2001 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$7 - $10,039  MSRP Range
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

54 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

wont sell it!

by twoputt from prescott,az on Fri Oct 07 2011

I was thinking of buying a newer Jeep,but what would I get that is better than what I already have except more car payments!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best comfort ride ever! Dependable 19 years old

by Willies Jeep from Your town USA on Mon Aug 12 2019

Love this Jeep comfort is best ever! I’m 68 woman would never change! The new jeeps are lacking comfort Accessability and dependability and way over priced! Only body issue is the hood letters Jeep peeling warping even since garaged out of weather at 110,000 miles it’s like day I drove out of dealers except for few inside marks The differentials I’ve replaced one side with no towing or off road I’m surprised at this costs ! but bring back the original Jeep grand Cherokee comfort and dependability please ! The back window opening is a outdoors persons need. And Jeep lower the price please make this same but lower prices where everyone can afford this! Also bringing back the old original wiiie Jeep !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Jeep

by Jeeper from Orlando, FL on Mon Oct 11 2010

i just purchased mine with 84k miles (4.0L I-6). i've heard alot of complaints about things breaking, but so far mine has been fine. i have the Laredo, but it is loaded with all the options (power everything, heated seats, leather, sunroof, etc..) and 4x4. very comfortable inside, alot of usefull things, 4x4 works great, great looking Jeep, although i wish it sat higher. (i guess i'll have to get a lift kit) i am very happy with my purchase, this is my 2nd Jeep, and will defintely owne a 3rd when the time is right.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I Ever Owned

by jimbidlack from Edmond, Oklahoma on Sat Dec 29 2018

I bought this Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (4WD) new in 2001 from the Bob Howard Dealership in Oklahoma City. It now has 193,000 miles and in tip top condition. Never had a problem with this Jeep and it is absolutely the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

never own another jeep or chrysler product again

by j5jeffw from orlando, fl on Wed May 05 2010

4 power window motors went bad, all 5 door locks went bad, transmission went out at 34k, sunroof leaked, a/c heater core went bad, but it hauled butt and the engine itself was great. too many problems in such a short time. I will stick with GM.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worst car I ever owned

by Trader Jim from Los Angeles on Mon Jul 22 2019

Bought a new 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee in 2002 at a steep discount. Worse car I ever owned. Had the brake rotor warping issue that was a subject of recalls. Also had all four window regulators break in a span of 6 weeks. It’s now 18 years old with only 121k miles. Steering the wheel squeaks, radiator leaks, and the ABS warning light turns on and off. Still the power train has been solid but everything else has been unreliable. Will never buy another Jeep again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great for driving in Northeast Ohio snow!!!!!!!!!!

by radical.bue from Youngstown, OH. on Tue Apr 05 2011

I bought this Jeep Grand Cherokee-Laredo from a local family run pharmacy who only used the Jeep for home medicine delievery. At 7 years old it only had 68,000 miles. It goes amazing in the snow, but the gas mileage is worse than expected. It is nice I do my own up keep such as oil changes and tune-ups. But I wouldn't reccomend a 99-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo for everyday driving use. It is a annoying fact that the sensors, power window motors, and the front brakes have such a problem and Chrysler never had a proper recall!!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

jeep grand cherokee limited review

by rs from Encino on Tue Dec 05 2017

tremendous power and stability off-road great commuter and road trip car very safe great for ski trips

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

had since new and now has 55k mi

by big jules from oceanside , ny on Sat Sep 23 2006

After I bought the vehicle, people kept telling me what a poor choice I made because they said these cars have a lot of problems. I have had it for over five years and I have not had a single problem. It even still has the original battery! Which astounds me. The gas mileage could be better around town but on the highway , I definitely get low 20's easy. I've kept up with with most of the maintenance and change the oil regularly and so far it runs and rides great. Oh and I changed the tires.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Noisiest Vehicle I have ever owned

by BUBBLES from SAINT PAUL, MN on Mon Mar 12 2007

I have had a thumping in the backend of my SUV since I bought it. I took it back many times and they never fixed the thumping. I have hated this SUV since the day I bought it. The only regret I have is that I didn't take it back ASAP.........IT IS NOISY AND UNCOMFORTABLE. Plus they didn't tell me it was a leased vehicle previoulsy and had no maintenance paperwork. This was purchased from a notable dealer.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com