Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 Liberty

Consumer Reviews

2006 Jeep Liberty

$2,043 - $9,799  MSRP Range
2006 Jeep Liberty

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Jeep Liberty?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but the gas mileage is terrible

by Tom from Michigan on Fri Feb 29 2008

I leased this jeep for two years and am thinking about buying it. The ride is pretty smooth for a jeep and it is a tank in the snow and ice! I only have two complaints, the seats are hard and too short, and the city gas mileage in the jeep is horrible. I am lucky if I get 15 mpg in the city.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall Great Choice

by Happy Camper from Southwest Virginia on Sat Feb 15 2014

Among the options of this vehicle type The Jeep Liberty serves well. I have seen reports that this model year does have issues with the electric window motors. Overall it is a comfortable reliable ride and goes in the snow when needed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best jeep I've owned

by Jeep member from 20001 on Sun Jun 03 2018

Looks great and performs well. Its got a nice pickup speed that you wouldn't normally expect from a truck like this. This jeep runs great even after the 200k miles badge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by snigglejo from AZ on Fri May 26 2017

The car is great overall...comfortable and easy to drive, but repairs tend to be expensive. The hatchback is great for my dog and hauling groceries or other things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Liberty!

by No More Cars for Me - SUVs All the Way! from Tallahassee, FL on Sat Jun 10 2006

I have driven a Trooper, Blazer, Explorer, and Chevy S10. The Liberty is comfortable, reliable, and good looking. The cargo area is a little small, but other than that - it's the perfect small SUV. When I trade it in, it will be for another Liberty!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great driving experience and reliable

by Andre from Boulder Co on Sun May 07 2017

I love driving it in the snow when everyone else is stuck. It is very reliable and rugged. It can handle any situation. It is a Jeep.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L V6

by xrey from Reno, NV on Mon Mar 06 2017

Legendary Jeep performance and reliability. Not as good as the Wrangler but some trail capability and good highway overall driving. Parts are easy to get. Maintenance is not as good as most SUVs since Jeep tried to make a car out of an off road vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My new Jeep!

by NLS from Colorado Springs, CO on Wed Aug 22 2007

Love it! Handles well, comfortable, gets decent mpg for its size and engine. Would definately recommend to a friend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very agile suv

by JustAReviewer from on Thu Jun 15 2017

Very agile little SUV. Good get up and go. Good passing power. Large tank. Comfortable ride. Nice steering wheel.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my diesel Jeep

by A Mc from Leavenworth, KS on Sun Sep 17 2017

The body has its issues like falling windows and easy to dent bumpers, but overall I love this vehicle. Nice size, good towing for the gas mileage. I intend to keep it until it falls apart.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2006 Jeep Liberty

At a time when price per gallon is as volatile as fuel itself, interest has returned to diesel technology, which turns our attention to the diesel version of Jeep's compact sport utility vehicle, the quick-selling Liberty CRD (technically either the Jeep Liberty Sport or Limited 4x4 trim level with optional equipment). Diesel engines are about 20 percent more efficient than comparable gasoline types, so they burn less fuel. In this country, diesel engines have long come in heavy duty pickup trucks, and more recently in the Ford Excursion and Hummer H1 SUVs, but the only companies to sell diesel passenger cars in recent times have been Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagen.

The Jeep Liberty has... Read More