2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$859 - $7,979  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 72 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle, Had it for 17 years

by Margie123 from pittsburgh, Pa on Fri Jan 26 2018

Bought it new, great vehicle. Only real issues were caliper and brakes. The technology was great in its day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Gem of a Purchase

by A Happy Driver from Denver, CO on Mon Mar 10 2014

Well maintained by prior owners. Only a few minor age-related things to address. But, none of which affect the drivability of the vehilce or operation. I have checked it over very well, and tested it in city and highway driving conditions - in nice and snowy weather - and have not found anything wrong at all! It has an awesome ride/feel. Overall, I am very pleased and very impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not just your grandmothers car

by never satisfied from KC, Mo on Tue Nov 20 2007

my grandma has had this "truck" for several years now, only needing to replace the brakes. great vehical for the money definatly, convincing me to purchase one my self. at first glance it is very stylish in it's own subtle ways, but put the pedal to the floor and subtle blows right out the window!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like driving your favorite leather chair

by casey from san diego on Fri Aug 25 2006

Black leather with new car feel. Drives like a dream. Has all the gadgets and LOW MILES. Sound system is amazing with multidisc player.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't be Happier!

by ZZUBZERO from Denver on Sun Nov 15 2015

This car is amazingly comfortable, has plenty of get up and go, smooth ride, feels safe, stable, I will say I've only driven it 6,000 miles, had to replace the drivers side window regulator but after watching a you tube video on how to do it, it was a piece of cake. I'm telling you all this because I get it back from the body shop tomorrow.. A delivery truck rolled into it in a parking lot. I'll know more after I've driven it, but before,...... everything was great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle inside and out! Was most pleased

by Ace0911 from Portland oregon on Fri Aug 25 2017

I think it diffently one I'd add to my collection. Would like to see better gas milage on future models. Otherwise it was a good drive and handled well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by lexaleigh on Mon Jul 10 2017

I have had this car for over 6 years and I love it. It was a first great car and I could not have asked for better gas mileage for an older car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle for suv lovers

by Rodger from Akron on Sun Jun 04 2017

This Jeep drove through all kinds of snow with zero issues. The heated seats are a big bonus in the winter time. Sunroof is a bonus on nice weather says.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle EVER. I love JEEP!!

by QTPie5 on Mon Jul 03 2017

This vehicle is my favorite. I've had 2, and loved them both! Smooth ride, plenty of leg room, hi-quality/grade sound system, sunroof, CD player/changer, wonderful overall vehicle to own!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Drives very smooth for a first car

by Zach Twerp from Traverse city Michigan on Sun May 14 2017

I love it, drives smooth very reliable, I would recommend getting a jeep because you wouldn't want one?!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More