2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$862 - $7,950  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 72 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

most Reliable car I have owned

by Love Jeeps from on Thu Apr 29 2010

Great vehicle, I could tow a good size trailer with it. Great pick-up power, and not bad on the gas. It is easy to handle in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for new driver.

by jennacherise from Laguna Niguel, CA on Tue Aug 15 2017

Bought the car about a year ago after a bad accident in my last car.. It wasn't the car I wanted but I was rushed in to buying it because insurance wasn't covering a rental anymore. Well long story short I fell in love with the car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 jeep Grand Charokee

by gunnz from Seymour,ct on Sat Jun 03 2006

Great truck if u get a chance buy a Jeep. I have drove a bunch of cars and the jeep is the best 1 to date. i would tell every1 to get 1. Honda has nothing on jeep, so if u want a great truck for the money buy this truck. i do have 1 idea for even better performance Bu a cold air intake (77 series from K&N)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Jeep has major quality issues (shld have recall)

by TTaupier from Cromwell, CT on Sat Jan 27 2007

Car was bought used from a dealer with 24K miles. We have purchased from this dealer several times. Problems are the brakes, TSB and class action law suite have been in play for the entire braking system...safety concerns anyone......Now there are several hundred people complaining that the heater cores/heater flaps are a 42K+ mile out of warranty upgrade for $1200-$1700, oh yeah those extra protection warranties the dealers try to sell you that cover 98% of all things don't cover this set of problems. The brakes can be fixed by buying factory JGC-2003 calipers and slotted rotors, the heater core can be fixed with 7-9 hours of labor, with a $200 core swap, (signs leaking AntiFr, foggy front window, no heat on one side of the vehicle)’Chrysler knows its an issue but refuses to fix unless warranty, and then replaces with the same bad quality parts’I guess Toyota is a word they will have to get used to. By the way I had a 1999 Wrangler Sahara and had both the core and the radiator go just after the warranty was up’fool me twice

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most Unreliable Car I've Owned

by Joey from Mt Waverley, Victoria, Australia on Mon Mar 05 2007

The vehicle had been purchased as NEW and seemed to drive well without problems until after 20Km. The air con unit had failed and had to be replaced, the tyres seem to have worn out quickly, 3 set since new and only 80Km, to much road noise from the tyres, heat seats had to be repaired twice, and now not working for the third time. The driver window electrics has failed recently and only last week the radiator started leaking heavily. Now the vehicle has 81,000Km and has cracked heads. total cost to repair the window electronics is $900 and the cracked heads is estimated at $4000.00. But i must admit the ride is comfortable, V8 motor is powerful, exterior and interior is ok compared to most other 4x4. This vehicle is luxury compared to the rest, but more work must be done to enhance its realiability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV with Great Power

by gpetrovich on Mon Jul 31 2017

Probably one of the BEST vehicles I've owned, great performance, strong V8 engine, towing capabilities an the storage alone saves you so much time and money! Although gas is expensive with about 13 mpg but definitely makes up with storage and towing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

drive problems

by upset cherokee owner from Mine Hill, NJ on Wed Mar 09 2011

my 2002 grand cherokee larado was great until 2011. It has drive problems that engages with 2 and 4 wheel drive. Mechanics are clueless!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexy, Underrated vehicle!

by DakotaF from Indianapolis, IN on Fri May 26 2017

This bad boy is so comfortable, and easy on the eyes. The only complaint I would really have is it doesn't have amazing gas mileage, but it's not terrible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 jeep grand cherokee overland

by eagles fan for life from Kennett Square, PA on Mon Jan 09 2012

I bought the above used truck w 123k miles and have now owned it for 3 mos and it runs beautifully....only had to replace the tires and headlamps but the engine, electronics, and brakes and all work great...theres no doubt i believe this car will tun another 100k more miles!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Standard and reliable

by Keep Cherokee fan from Dallas, Tx on Sun Apr 02 2017

Par for the course and you get a car that can go the distance with regular maintenance needs. But the I6 is never a problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More