2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$862 - $7,950  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 72 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

A Love - Hate Relationship

by Pop'r Dopp'r from Wilmington, Delaware on Fri Jan 12 2007

The Overland model I have has been the most unreliable auto I have ever owned. It seems to spend more time in the shop than on the road. However, the drive train is great. With 320 ft lbs of torque, this 4.7 H.O. engine is great. My biggest repair expense the past 18 months has been with the a/c and heater systems. Everything that moves or has fluids running through it inside the dash has been replaced. Total cost exceeding $2700 and many days in the shop. But I love this Jeep. I like its design,size and its get-up and go. I think the 3rd generation of Grands are some of the ugliest vehicles on the road and will never own one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Unreliable six-cylinder engine

by shmily21995 from michigan on Wed Jan 02 2019

Purchased at 31000 miles Very well in appearance & Design I have had two of these now and have had to replace the six cylinder Motors in both at about 150000 miles from rod knock and bearing knock do not buy the 6-cylinder engine you will have to replace it. I maintained it well and did oil changes at approximately three thousand miles and still no luck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Ride I ever had

by Jeep Fan from Rural Northern Wisconsin on Mon Jan 31 2011

Today, I sold my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. It was an amazing ride for the 6 years I owned it. But with 98k miles, I figured it was time to replace for something newer (another Jeep). It was a great ride. Wished I could have found another just like it, only newer. I went Commander this time, and I only hope it treats me as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One of the best vehicles i have ever owned!

by Jeep Enthusiast from Denver CO on Wed Dec 01 2010

I just want people to know that i am a Jeep and Audi fan. As far as the jeep goes i bought it used and has been very reliable so far. i have the 4.7ho v8 which has great power but i wish it would pull harder from higher rpm and another negative is gas mileage...its a killer. Build quality in the jeep is good but doesnt conpare to the audi i have...oh well i didnt get it for the build quality. However i wouldnt recommend the jeep for a teenegers first car due to the high center of gravity and has a higher risk of rolling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Stay away

by Rick H B from Arkansas on Sat Aug 18 2018

I don't know where to begin. Everything started breaking after 70000 miles. Automatic windows, fan regulator, it stuck in 4 wheel after changing back to 2 wheel. radiator fan regulator again and then a third time and i know that the previous owner changed it at least once then the catalytic converter went out then 2 oxygen censers. Just stay away!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

jeep grand cherokee

by out 13,000 and no car from ga on Fri Dec 16 2011

Please do not wast your money. I have my jeep v8 4.7 2003 pice of junk sitting in my drive way for a year. Payed 9,000 a year ago and all the v8 4.7 engine have bad heads run fast. I paid 3,000 to fix it and lost that to now no one will even give me 2,000 for it. look up the year and the engine i will post all over face book

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

owned since new

by joe from memphis tn on Tue Dec 09 2008

Second jeep grand cherokee. Disappointed with the reliability. So far I have replaced the alternator, power steering hose, two power windows, bleed air doors for the heat. and most recently the torque converter on the transmission. The bleed door is a grand and the torque converter is 1500. within a week of each other. ouch! the power window regulators are not reliable, the service manager said unfortunately I had two more to go. This vehicle has 80K on it and I have done all scheduled maintenance. I love how my jeep handles, I occaisionally pull a ski boat and appreciate the power (4.7) but this is the last straw, the ashtray will not close-80 bucks. This is just not the reliable vehicle I was hoping for

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by Andrew from on Sun Feb 15 2009

Jeeps are a high school students ideal choice of car this is a great one to get especially if they want all the extra add on's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 jgc laredo

by Avidamazon from Hazleton, PA on Fri Mar 31 2017

Common issues include leaking fluids, bad radiators, bad pumps, and bad batterys. I purchased one for $1,200 and put about $3k worth of work into it before it started having transmission related issues. Keep in mind it bluebooks for about 3,200 in fair condition so i knew it would need work.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolute comfort and prime leather all around

by GA girl from Atlanta, GA on Sat Feb 18 2012

The Jeep Cherokee has the ability to make you feel so safe and comfortable, and isn't that what all drivers deserve? My kids have been secure on trips to the beach and mountains. Our family has always loved Jeeps all the way back to the 70's. Rest assured that a Jeep Cherokee will take you wherever you want to go and in lots of luxury. Just be sure to get one with leather because it will last forever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More