2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$862 - $7,950  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 72 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Like MyJEEP

by RKB7 from Fayetteville, NC on Tue May 08 2012

The 2002 Grand Charekee Overland Jeep is the best. it drives like a big SUV, but rides smooth on the highway. The huge V8 has a lot of power. I don't like the build in 4x4. I would rather only us it when needed. but of course the overland is a quadradrive, so no choice. its also a HUGGGGE GAS GUSLER. I'm only keeping it for a while. The amount of gas it uses is toooo much. but overall it's a nice SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Never buy a Jeep

by Cowgirl1010 from Latrobe Pa on Sat Nov 02 2019

This vehicle is a total failure in every way except for the V8. Everything broke at least once with big payouts to repair. The air conditioning broke 3 times, the heater doors broke twice with a $1000 price for repair each time. The heated seats broke after the factory warranty expired and not worth the $600 to fix. Radiator broke, locks broke and the body rusted on all sides. We donated the piece of junk and will never buy another.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fuel to Water

by Kemo from on Thu Jan 02 2014

I would buy this car if its work on water. lollll. I don't know why Jeep built such big engine size for a small suv.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR OUT THERE FOR SURE!!!!!!!!!!

by Mikey from MA on Fri Feb 15 2008

This car is so luxurios!!! Plenty of leg room. Solid and durable. HIGH QUALITY ALL AROUND. Wicked reliable, not a problem since bought. Rides smoooth as anything. 3x the features and quality of the Volvo S80. Way nicer than the Volvo for sure!!!Better in the snow than my Ford Explorer, Chevy Suburban, and Volvo S80. Niceest car I've ever owned. It tows our 20 foot boat without a problem!!! TONS OF POWER!!! BEST AWD SYSTEM!!! EVERTHING IS SO NICE AND ADVANCED!!! BEST CAR EVER SOLD!!!NICER THAN THE MERCEDES ML 350 SE!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect truck

by Jass from McDonough Ga on Fri Jul 03 2020

I have alot of cars of my own. But everything she said in the description was true perfect but I need something bigger and she has paperwork.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RIP Jeep, we will miss you

by The Stig from VA on Mon Sep 12 2016

This vehicle was the first car my parents bought (365hp v8 limited) and it was spectacular! It drove very nicely with it just being there for you if you put your foot down. it was not an offroad car like jeep tells you, its a luxury suv car. However its natural habitat was the gas station being there every other day. it had one of the most comfortable steering wheels ever ( original stock one). ours had problems though. first the rear axle went, then the steering was having problems turning. we upgraded the air intake to blow air directly into the engine and give it more horsepower (kind of like a supercharger) but one day the engine blew, so we replaced it. But in dec. 2014 when dad was driving it home, the transmission went and the engine blew a cylinder. sigh, that engine didn't last long. I was so close to driving it (i'm gonna get my licence soon) but no dice. we grew up together. RIP jeep my friend. I will never forget you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I would buy another jeep

by jeep owner from Chicago on Tue Mar 15 2011

I am now a jeep fan. My jeep now has 101,000 miles. I have had to do some costly repairs but he jeep continues to run well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great quality jeep with all the extras

by Mgibbons88 from Rock Hill, SC on Mon Jun 11 2018

Met all of my needs for commuting to school and work and around town. Better quality jeep for how old it is, exterior and interior still look newer with minor repairs done recently. Brand new battery and fuel pump, has commuted 3+ hours and back and done great. This was my first car and couldn't have been happier with it. Comfortable leather seats and working radio. Aux cord box installed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great S.U.V.!!!

by Matty from Massachusetts on Sat Nov 10 2007

My mom has had two Jeep grand cherokee limiteds, a 1995, and a 2002. It's a great sport utility vehicle. The only problem so far is that it cost 900$ to get the Dual Zone Climate control fixed. It's a great tow vehicle, especially with the 4.7 litre 235 hp V-8 engine. Jeeps look amazing and surely are super vehicles. I love Jeeps! They are a great off road vehicle too, which makes for lots of fun! Jeep- An S.U.V. of reliability, luxury, and FUN!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Was hard to get on and out of

by Sctncris from Ballwin on Fri Jul 27 2018

It was a good car, we in turn bought a newer one same brand jeep grand Cherokee with a lift and bigger tires . We r a jeep family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More