2002 GS 300

Consumer Reviews
2002 Lexus GS 300

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
2002 Lexus GS 300
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the Value

by Jackaroo from Alexandria, VA on November 12, 2009

I bought this car used in January 04. It had 24K at the time. It now has 138K and runs great. I had some catalytic converter issues at 85K which cost $1800 to repair. The engine is adequate. The transmission is odd as it appears to slip at times but it's been that way since I purchased the car. The exterior is still appealing. I prefer the old model over the new one that came out in 2007. You can't go wrong with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet Looking Ride

by EASY from Tucson on August 16, 2006

SWWEEETTTT RIDE with nice sleek look for the young and not so young. Got everything but a kitchen sink

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lexus GS300

by Springthecat from Kalamazoo on March 6, 2016

AT 215,000 miles, this is still my go-to car for cross country travel. I never doubt it's reliability, and it is the only car I've owned (including 3 Mercedes)where I can drive 10-12 hours a day and not squirm around in my seat. Other than regular maintenance, I have only had to spend about $1000 in repairs in the last 70,000 miles. That was an ignition module and an air flow sensor. This is a keeper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Wonderful Car I've Owned

by Fabulous Performance and Comfort from Portland, OR on February 15, 2009

This is the most wonderful car - better than the Mercedes, Toyota, Volvo, Chevy, Subaru and VW I've owned. The quiet and suspension are just amazing...this is a comfortable quality personified. It is meant for those who like elegance and reliablity. The only bad comment I have is that the trunk squeeks sometimes...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lexus GS300

by LA Salsa from Los Angeles on August 3, 2009

The car was great when new. As it aged it started rattling and squeaking both inside and engine compartment. Lexus is aware of the problem because they sell a anti-squeaking kit. BAD design. Even with premium gas the car pings. The car as another problem. They self door locks fail and the 3rd EGG sensor fails. A common, so be prepared for more expenses as the car ages.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lexus does it again

by Big Dee from Atlanta, Ga on July 15, 2013

I recently and reluctantly just sold my 1998 Lexus GS 400. I purchased it at 130,000 miles and put approx 80k miles in 7 years and never a problem. So after 7 years, I wanted the same power but something just a little smaller and what did I find the SC 430 and I love it. My only problem is the lack of storage space and I need more headroom. But as a 40 something empty nester, cougar type, :) this is the perfect car for me! So far, no problems mechanically.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

close to perfect

by eaze from dallas on September 23, 2011

I have owned a lot of luxury cars 05 merz E320.and 06 lexus es350..i didnt like the ES we let it go and down graded to an 02GS 300 purchased at 89k.i live in dallas-work in houston.it now has a whopping 175k on it two yrs later..besides oil changes..this car is super reliable...and the nakamichi sound system is one of the best systems in the market.3.0litres very merciful on gas despite his luxury stamp.They hold resale like u cannot believe!My buddy has the new gen 07..drove it not impressed..they moved away from the supra straight 6 engine to something more luxury less sports.Overall the best car i have owned in yrs.I drive mine daily and it never fails to impress me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable vehicle

by LJ on August 15, 2017

I'd recommend to anyone. Very great car, nice and smooth well done car . You can't go wrong with Lexus/Toyota

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FABULOUS CAR ALL AROUND

by GS300 from Virginia on April 28, 2011

I have owned 3 2nd-gen GSs (98, 2000, 2002) and these are some of the best designed cars on the road. Everything about it is of the highest quality and engineering. Reliability on all 3 I've had has been nothing short of outstanding. 4 stars for performance-GS430 gets 5. 4 stars for comfort, the new GS gets 5. I have considered trading in and upgrading to the 3rd-gen GS (06+) but everything I read about it is keeping me from doing so. This one's staying in my garage and I'll be adding an SC430 to my collection. Great drive, great buy, great car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car engine you can have

by OnePutt from BASKING RIDGE on July 3, 2017

The GS300 has the glorified 2JZ inline 6 cylinder engine. It will last you as long as you want if you are smart. Currently driving one with over 310,000 miles and commonly run into 2JZ owners with even more and still going strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1