NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$17,476 - $38,124  MSRP Range
2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

101 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Performance Vehicle

by Jeep Hound from Boston, Massachusetts on Sat Apr 02 2016

Got the Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland V8 Hemi. I knew it wouldn't be great on gas, but definitely worth it. Great pick-up, smooth ride. Only wish they put the front sensors in the bumper. Completely loaded except for that. Fold in side mirrors with the push of a button, should have had fully automatic, or an option to slide button for automatic option. Otherwise, I love my new vehicle. Have had three Jeeps before this one, then went to other makes of SUVs. Now back to Jeep. That ought to tell you something! You will not go wrong with Jeep!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid SUV

by Fatman75 from Connecticut on Wed Sep 14 2016

I was looking for midsize SUVs that can tow. This Suv is built solid and has a great electronics package if you get the optional u connect 8.4 package. Gas Milage is great around 22mpg avg The only issue I have is with the auto engine shut off feature which cannot be deactivated on the u connect menus. How about a software patch Fiat?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought the Summit. Love it...

by Kevin from Palm Beach, FL on Wed Apr 12 2017

Bought the Grand Cherokee Summit. It compares to the Escalades I've owned and the Lexus GX 470 I still have. Great car for the money... Would recommend it to anyone looking for a mid-size SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car

by SRT jeep 69 from North Ridgeville, OH on Fri Mar 10 2017

The most amazing jeep out there trust me. i have it in red with a caramel interior with the 5.7L V8 this has to be one if not the best vehicle I've ever owned. From the powerful hemi engine to the comfort of the leather seats to the off road capability. I get compliments on it all the time, this is the 6th jeep I've owned and its wonderful handles well very versatile and very fast. you want an american SUV the get this you wont regret anything.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good rugged ext w luxury finishes on the int

by Sled dog from vt on Mon Aug 01 2016

Jeep is consistent with providing a solid off-road capable exterior. The suspension is solid (truck-like) and the ride is as you would expect. Still provides a smooth ride on the highway. Sport mode gives it a little boost on paved curvy roads at the push of a button. The interior has nice finishes you would expect in higher-end vehicles. So far I'm very happy with my purchase. Oh, and did I mention fuel economy is better than expected. The vehicle shuts of when idling to save gas, but I found it somewhat annoying and turned off that feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for youe Buck

by Matt from Waukesha, WI on Sun Apr 02 2017

Although you will need to take this vehicle in for minor repairs, mostly because of all the extra gadgets, this vehicle is fun to drive with plenty of comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE everything about this VEHICLE!

by Deondra Williams from Ridgeland, MS on Fri Mar 10 2017

So happy with my purchase and that i decided on this one! Fell in love with the interior and all the technology that is available!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice ride

by GamblinMO from Missouri on Tue Feb 14 2017

I was very hesitant trading in my Dodge Challenger for an SUV. I knew that if I was going to trade it would be for a Jeep Grand Cherokee limited. I love everything about my new jeep! It's sharp to look at, comfortable to drive, and very good on gas mileage!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Style and Function Unrivaled

by Tulsa Jeep Fan from Tulsa, OK on Tue Oct 17 2017

Interior and exterior styling are second to none. The JGC has the functionality of an all purpose vehicle with the comfort you would expect from a luxury import. Very satisfied with our purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Time Jeep Purchase

by TC from Ada, OK on Sat Mar 11 2017

First time owning a Jeep and so far very satisfied. The comfort and driving of a larger SUV/Truck with the fuel mileage you expect from a crossover.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee

The verdict:

The addition of a stonking fast SRT Hemi V-8, a sport suspension and performance exhaust to the Jeep Grand Cherokee has transformed it from a mundane carpooler to a monstrous carnivore.

Versus the competition:

There are plenty of midsize SUVs, but not many have 475 horsepower. Compared with the luxury performance SUV competition, the Grand Cherokee SRT is a fantastic bargain. It’s able to do things SUVs costing $20,000–$30,000 more can’t do while sporting more standard electronic safety equipment than anyone else. 

Editor's note: This review for the 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT was written in August 2016, but little has changed for 2017. To see what's new, click here, or to see a side-by-side comparison of the the two model years, click here.

Jeep’s Grand Cherokee has been around a few years in its current form and is due for an update in the not-too-distant future. The current version won our $38,000 Midsize SUV Challenge three years ago and not much has changed since aside from the addition of an EcoDiesel model and a fancy, range-topping Summit model. 

I drove the fire-breathing SRT trim, complete with a massive 6.4-liter Hemi V-8, 20-inch black chrome wheels and an electronic sport... Read More