great brakes with a big initial bite and zero fade, great turn in and on center feel, its flickable, and even though it is a FWD car, it can oversteer if you set the ESC to Sport +, it feels like a rear wheel drive car. The burples, crackles, and pops from the exhuast are excellent and sound like a rally cars exhuast but can be muted with just the touch of a button. Great short throw shifter with positive engagement, clutch feel and take up is perfect. The dash cluster has shift lights like an F1 car as well as oil temp gauge, boost pressure, torque, hp, mpg, ect. The 275hp 2.0 4 cylinder is more than you need with 0-60 in 5.2 seconds. The car has an easy to use programmable launch control if needed. The Pirelli P-0 summer tires are labeled HN for Hyundai N as they are specialty made for this car and provide great traction and lateral grip. The exterior styling is not over the top and looks fantastic. The LED tail lights remind me of a Lamborghini Aventador's pattern, the areo kit has purpose and is functional, and the front chin spoiler provides for an aggressive look. Could things be better, sure, but not for the price point. This car has exceeded my expectations, which is rare. It will serve many duties if needed; fun machine, proven track car stock due to well thought out and laid out engine components like oil cooler, intercooler, clutch, carbon fiber synchros, too much to list you just have to read about it or watch some videos, lastly it's a great daily driver that get good gas mileage. I dont refer to it as miles per gallon as much as smiles per gallon. It really does deliver. If your concerned with plasticky interior bits, grab a Genesis G80, it's a nice luxury vehicle that does everything extremely well. But dont miss out on thos car...grab it...the Veloster N, for the fun and engaging time you will have driving it, when you're behind the wheel you wont be concerned with anything except where you can find some curvy roads. I would like to see a lighter aluminum or carbon fiber hood for this car as the stock hood is very heavy for its size comparatively.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Airbags did not deploy in head on collision

by Kimber2012000 from Maryville on Wed Nov 06 2019

I would not put my family in this car again. I was in a head on collision that totaled my car and the air bags did not deploy

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can you believe Hyundai has come this far?!

by treyb822 from Choctaw, OK on Thu Feb 28 2019

2019 Hyundai Veloster N with performance package. Boy racer meets daily driver- but with little to no compromise! This being more of a performance oriented car the ride quality can be a little on the bumpy side (even in comfort mode), but wont kill you driving city streets or even long highway trips. Hyundai has already been making exceptional vehicles the past few years, but now they've broken into the fun part of the market. The only complain I have is they wont bring the "Elantra GT" N to the states. However, this Veloster is no joker either. Words do not do it justice. You just need your ears and a heavy right foot to realise you need to buy it RIGHT NOW!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2019 Hyundai Veloster

The verdict:


The redesigned 2019 Hyundai Veloster packs more driving fun than the typical compact hatchback, but you'll have to put up with a claustrophobic backseat and limited cargo versatility.

Versus the competition:


The Veloster's nimble moves and unique styling give it a performance flair that makes many competitors seem dull by comparison.

The second-generation Hyundai Veloster retains the kind of quirky design cues that helped set its predecessor apart, things like three conventional doors — one on the driver’s side and two on the passenger side — and a raked roofline. With this redesign, however, Hyundai has brought that offbeat sense of style into the cabin.

The 2019 Veloster starts at $19,385, including an $885 destination charge. We tested two versions of the car: a top-of-the-line Ultimate trim level and an R-Spec trim priced at $29,160 and $23,785, respectively. Both trims had the optional 201-horsepower, turbocharged 1.6-liter four-cylinder engine instead of the standard 147-hp, 2.0-liter four-cylinder. The Ultimate had... Read More